We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor touristy restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Little Bay Hotel

Little Bay Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Bay Hotel
Save
You added Little Bay Hotel to your Saves list
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Poor touristy restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a review for the restaurant and not the hotel, which I cannot find listed separately.

Great location just at the side of Cafe sol, nice ambience too.

The food we had though was distinctly average at best, would suggest other places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

A friend recommended we stay at Little Bay and we had a fantastic trip! My husband and I wanted to be able to experience the island rather than stay at an all inclusive. We were certainly glad we did. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and ever helpful. They even assisted us with our plans for our day trips! This hotel was a great location has a restaurant that overlooks the ocean. Thank you for making our trip a much needed retreat from our hectic lives we can not wait to come back next year!
Jane Jones

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Second visit! Spent another week at Little Bay Hotel and had a great time. The first thing you notice when you get to your room is the view, the hotel is about 20 ft. from water and over looks St. Lawrence Bay (I think)! The hotel is in a great location, the entrance of St. Lawrence Gap, close to all amenities so you don't need to rent a car even though the hotel provides free parking. There must be 100+ restaurants/bars within walking distance as well as many stores and even a supermarket. The hotel staff provide excellent service they arranged a car rental for me and it was delivered immediately.
This is NOT a luxury hotel! Little Bay is a quaint, charming, and laid-back place in a great location. Rooms at the hotel are around $100-$200USD per night (NOT $300-$500+ USD per night) and you get what you pay for. The hotel directly across the street charges $300-$400 USD per night and provides the same style rooms and service Barbados is NOT Mexico so don't expect that $100+USD is going to buy you a night at Windsor Castle. IF you want super-luxurious stay at 'The House' or 'The Atlantis' both are nice and start around $500 USD night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

I was booked at the south gap hotel, but due to over booking ended up at the Little Bay Hotel. I need to say thank you to debra, the bartenders both male n female, the dark lady with short hair in housekeeping for their charm. You guys made my stay unforgetable. I cant wait to revisit again in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My first time ever vacationing in the carribean I had heard such great stories about Barbados and the famous " St Lawrence Gap" and Little Bay is right at the entrance of the Gap. Sometimes during the night it can be a little noisy but thats what you would expect staying at one of the Gap Resorts. The staff there are very friendly and very helpful with whatever you need. My room was a studio with my own fridge, stove and king size bed. My studio overlooked the beach and all I had to do was walked down the steps and I was right on the beach.

I would like to return one day because the people are very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel is really great- prime location and a very nice, spacious suite for well below the average prices on the island. As others said, it is quite loud but that can only be expected in the clubbing and restaurant district! At night in the bedroom with the AC running, we could not hear the noise anyway so it wasn't a problem.
The hotel is right on the beach and we spent a lot of time on the deck just enjoying the beautiful view of the sea.
The hotel is also a short walk from a nature sanctuary, now closed, you can still walk through the sanctuary grounds anyway, and see a troupe of monkeys living in a mangrove swamp, as well as flamingos and an unbelievably populated small lake.
All in all a really awesome trip and this hotel was perfect!
Its also worth mentioning that you could easily spend your entire vacation within walking distance of this hotel- Accra Beach (probably the most touristy beach on the island) is a 15 min walk from the hotel, with tons of restaurants, bars stores, and a mall. The walk to and from Accra is also chock full of more restaurants, bars, and stores!
Worthing Beach is also about 2 mins away from the hotel, with Caribe Beach Bar right in front of it for snacks or drinks.
Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton - Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We went on a girl's getaway trip to Barbados, and were looking for an economical, ocean front property near The Gap, we found all this, and friendly service in the Little Bay Hotel. We enjoyed many hours watching the turtles coming to the surface in the bay out front from the deck of one of the 100 series rooms, only wish I'd brought my snorkel gear, but were swimming several times when turtles surfaced very near us. They seemed to be most active during the late morning hours. The staff were all very nice, and the night security guard was there when we came in late to greet us, they gave us a late check out since our flight didn't leave until 5 and housekeeping was more than accommodating when we asked for anything. We did see three little bugs over the course of a week, which is generally to be expected from a Caribbean budget property, but far cleaner and fewer pests than I've seen in similar priced properties on other islands and is definitely worth the central ocean front location. The King bed was great, if you like a firm mattress. Public access to the Dover Beach is a few minute walk just down the road where you can rent beach chairs and there are washrooms and showers for a day at the beach, but swimming in the front of the hotel is perfect for a quick dip. The grocery store is very close by, we were settled on the deck with Rum Punch within two hours of landing, with a weeks worth of supplies on hand. The noise from The Watering Hole Rum Shop across the street was loud from Thursday-Sunday mostly because of Karaoke, but we were out late most nights and when we weren't, we had ear plugs on hand and were able to sleep soundly. Without earplugs and if you were planning to go to bed early, the noise would likely keep you up. A car isn't necessary as everything is within walking distance, including a wide choice of bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk. We were pleased that we always felt very safe.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Bay Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Little Bay Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.