We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay at the club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Saint James Beach | West Coast, Barbados, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPRING SALE UP TO 40%OFF!
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic stay at the club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Arrived home yesterday after having a superb holiday at The Club,we went for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and couldn't have had a better time,friendly staff,lovely accommodation and the food was great too.Would definetly recommend this lovely hotel and will one day hopefully go back.Thankyou The Club

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    345
    133
    39
    34
See reviews for
57
654
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely people - beautiful gardens. Our room was ocean front and the views of the Caribbean sea were lovely. The food in both restaurants was so good - it was difficult not to eat everything on offer. Heather made the best poached eggs and cooked the fish to perfection - thank you Heather.
In fact every staff member were so polite and welcoming - they made our trip so special - we can't wait to return

Room Tip: All rooms looked very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a week stay here which was great
Check in very quick, ocean front room very a lovely french balcony brilliant. No trouble in getting a sun bed. Food was excellent .All staff were always happy. Bar staff all of them brilliant as i was a single man by himself they always had time to have a chat with me Beaches i,ver side also great
1 down side if you wanted a pack lunch you had to pay for it 50 B$ for it Why should we pay for that when all inclusive
Would i go back? yes cant wait until England cricket side tourer there again
A BIG THANK to you all

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first trip to Barbados and at first I was a little disappointed at the lack of glitz given the Islands status with the rich and famous. We had a ground floor room that was basic but clean, the bed was very comfortable, the only oddity was that the basin was in the room and not in the bathroom? We had a nice patio area which went on to the gardens,which were beautifully kept and made for a nice change from sitting around the pool. We had wonderful treatment from the staff who were all very attentive, on the last evening we ordered a bottle of champagne to have with supper and came to the table decorated with petals flowers and candles a lovely touch. The food was excellent we stayed for a week and only had one Buffett supper the others were a BBQ and A La Carte and we ate at Enid's one evening too although we preferred the main restaurant.
We walked into Holetown which was nice both along the road and beach, many designer shops to be seen in the new shopping centre, we also walked the beach in the opposite direction passed Sandy Lane to the Cliff.
Trips worth taking were a catamaran trip from Bridgetown along the coast to swim with turtles, food and drink all included. Jeep safari around the island visiting many view points and taking lunch out at a hotel half way around, staff on both trips were amazing and fun. Overall Barbados is an expensive Caribbean Island to visit but it has been kept authentic and low key, well worth a visit and you can drink the water from the tap!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice although the rooms on the front overlooking the sea looked lovely, obviously m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful time at club Barbados. Can't understand some of the criticisms!!!!!!! We were greeted with an upgraded room to a suite which overlooked the pools and gardens. A bottle of sparkling wine chilling for our birthdays....
Food was very good . we did go out for a couple of meals for a change.
The staff were very friendly and it was reassuring to see the management mixing with the residents- be it clearing up tables or dancing in the evenings.
We loved the location of the resort and wholeheartedly recommend it. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Send them an email before you go and request your room preferences. You may be lucky. I wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa for your special celebration this spring. We are delighted our resort surpassed your expectations, and we thank you for your wonderful compliments toward our excellent dining, enjoyable pools and gardens, and beautiful location.

Thank you so much for your time and consideration. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back to Barbados in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a week at The Club after a fab 7 day Caribbean cruise. What a come down!! The room was "tired, we booked a balcony but were on the ground floor with doors onto the beach but
everyone was one loungers on the beach in front of our room, no privacy. I do not like to have
to be seated for every meal or do I want to book my evening meal in advance to get a time to
my choosing. The managers in the Sunset restaurant were very abrupt, even rude. The evening
entertainment was rubbish and the daytime entertainment almost non-existent, only one day
of water aerobics. The food was good but a bit fancy for us. The only good thing was that it was
adults only. You had to get up early to get bed & umbrellas were in short supply.
It was not the relaxing holiday we expected so will not return.

Room Tip: Don't get ground floor, mossis like to come in and no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our staff and management team, we are very grateful for your time and feedback on our TripAdvisor page. We also appreciate the opportunity to provide a management response to ensure you have a full and accurate picture of our resort.

Though we understand our comments are often subjective, we sincerely apologize if your stay at The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa was less than enjoyable. Likewise, we deeply apologize that you and your loved one were not assigned a room with a balcony. This April, our resort was fortunate enough to be booked to capacity—which lamentably meant not all of our guests were able to receive rooms in the first blocks and floors of their choosing. Our booking staff works diligently to provide our guests with the best possible accommodations in accordance with guest preferences, but first choices are not always guaranteed during peak seasons.

We also sincerely apologize if you experienced any inconvenience with our dining reservation system. The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa relies on a dining booking system to ensure all of our guests have an equal opportunity to dine at each of our all-inclusive restaurants. We’ve found reservation lessen the burden of long wait-times during primary dining hours. Likewise, reservations allow for our restaurant staff to provide more optimal and personalized service without being rushed. However, we were disheartened to learn that you were treated rudely by our managers at our Sunset Restaurant. At The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa, we pride ourselves on excellent and friendly customer service, and we were surprised and disappointed to learn of your instance. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and we will certainly discuss our comments with our restaurant staff to prevent further disturbances.

Also, we apologize if our accommodations were not to your liking. To address our guest comments and improve the quality of life for our visitors, our management team has made a conscientious decision to shutdown our facilities this summer for renovations.

We thank you for your time and consideration, and we certainly welcome your return when we reopen our doors.

Best regards,

The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was what we expected from a 4star hotel rooms good gardens good 3decent pools food ok although we went to Enid's on the first night and and they have only 4 choices which is the same each night I think they must cook it Monday morning then microwave it each day how people say it was fantastic well different tastes I guess sunset was ok it was our 40th wedding anniversary I told them before and when we booked in Guess what the done for us threw some flower petals on the table wow never been so thrilled in all our lives ?dissapointed as for the beach when people say you can walk to outher beaches only when the tides out our friends went in the morning came back 3hours latter and had to wade waist high in the water to get back otherwise we had a great time met really nice people we went out 2 nights on a Friday go to the golden anchor live reggae band fantastic atmosphere great went on the reggae bus loved it all in all we did have a great time good value for money we love Barbados it was our 2nd visit last time we went to the south coast

Room Tip: Get a ground floor superior garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach | West Coast, Barbados, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.