We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf, relax and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer's Point Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfer's Point Guest House
Save Saved
You added Surfer's Point Guest House to your Saves list
Surfer's Point | Inch Marlow, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surf, relax and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have been to Surfer’s point 4 times and this is the best proof that once you stay at Zed and Claudia’s place you will really want to come back again. It’s a really good place where beginners can learn surf in a safe and easy way, but even the most experienced can take part to trips towards challenging spots.
The structure is simple but comfortable, the position of the apartments is really good: just in front of sea, and very next to some interesting spots for both beginners and medium experienced surfers. The atmosphere you can breath here is the very element of distinction from other place we visited: Claudia, Zed, Junior, Jason, Brandon and all the other guys are really friendly and transmit you an easy and relaxed mood. Nothing is comparable to a sunset on the beach in front of the apartments, drinking a beer together with your new friends after a day spent surfing, and – if you’re lucky – listening to someone playing guitar…
And if you’re really really lucky, you can find yourself among Zed, Junior, and the other guys going out at the sunset to take a couple of waves having fun together (see the picture I uploaded!).
The day you have to leave, you will be already thinking to the day you can come back again to Surfer’s point.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manhattan beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have a family with two young boys and we travel all over the world looking for adventure that are safe for our kids. Zed's surfing class is top notch. We spent the week surfing Freight's Bay and found it to be a very easy left break with beautiful crystal blue water and long forgiving waves. Zed's team of people are wonderful and fully in tune with the vibe of a zen island lifestyle.

As I am thrust back into the hamster wheel of my daily grind back home, I am content to know that Zed is out there living the dream and sharing it with others that are willing to open their eyes to see it.

Also try Chicken Rita or Buffy's bar on Friday night for excellent local food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed with my boyfriend in March (a little late posting!) and like everyone else, loved this place and especially the people running it. Booked early for peak season so we were able to get the Driftwood Studio which we found out was Zed's original home on the property and that only added to the charm of the spot. Thought it was pretty funny to have a cable box installed under the TV but no actual cable or channels and had a good laugh about it when we went to ask Zed about it... decided that spending the night with him and the rest of the staff and their friends over some Banks was much more fun than TV anyways, so I'm actually glad. They do have a DVD selection and player for people that want them, but he had lent the whole box of movies to one of the other suites so just ask about it if you want a movie or anything.

The Driftwood Studio is particularly amazing for the patio area outdoors. We spent the majority of every day out there, going in between lounging around on the patio, to the beach, to the surf, and of course to the kitchen to make up some more rum punch or grab a beer - perfect spot. We didn't have much luck with the Wifi inside the suite but could sometimes get it out on the patio and it was good near the office if you just sat out on one of the many picnic tables. Bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. We did notice a funny smell on a few occasions and the only thing we could manage to link it to was if the shower area was wet, but I really have no idea what the small was and we seemed to fix this by showering outside with the awesome ocean view and who wouldn't prefer that anyways!

There is a bus that stops/picks up not too far, but make sure you know where to get off and on since ours ended up making a wrong turn and we had to walk for about 30 minutes with our supply of beer for our stay which can be HOT in Barbados weather! Oistens is pretty close to get some groceries and things from there and with all of the friendly people around the property, you might luck out like we did and be able to catch a ride into town. Also, the airport taxi that they use is totally reliable and friendly - I think it was $30 (Barbados dollars) to get to the airport and a pretty quick ride.

Make sure you spend some time getting to know Zed and the rest of his friends and staff - they are all amazing!

Room Tip: Book early for the Driftwood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Surfer's Point is one of the best places in the world. Stayed there with surf buddies in January. Perfect waves, amazing view, great people, safe and clean.
I loved the chilled atmosphere, the owner's Zed & Claudia are always taking care of everything, boards, rental cars, BBQ. Zed and his surf teacher colleague Junior supported us with their caribbian surfknowlegde. Maurizio, called 'Dottore', who has always a band-aid, eyedrops and disinfectant in his pocket is around every day from 9 -17h.
Thank you all! God bless you!
I miss the place every day and counting the days until my next stay, still 7 months to go;-(
Bodo

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was our first trip to Barbados and a first attempt at surfing too. The location is fantastic and hospitality of Zed, Claudia and Maurizio warm and friendly.
I was extremely apprehensive about surfing but thanks to Junior, Mike and Bodi I met initial success at it quite naturally.
All in all one of the the most wonderful holidays we have been to so far.
Would love to be back...

Special thanks to Junior - he is a great surf instructor with outstanding attention to detail - I bet he can get any one to surf !

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach,VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Surfer's Point has everything that you need for a fun and relaxing vacation! Zed and Claudia Layson are the perfect hosts at this gem by the sea. Along with their staff, they make your stay at Surfer's Point a memorable experience. Whether arranging dinner reservations or helping your child to find the perfect wave, Zed and Claudia make sure that your stay is relaxing and fun. The apartment we rented had beautiful views, comfortable beds, a full kitchen, fabulous porches-all just steps from the surf. There is a collection of surf and paddle boards for novice to experienced boarders. The surf at Surfer's Point entertained us during the day and serenaded us to sleep each evening. The "vibe" at Surfer's Point is friendly, casual, and welcoming. The Good to Go Cafe' was a nice way to start the day or to top off a surf session with a sandwich and a cold beer. Mike is an engaging "chef" and surfer. We plan to return to Surfer's Point in the very near future!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Everything is really covered nicely, very casual spot, if the wind is down the waves are great right out front, great food served with smile by Mike and Ekeda.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfer's Point Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer's Point Guest House

Address: Surfer's Point | Inch Marlow, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Surfers Point break, wake up to the sound of waves breaking right at your doorstep in one of our seven ocean front apartments. Home to Zed's Surfing Adventures, this is a great location for new and old surfers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfer`s Point Guest House Hotel Christ Church
Surfer's Point Guest House Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer's Point Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.