We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but some negatives” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Butterfly Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value but some negatives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time using it as a base to explore the local area and the rest of Barbados.
The check in process seemed disorganised and we felt like we were causing the staff an inconvenience. This continued throughout the holiday. Bar and reception staff seemed unfriendly, but the lovely security staff made up for that.
The room was large and comfortable. The room was clean, but in places could do with a refurbishment, for example the bathrooms.
We were self catering and these facilities were adequate for breakfasts and lunches but I wouldn't like to attempt anything too complicated, as only basic equipment. We ate out mainly, only eating lunch once at the hotel restaurant. We weren't impressed. Tough chicken and basic sandwiches. Much better food down the road in oistins.
The outdoor pool area and views were beautiful and definitely a major plus of this hotel.
The location was ok. A short walk to oistins and a decent supermarket. But after dark and any further afield you need to use the reggae bus number 11. We used these regularly, very frequent service, cheap and convenient, just flag them down and tell them where you want to go. At times we loved riding the bus, but at times they were packed, especially at rush hour and we would have liked to be able to walk to st Lawrence gap easily. So next time we will look for hotels closer to there.
Generally, a lovely hotel, which just needs a little sprucing up, and is perfect if you hire a car or are happy to use public transport all of the time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    470
    163
    48
    28
See reviews for
151
710
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having just returned from the Butterfly,I must compliment the staff for a well run hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble and very comfortable and clean.
Limited bathing area on the beach as the tide is quite strong and i would recommend only confident swimmers,although within few minutes walk calm waters on other beaches.
West coast beaches are more sheltered and only 15 mins on the ZR(shared taxi/bus) which costs 2$ to any part of island.
We ate mostly at hotel and cannot complain about variety and standard of food.
10 minute walk into Oistins with variety of informal bars serving mainly Fish and chicken good atmosphere on Fish Fry(fridays).
More a 20 min walk into the gap with variety of restaurants or jump on a ZR.
Visited most areas of the island,West Coast great beaches for swimming,East coast scenic drive and again great beaches but not for swimming as tide is dangerous.
Catamaran with turtles and shipwreck was great day out 5 hrs £45 adult £22.50 child.
All in all great place for a base attentive service throughout hotel.
Will return for Rum punch and Flying fish very soon.

Room Tip: Try to allocate a sea view prior to going
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosherston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Third stay at Butterfly Beach........sad you say? No, it is a great place to have a great time! Butterfly Beach couples the chilled out atmosphere you'd expect in Barbados with a really homely welcolme. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The restaurant may not be extensive in choice but all the food is very well cooked. The staff are fantastic, full of fun and most helpul in all respects; to us it makes a huge difference. All amenities as you'd expect, plenty of sunbeds with the option of taking them onto the silver sands if you wish, there ate jacuzzis in a decked area. Bridgetown is 20-30 mins away; St Lawrence Gap 10-15 mins by car/taxi/bus. Oistins is a casual 15min walk. Just a great place to stay nuff said!

Room Tip: There are sea view rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel, first impressions were good, spacious clean rooms downside was 2 single beds would have preferred a double. We opted for the bed & breakfast option. Limited choice on hot food and it wasn't replaced as quickly as it should have been leading to queues but the food was good. The service with some of the staff was a bit hit and miss waited over an hour one day for lunch. We complained to the restaurant manager who was apologetic but blamed staff shortages which isn't the customers fault. She did offer a free round of drinks which we declined. The pool area is ok but needs some upgrading and some of the sunbeds need to be replaced that said there were more than enough to go round so it wasn't necessary to get to the pool early armed with your towel. Another downside was the bar closing at 11.00pm which is a little early especially if you go out for dinner and come back to the hotel for a nightcap.
Overall reasonable hotel but needs some updating

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly-Management, General Manager at Butterfly Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear lovetochillbolton,

Thank you for your visit, and for taking the time to write. It's great to hear we made a good impression (although next time please ask for your bed preference when booking, I am sure we can accommodate!) but saddened to hear the restaurant let us down a bit. Sandrina has been working hard over the last few months since joining as manager and I think we are making improvements; hopefully by your next visit everything will go smoothly. Please let us know and I will make sure to offer you another round of drinks on us, hopefully accepted this time as a thank you!

Best regards,
Mark Kent
General Manager
management@butterflybeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with impressive rooms...we received a free upgrade to a superior room at the top facing the beach - which was magical...really nice and the beach is at your doorstep...but the beach is edge is not huge so don't expect to run on sandy land...however you can get more of the beach down the line...but to us it didnt matter....great hotel

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 7 Apr 19 Apr. Had a great stay at this clean, very quiet hotel. If your after loud music and a rowdy bar then maybe this is not the location for you. Staff a credit to this establishment so how about a pay rise Mr owner as they are the bedrock of the Butterfly hotel.
Did not have any probs with the dreaded mosquitos, nice touch if you do have unwanted visitors the hotel room had a machine to zap them, (you know the heated element type with the tablets. I WAS TOLD THE WHISTLING FROGS ARE PARTIAL TO THE MOSIES so don't moan about them.) Crockery is also in the room along with kettle and coffee/tea bags. Electrical sockets at the hotel are the USA flat pin type not the round European ones. We had Ethernet connection in our room 225, alas no good for the nexus tablet so had to use Wi-Fi at reef bar or lobby which is free to use, no password needed. Plenty of sunbeds to go around, pool well maintained, the wife did have a gripe that the hot tubs were not heated as in USA but hey. My only gripe is the bar area is a bit naff, nice view but no atmosphere in the evenings, we headed for the gap on the ZR vans for 2BBD this is a great way to get around, you can tell these vans apart from the taxi vans by the red stripe along the sides, the best bit is that when you press the bell that's where they stop and off you jump traffic behind will just have to wait, just as good as a taxi but much cheaper. We paid 31 BBD from the airport to the hotel and 40BBD to the airport by Taxi , divide by 3 to get rough £ equivalent. Turn right out of the hotel and catch a ZR who will always beep the horn for you to signal your intention to ride, a mile or so along is a supermarket that sells cooked food to take away and do visit the surfers bar opposite, nice views. Also heard they are closing the bank here so do ask at reception. We had the breakfast option but to be honest same old same old, wish we had decided to pay as and when 30BBD each. Sea a bit choppy on our visit but Miami beach Browns beach calm for the little ones and us older ones. Most beaches have free changing room and toilet facilities which is great. Sun beds 30BBD all day. We hired a small car from Deb at the hotel which cost £185 for 4 days (Top cars) delivered to the hotel free, roads not bad at all, in fact better than most of ours at the moment. See the white lion and have a lovely meal at the fish pot at moonbay nr St lucy, great food. Also recommend Crave chez max at the gap, not that impressed with the Italian restaurant and of course the pub all to be found at the Gap about 8 mins via the ZR (who operate till about 11.) We had a lovely stay here and wholeheartedly recommend to one and all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned after one week at the Butterfly Beach Hotel.First time in Barbados, (went for our sons wedding) It was brilliant! Could not fault the food (we went half board) staff lovely, rooms clean and spacious, husband made up not missing out on premiership games, happy hour twice a day, (2 bottles of beer for under £2) Would agree bathrooms need a little tlc, however, im hoping to go back next year for my husbands 50th.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Beach Hotel

Address: Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the South Coast of Barbados in an ocean front setting with access to two white-sand beaches, and a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Refurbished in June 2009, we are an excellent hotel for those looking for a self-catering but full-service property near to all the amenities the island has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Butterfly Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish
Hotel Butterfly Beach
Butterfly Beach Barbados
Butterfly Beach Christ Church
Butterfly Hotel Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.