We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Butterfly Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Butterfly Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
swansea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this hotel from 24th to 30th March '13 and loved every minute. Stayed on a self catering basis and would most certaintly return. Everyone was so lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. We did eat in the hotel a few times and food was amazing. Met lovely people. Room (304) was spacious and had complete privacy on the balcony. Sun got to us in the afternoon and was bliss. So easy to see the island by catching the reggae bus right outside hotel although they stop anywhere. Hotel is first stop from airport. Supermarket is about 10/15 mins walk to the right. Surf Cafe which is in same direction had great food for breakfast and dinner. Deborah in the gift shop is fab do go in and say hi. We felt we could have stayed for another few days to chill as we did and saw so much :- walked there and back to Oistins friday fish fry, caught bus into Bridgetown, did the island tour with rep as there was hardly any difference in price and was well worth the money,caught bus to Rockley fab icecream parlour there. Rep recommended Cafe Luna which is part of Little Arches Hotel got reception to make a reservation. Bit difficult to find we thought but was well worth it when we did. We walked in daylight was advised a taxi back but we walked back too.Go to managers night on a monday to meet other guests and have free rum punch and fish ball yum. We always had a sunbed and we never reserved them. You need american pin adaptors for their plugs. One or two of the bar staff could smile a little more but hey we were in Barbados on holiday we didnt really care :) Such a small friendly hotel. All in all had a fantastic holiday and we would go back. :) Really can't think of anything bad to say. Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Room 304 had a coconut tree each side of balcony so no obstruction for the sun to get to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    380
    138
    39
    28
See reviews for
124
573
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beachfront, 2 pristine beaches, clean and good-sized pool, lovely staff, not too big a hotel but large rooms, every meal served seafront, fabulous different Caribbean fish every day. Totally adequate self-catering facilities. What's not to like? To the poor reviewers out there, remember this is a 3*. The number of returning people not just to Barbados but to this hotel says it all.
3 of us were in 1-room suite 403, looking sideways, equal distance to the sea or road. We didn't really need the extra room as we went to bed at the same time as our 5 year old, tired out by all the day's activities. And the smaller rooms still have some cooking facilities - you're not going to be doing major cooking in this heat! The sound of the sea is LOUD so pretty much neutralises the road noise (and the planes almost totally but being 15 minutes from the airport is a bonus as far as I'm concerned - helped us maximise our time on the beach before departure!. Having said that I wouldn't have wanted to be facing the road so go for smaller room and pay the extra for sea view.
Staff are ALL lovely. If they aren't look to yourself to wonder why!
Tourism guide: Sea a little rough here for small children but shallow, protected beach 10 mins by car Miami/Enterprise Beach. So many beautiful beaches to try out, not enough days! Also top tip, drive or take fabulous $2 reggae buses to Paynes Beach or Lone Star where you can snorkel out to meet the turtles yourself when the catamaran tours come in. But Cool Runnings catamarans are huge fun. Also monkeys and tortoises at the Wildlife Reserve. Expensive but SO well done: Concorde Experience and Harrison's Caves tram tour. Oistins fish fry 15 minute walk (try George's excellent grilled swordfish, marlin, mahi mahi, shrimp etc). Can't go wrong with dive refresher in the Hilton infinity pool followed by a calm, shallow dive encompassing FOUR wrecks in Carlisle Bay with Barbados Blue.
Only constructive comments: please at least 4 more parasols around the pool, plus a sensible service for parasols on the criminally under-used beach; fruit salad every day; and a name badge for the lovely security man Ricardo.
Our only regret, not saying goodbye to new friends who showed us the ropes round the island beaches. You know who you are! Rosa misses you all. Oh and time/money to come back here next year!

Room Tip: 3 of us were in 1-room suite 403, looking sideways, equal distance to the sea or road. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were return guests at Butterfly Beach, but will NEVER return.
This year has been atrocious, an absolute shambles in fact, it wasn't the relaxing holiday it has been in previous years, We have never had a problem with the rude staff, lack of umbrella's, sunbeds, road noise, dog's barking and children crying Such dilapidated rooms, old beds, worn out bed linen, all the problems encountered were reported to the duty manager Amanda, on a daily basis as well as the meeting on Mondays, but nothing was rectified. Everyone we spoke to was unhappy. It's okay to come home and write a review but it's too late then, your holiday has already been ruined. Please take note before booking, we didn't think it could have deteriorated to such an extent, but it certainly has.
No one cared.

Room Tip: Try The Sea Breeze Next Door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly-Management, General Manager at Butterfly Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear DayTripper_6025,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your latest trip to Butterfly Beach Hotel. I am curious when you had been before as the umbrellas are new for example; we didn't have any at all in previous years. We do not advertise that we provide a umbrella for every guest, this would be impossible for our property size. Where the road is has not changed, our neighbours have not changed, and our staff have not changed. We maintain the hotel to our stipulated standard, and replace items as they become worn as is the norm.

Our price dictates our standard, and we hear from many that we meet this objective. "It does what it say's on the tin!" I am often told. We are proud of what we offer for the price we charge, and I am sorry you had different expectations.

Best regards,
Mark Kent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a great time. Staff was fantastic. Met a lot of friendly people. Rooms clean but did need upgrade which is happening this year.
Jefferson at the desk was a very friendly person. Beach was a bit ruff itif your not an avid swimmer. I would return because of the size it felt very cozy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We watched these reviews after booking, and they were becoming worse. We contacted to the hotel to ask if they could ensure we had a quiet room. the owner said he would arrange it. he didn't. The hotel is on a beach as it says, but it's also on the main road to Bridgetown, the traffic roars past all night, there is also a dog next door that barks incessantly all night, we didn't close our eyes for 2 weeks. We asked for the owner when we saw the room, and guess what? He was on holiday, 2 days later the manager showed us a different room,this one was on top of the car park, on the main road, where was the improvement. The manager told me there was nothing she could do, he wasn't contactable, so why have a manager that isn't allowed to manage? They advertise they have plug adaptors, they don't, they told me you have to buy them in the gift shop. They have 30 beds around the pool, 9 umbrellas and 284 guests huddled underneath them. there are no umbrellas on the beach, you have to hire them from the gift shop, and they allow the idiots to put their towels on the beds at 5.30 am, we saw them, because we couldn't sleep. We went down at 8am one morning, and there wasn't a free bed, no people, only towels, I got the manager, guess what? nothing done. The staff are miserable, they don't smile, and they hate to be disturbed if you want something. The pillows are a few limps inside a pillow case, the wifi hardly works, but Sea breeze next door always works, the water pipes were bursting on our floor, flooding the rooms almost daily, our loo was blocked The night reception staff told me, there isn't a room in the hotel that you can't hear the noise, and it's true. My advice, go somewhere else, Barbados is beautiful, and so are the people outside of this hotel. There's nothing to do in the area, we were going to go for a walk one evening, and the security guard followed us, we didn't go far, there was nowhere to go, he said I like my guests to be inside, going outside in the day okay, but not the night, It was a shame it was such a disaster, it needn't have been, if Butterfly beach had taken responsibility for their mistakes, and tried to rectify them, but they really don't care, once you are there, and they've got your money, you're shafted. Mark Kent the owner will probably respond to this, I've told him already I'm going to write this review, he talks the talk,but he doesn't provide the service, and that's the truth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly-Management, General Manager at Butterfly Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear ana0708,

Thank you for acknowledging that I have attempted to respond to your concerns previously. I am indeed sorry you did not enjoy your holiday at Butterfly Beach. Many many other guests do enjoy their stays with us, and many of these are with us on an annual repeat basis. I can even report that the guests in the room you stayed in, for instance, at the moment are very happy with the room and the hotel. I have to admit that I am confident many of our other guests will disagree with your assertions about the hotel and its staff, and in closing we wish you well in your future travels.

Best regards,
Mark Kent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a cruise and stay,first week was a stay at Butterfly Beach.I believe three letters describe it all really.WOW.

What an excellent hotel,best location i have ever been to.If you have any doubts about staying at this hotel,then you do not need to worry you will not be disappointed with this excellent hotel.I am trying to think of a negative but i cannot actually think of a bad thing to say about it.!!!

Room Tip: Room 101 is good,get both a pool view and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just got back from Butterfly beach hotel. We had a great time. The hotel its self is good value for money.A few things are looking a little shabby but they did say they were doing it all up in June.You get free beach towel but if you want a clean one they charge $2bds (70p). The room was adequate for the time your in there with ample wardrobe space and kept clean. Oistens on a friday is good and the locals are so friendly. The other way is St Lawrance Gap, we like walking but you can catch a bus. Deb and Maria arranged all our excursions which were all fun.Charlie's Bar was good, have a meal,drinks and a game of pool (reasonably priced).When we first got there we found the food more expensive than we thought but when you get your barings you can find a range of places to eat and drink. Supermarket not far, turn right out of hotel about 15mins walk. Hotel has happy hours 12-1 and 5-6 watch the board to see what beer is in it. Breakfast at hotel is $30bds (£10) but if you go on b&b plan it works out $24bds (£8). Would go back absolutely love Barbados and the friendly people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at pool end not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Butterfly Beach Hotel Barbados
Hotel Butterfly Beach
Butterfly Beach Barbados
Butterfly Beach
Butterfly Beach Christ Church
Butterfly Hotel Barbados
Butterfly Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish
Address: Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the South Coast of Barbados in an ocean front setting with access to two white-sand beaches, and a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Refurbished in June 2009, we are an excellent hotel for those looking for a self-catering but full-service property near to all the amenities the island has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Butterfly Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.