We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take care of the undertow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paynes Bay Beach

Paynes Bay Beach
Barbados
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$87*
and up
Lunch and Snorkel Sail in Barbados
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Take care of the undertow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Whilst the beach is narrow it has great swimming spots if you avoid the reef areas. On days when the wind blows from the north however there can be some big breakers and fierce undertow - take care coming out of the sea as there is a trough near the beach which if you are not careful can hold you back and pull you back in. Unless you are staying at one of the hotels there is little space for towels or deckchairs, especially at high tide.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    66
    15
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Vermont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stopped at Payne's Bay Beach during our Silver Moon Catamaran Cruise. We stopped here for lunch, and swam to shore. The water is so blue and warm and perfect. We never wanted to leave.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“TOURIST TRAP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

we arrived on the 17 on the princess we really had no plans just walk outside and see what comes up.me and my wife.
well as soon as we exited the gate there were taxi men suggesting island tours and beaches.
one of them told us about paynes bay and we said OK lets go.
after a about a half hour drive we were dropped at a little alley leading to a beach.
as we walked down we were already being asked for chairs and umbrellas which the price was not bad so we got one.
as we shed our clothes to expose our bathing suits.immediately a comment was made about my wife.fresh meat or something like that.i just let it go as my wife is very pretty.
we went into the lovely water whee we were attacked by jet ski men talking loud and rough
quarreling amounts each other about who would get us to go.
we declined and nasty comments followed.one said he would take my wife for free, laughing.
now i am 6 foot 7 and 245 lbs and a martial arts expert.
i certainly did not want to start a fight so i took that again.just barely managing to hold back my self.i must admit i did not expect such nasty behavior on a island used to tourist.
finally after the glass bottom boat asked us if we wanted to see the turtles and we said no thanks we went to lie in our chairs and i went to get us some drinks from a little wooden bar
just cokes as we don't drink.5 dollars bds for a coke .wow.
as i returned to my wife a local man was trying to sell her a message said his name was Dr love
we said no thanks as where his hands were before would be not known and i don't really respect strangers wanting to rub down my wife thanks.we sat and chatted at he beauty of the beach.then some more locals tried to sell us jewelery ,he made a point of sitting on my wife's chair within her personal space.she looked at me not happy.
so i told the man we did not need anything right now but thanks.
he also made a comment about my wife.something like to his friends shouting man i would love to hit that.
that was the last straw form me and my wife.
we decided to leave so we walked back down this little alley where by some locals we were questioned why we leaving.i said i was looking to go some where else.they touched me and tried to guide me back to the beach.
i refused and words and slang was used .i asked for a taxi and one was there happily.
we returned to the ship disgusted at the nasty ways of the locals.we went back to our room balcony and suntanned feeling relieved to be away from such bad vibes i would call it.
now i could have beat all those guys with one hand but i just wanted to get out of there with no trouble.i will never return there again,as i do not want to end up hurting anyone.the islands before had none of this.very good to know.
were leaving

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Carribean delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just round the corner from Sandy bay ( 100 yards ) is the delightful Paynes Bay, this is a lovely wide beach that slopes gently into the sea, very few rocks, swimming is fairly safe although a slight current can be felt. Public access from the road is not obvious and parking difficult, access through Coconutz bar where drinks & snacks are available at reasonable prices.

There are public sunbeds & parasols for hire but these are congregared around the cafe entrance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sans Souci, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
563 helpful votes 563 helpful votes
“~ Snorkel With The Tortoises ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If a memorable trip to the Caribbean is on your agenda, then do as we do, taking great care in choosing the right island! Barbados ticks all the requisites for us: Safe Island... Wonderful People…. Good Food... and of course... When we vacation in the Caribbean, we always look for an "authentic" local ambiance and charm, a Caribbean tropical atmosphere of remoteness & ruggedness, quiet secluded uncrowded beaches and beautiful tropical flora/fauna that contribute to a "Robinson Crusoe" destination. In Barbados, you can be as active (or not) as you desire.

No visit to Barbados can be complete without taking advantage of some of the wonderful things to do whilst on the island. Depending on your energy levels, activities are abundant… with numerous water and land sports, including hobie-cat sailing, snorkelling, waterskiing, windsurfing, reef fishing, aqua-cycles, kayaks, fishing, squash, tennis and golf.

Instead of waterskiing, we enjoy touring by water, down the coast to Paynes Bay Beach, where the catamarans come to let tourists snorkel to swim with the sea turtles… it's an exhilarating ride, and wonderful to see all the majestic homes, beaches & resorts along the coast from the sea.

Paynes Bay Beach is stunningly serene, especially at sunset. All in all, a lot of fabulous memories!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paynes Bay Beach also viewed

Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Paynes Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paynes Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.