We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip but not last” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Butterfly Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First trip but not last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Friends and our first trip to the island but will certainly return. The hotel is a littles gem, very clean, great beach and water, good food and friendly staff. Rooms were a little tired but always clean, good air conditioning, fresh towels every day. For what they charge for a room it really is a steal of a deal and who really spends much time in their room. No problem with loungers although as it filled up we noticed they added additional as needed.
We had a garden view which although closer to the street was quite quiet especially as we ran the air at nigh. Our friends could not sleep with air on and was a bit loud for them, however the hotel quickly accommodated a water view for minimal cost...well worth it for them.
We traveled by the local minivan taxi's which are cheap and always efficient. Would recommend you give a quick look at available space on them before flagging down as they will cram you
aboard, however that can be part of the fun. We rented a car and driver for 9 hours for all of us for 220 us$ for a tour of whatever we wanted to do and go on the island. More expensive then renting a car but then better guide and one isn't stuck always concentrating on driving a car vs looking around. Amazing amount of roads on the island and lots to see....especially things you would never know about if you didn't have a local with you.
We ate some suppers at the hotel, food service and price good. We explored outside for meals as well and worth going out to to find some local spots. Always felt safe and people always willing to help.
Did Oistens and although Friday is the day to do it...it was more relaxed on the saturday for our speed.
A week is not enough it would take a long time to do the island justice although should have dine 10 days.
We would return and will return. We did not have our 4 teenage daughters with us and really would not be the hotel to captivate them. They are use to all inclusive as age ranges from 13 - 19 and while they would enjoy the beach we know they would need more... That said people had kids their and they enjoyed it from the looks of things...everyone knows their own kids needs.
Thanks to to the hotel staff they helped makes things enjoyable.
Overall I just didn't give it a 5 star because it lacks amenities of other hotels but for sheer value and a nice little resort it ranks up with tje best for what it offers for the price

Room Tip: If you can't handle any noise go with the ocean view, if it doesn't bother you the ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    471
    163
    48
    28
See reviews for
151
711
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A big shout out to: Kenrick, Hazel, Jefferson & our favourite 'Debbie' in the shop & to all the 'REEF' staff...yeah yeah!!. We stayed here for 10 nights in a superior studio room. View wasn't gr8 bt if we peered out left from the balcony we saw the sea. The main rd was to our right in the distance. At night the only noise came frm frogs and crickets...this will test your patience. ha!! Overall it was a gr8 location. WE used reggae buses daily. Oistins to the right...the Gap, Hastings, City Ctr etc to the left. Easy Peasy. If you wanna stay in & be lazy you have the 'reef' for food&drnk, free internet, sunbeds, jacuzzi's, a pool & the Caribbean sea in your face. Lap it all up & be a popstar. Barbados is fantastic. I spent my 50th bday right here. Yeah Yeah!!! Loved it!!!

Room Tip: If you wanna kitchen & balcony opt for a superior studio otherwise you'll jst get a normal r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had an absolutely fantastic holiday in Barbados and it was all because we stayed in this wonderful hotel. The hotel and especially the staff were fantastic, a special mention goes to Anne-Marie and Hazel who were brilliant! Myself and my girlfriend got engaged while in Barbados and Anne-Marie really looked after us and made sure it was a very special trip. We would 100% advise you to go and stay there, you'll have the time of your life. Tell them we said hello! Enjoy...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we have just returned from barbados, the island of your dreams. the people the atmosphere, the sand and sea. not forgetting the food and the turtles. the butterfly beach, is right on the beach , a family hotel; which is well run. we liked the staff the food and where it was placed. as it became full, there was a problem,[ as with most countries] ; where sun beds were being hogged; but the hotel was addressing this. thankyou to everyone.

Room Tip: i understand the ocean view rooms , are better, as some face the road, but this didnt botter us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Myself and my husband spent 5 days here and 2010 and gave just returned from 11 days in paradise! No complaints what so ever! Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff who are just lovely people all round, friendly atmosphere - just perfect! We hired a car and saw alot of the island this time which is a thing to do if you like to explore! A hurricane in st Lucia didn't stop us either, 3 days of wind and rain from the tail end of the hurricane just added to the fun! The noises and night are brilliant, reading other reviews, some people just need to embrace the ambience or go else where!! we can honestly say we had post holiday blues on return to England as we really haven't had such a beautiful 2 weeks surrounded by wonderful people, food, drink and weather :) we will be returning in 2013 and probably years to come. A big thankyou to butterfly beach for a perfect holiday :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We got back from the butterfly hotel on the 19th oct2012, so have been back only 4days!! And we cannot stop talking,about it... My husband took me for my birthday which was on the 10th ,this has been the best birthday ever..the hotel was CLEAN the ocean view room VERY CLEAN and SO LOVELY, to go to bed hearing the lovely ocean is just something else. The staff make such an effort and can't do enough for you.we ate at champers for my birthday that was recommended by Debora (from the shop) she is great! And what a lovely place to go ,I wanted my hair done she even sorted that for me, oh and even booked the cab!!what a great nite it was,..we ate at the hotel most of the time, breakfast, lunch , and also dinner, I loved this place and didn't have to go any where else for anything..we had some really good nights at the bar,and met some really nice People too..listen the saying is that you get what you pay for..........let me tell you I would of paid ten times over, for the time that I had at this hotel and the great holiday that we had..all the staff contributed to that and I thank them all for the best birthday and holiday...can't Waite to go back jan/feb.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just booking to return in January 2013. Clean everywhere. Comfortable beds. Big suite! Food
excellent.
Hotel is right on the beach-very clean too. 10 minute walk to grocery store for breakfast items-can't leave the room without my coffee! And groceries were cheap. Also on the bus line (a hilarious adventure) People always complain about how pricey Barbados is but this is not, great place, great price, nice people!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Beach Hotel

Address: Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the South Coast of Barbados in an ocean front setting with access to two white-sand beaches, and a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Refurbished in June 2009, we are an excellent hotel for those looking for a self-catering but full-service property near to all the amenities the island has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Butterfly Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish
Hotel Butterfly Beach
Butterfly Beach Barbados
Butterfly Beach Christ Church
Butterfly Hotel Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.