We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and under development” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Folkestone Marine Park

Folkestone Marine Park
One mile north of Holetown | Near St. James Parish Church, Barbados
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Private and under development”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I LOVE this beach! It was recommended to us by a local. We took the #6 bus to Holetown and walked to the beach December 2011 and 2012. We had the beach completely to ourselves both years. We were told that the beach area is being refurbished and it needs it. There are bathrooms and picnic tables. There is no real concession stand. In 2012 much of the beach had disappeared and I don't know if it was erosion or simply a high tide. However, we had no where to lay on the beach. No matter to me because I love the privacy, the turquoise water and excellent snorkeling. After a swim check out the high end shops, the mall, and the unique shops in the area. There is a very nice Patisserie Bistro Flindt just past the St James Church. I can saw that I spent a fantastic Christmas Eve at this beach and town

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    3
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you find yourself in Holetown, take a 5min walk north and you'll find both St. James church (the most scenic and oldest church in Barbados), picnic areas, food and drink vendors, and a large areas of reefs. Its not a beach for swimming or bathing as its only a few feet wide and is practically surrounded by reefs. Take your snorkel out and experience the underwater world of barbados!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely historic public beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

To take in for your morning walk in the Holetown area...I remember the underwater snorkle park trail they had here as a child. SO happy they have invested the money to keep it in nice shape. It is convenient to schools so I think it is a wonderful investment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Easy, fun snorkel with lots of fish and turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

As mentioned, this park is not for sunbathing. It is a great place to bring a picnic and enjoy a relaxing snorkel. We saw lots of fish and a couple of turtles who were very relaxed and did not mind swimming with us. A real treat. After our snorkel, we drove to Paines Bay beach and soaked up the rays. A perfect combination to enjoy the west side where the water was as calm as a bathtub.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“See the stars of Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wow oh wow feeding fish by hand ,so many types and colours almost do for the children.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folkestone Marine Park also viewed

 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Folkestone Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Folkestone Marine Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Folkestone Marine Park to your Saves list