We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Butterfly Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hull east yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A small hotel where you are looked after from arriving to the day you leave.plenty of sun beds didn't need to be awake stupid hours to claim one. The hotel is situated next to beautiful beaches both sides. The staff are all so friendly , nothing is too much trouble for them. We have stayed here before and will keep on returning. Lots of places to visit and easy to travel, the buses go all over the island and are very cheap. Our room was cleaned every day and was spotless. Will return to our corner of paradise again. Thank you to every member of staff

Room Tip: Higher floors ocean view have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    422
    157
    43
    28
See reviews for
138
651
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel gets very good reviews and was highly recommended to my friend and I by a Hayes & Jarvis travel consultant, so much so that based on those reviews and her enthusiasm we booked our holiday.
This was a holiday to celebrate our both turning 40, so we were looking for something a bit special and perhaps because of this, we were disappointed.
The biggest basis for booking this hotel was the view and access to this amazing beach in the pictures that we saw online. The beach/view IS stunning and every day I couldn’t get over the colour of the water; We were there from the 8th to the 18th of April 2014 and for the first 10 days of our stay, it was almost impossible to access the beach, it was rocky, waves crashing, slippery and basically dangerous. You cannot imagine our disappointment!
Then suddenly, it was like someone had redesigned the entire beach, the rocks were gone, it was sandy, there was an actual beach, and the waves did not crash up against the wall threatening to kill you in the process. I have NO idea what happened and upon questioning several staff members and locals, apparently, this ‘happens’ once or twice a year.
So, for the last few days, it WAS possible to hang around the hotel and utilise the beach area.
There is also a pool, it was not very clean but it’s a decent size.
So the hotel itself... well, there is a lobby, a shop run by Deborah who is a hidden gem in this place and I would go speak to her first if you want to hire a car or go on an excursion as often she will quote a cheaper price and in the case of the car, we got a better option i.e. mid size automatic.
The Wi-Fi is only accessible in the little seating area leading to the rooms not anywhere else in the hotel; the major problem with this is this is where everyone congregates including ALL the mosquitos. The Reef bar also has wi-fi if you sit there so we would check in at breakfast and not use it the rest of the day.
Location is not bad, it’s not far from Oistins and the shuttle bus will get you there and to St Lawrence Gap in 5-10 mins. However, bear in mind it is not near any amenities, the closest are in Oistins which is a 20min walk.
Food & Drink
So as you can guess, the Reef bar/restaurant is where you eat for all meals and where ‘happy hours’ happen. The view...gorgeous, the service, well, it depends on the mood of the ladies on the day but on the whole was fine. The breakfast consists of cereal/toast and some form of fruit every day with hot choices changing daily, it’s not the best but certainly not the worst and saves you having to go foraging first thing in the morning.
Happy hour happens twice a day on selected drinks like pina colada and rum punch and are sold for $7 instead of $14 BDS, tasted nice too.
Can’t comment on dinner/buffet options as never stayed in for them.
The Room
We had a twin room with ensuite. The overall decor of the hotel is ‘tired’ but it’s clean even if it doesn’t look it. For example there was what appeared to be a big stain on the toilet seat, a little off putting but again, clean. There is no light over the shower area, only the sink and also, the shower head is stuck to the wall and won’t move, a bit of a pet hate for me.

One last thing, I had no idea about tiny tree frogs prior to my visit but due to the way the hotel is laid out, you find out about them pretty quick, word of warning, take ear plugs! You will inevitably be more used to them by the time you leave but those first few nights, you may not sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in the Caribbean and we weren't disappointed.

The hotel was 15 minutes from the Airport, the room could possibly do with a refurb, however it was spacious with a massive double bed and kitchenette.

The breakfast was the best we have experienced at any hotel anywhere especially the crispy bacon and we ate there a few times I n the evenings as well. Excellent value at about £17 each.

The pool was ok and there were always beds available. The staff were friendly and helpful. It possibly wouldn't suit children as well as adults, however we loved it and will definitely plan to return.

We definitely would not use British Airways again however.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you want to to be treated like royalty and feel welcomed, pampered, and spoiled then this hotel is the place for you.What makes it so special is the staff and this applies right across the board.....from the professionalism of Amanda the Manager to the lighthearted banter and fun of Deborah, to all the wonderful staff on reception,the cleaning staff, the restaurant and bar staff,Tennyson who took care of our bags, the security guards and just about everybody we met.
It is unique nowadays to find such a friendly and professional crew and we hope the owners of this magical family run hotel fully appreciate what they have!
Of course the hotel is not a five star in the normal way of measuring "stardom", but in this most important way it is ! Does it really matter as some reviewers point out that the toaster is a little slow , or if the lift takes 5 seconds to open...relax and enjoy.... you are in the Caribbean after all !
Breakfast is excellent and varied and if you fancy a little change in how you like your eggs, just ask! The evening meals are also excellent but whatever you do, do not miss the BBQ! We wished it was on more often.
Not forgetting the happy hours of course when drinks are 2 for 1 !
The hotel is wonderfully located and easy to get to villages and restaurants using the local way to travel by reggae bus. Hire a car for a few days to really get to see the island.There is so much to see you might be sorry you didnt keep the car for a week!
We lived in the Caribbean many years ago and it was magical to have the opportunity to revisit.Many things have changed on the island but that applies all over the world but the islands real asset, its people, still have that chilled out friendliness and welcoming approach to tourists and Butterfly Beach certainly has the" pick of the crop".
We just cant wait to revisit the island and look forward to staying again at Burrerfly Beach.
Thank you Amanda and to all of your wonderful staff for making our 40th anniversary a very special one indeed!
PS....We never did get to see bottom bay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room but its not essential if you intend to use the room mainly to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I didn't stay at Butterfly beach but I came here for drinks and snacks a few times during my stay. Happy hour is a nice time to visit. Pull up a sea facing sunbed and sip rum and cokes while the sun goes down. The staff at reception and the bar were all very friendly and polite and the hotel is clean and relaxing to spend time at. I was going to come here for the breakfast buffet which is reasonable but never got up in time. Save that for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I chose this based on the excellent reviews. This hotel was cheaper than some other hotels I viewed. Its in a good location overlooking the sea, but a bus ride away from St Lawrence Gap where I had originally thought it was located. The beach on which the hotel is located is nice but the sea a bit too rough for more than a paddle, to get a really calm swimming sea you need to walk to Miami beach or travel to Carlisle bay ( a fabulous beach) 15 mins bus ride away. The hotel is smaller than many and I thought this would mean a more personal touch but I didn't feel this. The rooms are clean but tired, the hot plate was ancient and only 1 ring seemed to work, a boil on the stove kettle was provided but took about 30 mins to boil, I asked for and was provided with an electric kettle which took about 1 min. to boil, this should be provided as standard. The beds are large and comfortable and there were chairs and tables provided inside and on the patio. The bathrooms in particular need a complete revamp, The tile grout is tatty and the shower curtain old and not really long enough to avoid water spillage, there was a odour of drain in the bathroom and there were problems with the drainage in the row of studios ours was located in and although this was attended to on 2 occasions there continued to be an odour through out our stay, not a major problem, but not great and contributed to our opinion that the whole complex could do with a revamp including the drains. The pool area was clean with plenty of sunbeds but some were damaged and other damaged ones were piled up nearby, there were no cushions for them and after a while it is uncomfortable to sit without some form of padding.
The staff were courteous but not really friendly or smiley apart from the gentleman who greeted you by the bar.
Breakfast in the morning was pretty good and varied each day, great range of cereals, some of the hot food could have done with being hotter or a microwave provided to re heat, the toasters took ages and ages to toast and sometimes only one side of the bread was toasted resulting in quite a lot of people not waiting and toast left in the toaster and subsequently wasted. (perhaps new toasters are needed). The hotel is value for money compared to some others but a holiday on this Island is expensive and I felt that this hotel is missing a trick in not keeping up to date with modern holiday maker requirements. It really is a case of your get what you pay for and we looked at several other slightly expensive hotels while we were there and found them all to be of a much higher standard, so unfortunately although we will definitely be returning to Barbados it will not be to the Butterfly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

2013 was our first time in Barbados - what an Island! November 2014 we are coming back to the Butterfly Beach Hotel. It was an obvious decision as the staff were friendly, welcoming, knowledgable and food was excellent and Happy Hour was a bonus. A gentle note to the Owner and the Senior Management Team: please ensure you retain your staff as they make Butterfly Beach Hotel what it is. Just would like to thank the cleaning staff as they are often get overlooked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Beach Hotel

Address: Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the South Coast of Barbados in an ocean front setting with access to two white-sand beaches, and a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Refurbished in June 2009, we are an excellent hotel for those looking for a self-catering but full-service property near to all the amenities the island has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish
Hotel Butterfly Beach
Butterfly Beach Barbados
Butterfly Beach Christ Church
Butterfly Hotel Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.