We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff

The Cliff
Derricks | St. James, Barbados
+1 246-432-1922
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $300
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Incredible. The setting was breathtaking - the Staff were very friendly and great fun (took us to the edge of the restaurant to point out the Sting Rays swimming in the Cove) The food was exquisite. Thrilled that Cloudy Bay was on the wine list. Yes, it was extremely expensive, but so worth it. Would go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    175
    80
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived to smiling faces. Shown to a great table right a front with a view. Beautiful building with great water setting. Be aware it is expensive bd$245 for each 2 course meal, no desert no wine, water, oh your bread roll is included. The food was very good but then so the food at Tides, Fish Pot, Cin Cin. We found our server to be very surly and got the impression our face didn't fit. I'm glad we decided to try it but I doubt we would hurry back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Yes its expensive but ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

You know the old adage "you get what you pay for" ?

Well its certainly true here.

Superb and faultless food.

An extensive and not stupidly priced wine list.

Service that could be described as 'not invasive'.

Lovely beach/water setting.

All of this, together with their reputation means they can charge what they do.

On a monday evening, in July (out of season), they were about half full - and they have a lot of tables !

Clearly others felt the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnathort, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite setting, food, service and a night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

During our recent visit to Barbados we booked a table at the Cliff as we had been there on previous occasion.
On arrival we were reminded why this place had such fond memories, it opens out onto such a glorious setting.
As expected the level of service was first class and as we had booked our table for 19.00 we had a waterside table.
You have to ask for this at the time of booking, don't presume that's what you're getting.
The food was tremendous with all 3 of us enjoying every single course.
We all had 3 courses with maybe 4 drinks each which made the bill around £450, but was well worth it.
Most resteraunts place a 15% service charge onto you're bill automatically but the Cliff doesn't unless there are 6 or more of you.
I prefer to tip the waiters and bar staff accordingly so I know they get the tip, and used the 15% as a guide
The lounge area above the resteraunt is a great place to relax prior to eating and after your meal, with staff being very atentative.
We will certainly remember our visit to the Cliff for all the right reasons and will definitely return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, robotic and unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been coming to The Cliff in Barbados every year on holiday at least twice per visit to the island for the past 7 years. This year, the experience has made me want to write about it as, compared to other experiences on the island, The Cliff now just infuriates me.

We have never received any 'welcome back' or recognition that we have been giving repeat business, not even when visiting a few days apart! This visit was greeted with a smiling face at the door and from then on, robotic, unfriendly staff. This started with an unfriendly 'open the menu and I will tell you how it works.' When we explained we had visited the week before, this was ignored and the same speech from last week was repeated more or less word for word.

The food was, as always, excellent - piping hot and of great quality. That quality comes at a price - both the extortionate monetary cost and the complete lack of interaction with the guests. This is such a contrast to the friendly staff at near enough any restaurant establishment in Barbados!

It is sad to say, I do not think we will return to The Cliff on our holiday next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.