We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff

The Cliff
Derricks | St. James, Barbados
+1 246-432-1922
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $300
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreamy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant is classy and an extremely memorable place, the heat is deflated by fans and the coolness of the Ocean breeze, whilst eating the exquisite food, you have the luxury of Turtles and huge sting rays floating by on the spotlight ocean below, a truelove restaurant, i went with my family and another time with my boyfriend,we will all return if we are lucky enough to get the chance to return to Barbados, a complete Must, loved every minute.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    176
    80
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing food, service & views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you visit just 1 restaurant in Barbados you have to visit The Cliff.

The food is out of this world, there's such a varied choice on the menu I didn't know where to start! I had a scollops starter followed by cat fish main course and a white chocolate dessert, all simply superb!

The service is first class, the best in Barbados - all the staff are extremly attentive and friendly.

The views are wonderful, we had a table over looking the sea which was amazing you can sit outside even if it's raining as they will pull the rain blinds over the entire restaurant for everyone and this will not spoil the views or your experience.

The bar area is also lovely and very relaxing.

Can't rate this restaurant high enough, everything was perfect and I hope to get back there one day! There should be a button below on Tripadvisor for 'Outstanding' rather than 'Excellent' for The Cliff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You pay for top quality- and it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

No one is saying this place is cheap but this place really is worth it. The food is absolutely outstanding, the service brilliant and the view out across the ocean is amazing. Sitting at our table we could see stingray and sharks swimming in the sea below.

The staff are extremely polite and welcoming and the service really is one of the most attentive I have ever experienced- for instance realising my partner had accidentally dropped his napkin of the floor and immediately replacing it. Sounds silly but this demonstrates the excellent attention to detail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Not as good as it thinks it is........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's very clear before you even arrive at The Cliff what the final check will look like, and at around twice the price of any other restaurant on the island the key question is can it possibly be worth it? The short answer is no.
The food is excellent, although at those prices you might reasonably expect more luxurious ingredients to lift the menu and possibly an amuse bouche. Service in the restaurant area was thoroughly professional if low-key and a marked contrast to the reception and cocktail lounge, where the European staff are incredibly snooty and arrogant. This was commented on by a number of people in our hotel so appears to be something of a theme. The setting is of course dramatic although it lacks intimacy and feels a little like eating on a Disney pirate set. The wine list is surprisingly reasonably priced, although it's irritating to research it on line, make a few choices only to find them no longer available or 25% more expensive.....
The final irritant is when the check arrives with 'service not included' in large block capitals in red ink stamped across the top. It's all a bit vulgar really.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The cliff, Barbabos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Where shall i start, Amazing, Absolutely Amazing. The food, service and ambience of the restaurant was superb, very romantic till it started raining. The food is very expensive however it is well worth the money. The views from the cliff were great, could see the sting rays feeding under the restaurants lights.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.