We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Barbados Days ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Saint James Beach | West Coast, Barbados, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPRING SALE UP TO 40%OFF!
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Happy Barbados Days ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Barbados and, unlike any holiday we usually book, it was total relaxation in the sun, with a wonderful backdrop of the Club Barbados. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (very reluctantly!), we felt welcomed at every point .... the accommodation, the amenities, the food and the refreshments could not be faulted. Sunsets and sunrises were breathtaking from our ocean view room. Sophia, the restaurant manager, and her wonderful team, were a tonic ... Heather, Matthew and the catering team produced breakfast, lunch and dinner to the highest standards and with a smile ... Jade cheerfully collected glasses from all points of the resort ... in happy tune at all times. Enid's Bajan restaurant was also a great hit with us. We would find it hard to make any criticism of the resort .... well done, thank you to all for making us feel special ... and here's to another trip in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    345
    133
    39
    34
See reviews for
57
652
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

There was nothing not to like. All the staff were wonderful, so friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was absolutely superb, at every single meal. The room was large and comfortable and cleaned to high standards every day. I'd gladly go back tomorrow, would recommend it to anyone :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We would like to thank you first and foremost and tell you that we do appreciate our guests sending in their comments. We see the gift of feedback as an opportunity to consistently improve our guests' experience while with us.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission and our staff gets extremely high marks from our guests for their genuine warmth and attentiveness.

Our open-air restaurant, the Sunset Restaurant is, not unlike many, many resort restaurants in the Caribbean, open air so that guests may truly enjoy the beauty of our resort and destination in a natural and authentic environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford2008
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a fantastic 9 days and we had fantastic service , especially from the hotel restaurant manager Sophia. V. Ifill, tracy Ann Beno and Roslin Huntie really where shinnig stars. they all made us feel very specially . On one of the days during our stay , i was celebrating my birthday and we were allociated a special table and they sang to me. Would definately go back

Room Tip: there are no lifts so kept that in mind, we had a room on the third floor which was great, we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite some niggles about the administration, particularly at reception where the service was generally very slow. On the whole, however, we were delighted by the service we received, most notably from Sophia, Carmella and the restaurant staff. We were made to feel welcome at every meal and Sophia was an excellent manager whose use of the guests' names was particularly impressive as were the warmth of her personality and her sense of humour. It was noticeable that all the senior members of staff led by example. The food was of a very high standard and the choices on the a la carte menu were varied and original. A special mention must go to Heather who performed heroically at breakfast in particular, multi tasking with skill and good humour. The facilities in our room were excellent and the view from our balcony was stunning. The location of the resort was ideal and the facilities in general were fine. All in all we had a memorable stay and we would return if the opportunity presented itself.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived in Barbados on Sunday the 3rd of March for a one week stay at the Club Barbados, we had previously stayed at this resort when it was the Almond Beach club and resort, I would have to say that this resort is not what it used to be, we were shown to a deluxe sea view room which was on the 4th floor with no balcony, the room had supposedly been refurbished however the edging around the bath was grubby and the grout and sealant were either flaking off or totally missing, the bathroom mirror was a relic from the previous resort and all of the mitres were wide open, the walls and ceiling had been spray painted during the refurb however the furniture had not been very well protected during this as the furniture was badly marked by paint spots. The soft furnishings were all a mis match with no colour or pattern co-ordination, the furniture was old and had severe damage to the corners of the units. The food was very good however you must book a table for dinner every night the day before and at breakfast you are held in a que until you have booked and then are shown to a table, if you want a sunbed then you must be down before 7.00am to obtain one where you want it, I certainly would not give this resort any more than 3.5 stars, the bar does not sell the top brands of spirits ie no Bacardi and the johnny walker is hidden in the back you have to insist that you want this it is the sprited away through the back again. I am sorry if you have booked this but I would not recommend it. Our second week on the Thomson dreams ship was the highlight, everything on the ship surpassed the Club Barbados resort.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are noisy with waves rolling in all night, make sure you get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

The vast majority of our guests greatly enjoy our accomodations, exceptional service and the dining experience. And, we are pleased to note, that because of the excpetional vacation experience shared by our guests, we enjoy a very high repeat rate. Our guests return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just spent 10 wonderful days at the Club, I had a lovely ocean front room and had one of my best holidays yet. Latonya and Cole were wonderful hosts and far exceeded my expectations in making me feel welcome throughout my stay. The girls in the spa were exceptional and I would highly recommend them. Also, a special thank you to Heather, her poached eggs are the best. My only disappointment was that my room was not as requested from my tour operator but that was no reflection on the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We flew to the island on the 24th February for two weeks at the hotel. It was fantastic, we had atruly wonderful time. All the staff were great Heather was a delight at breakfast and went to so much trouble to ensure my eggs were just how I like them. Sophia was so welcoming at mealtimes and used our name after a few days. The cocktails were great. Many many thanks to all the staff you are a credit to your employers. The room was clean and comfortable, but are in need of some upgrading but you sleep in the room so no complaints. I would definitely reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach | West Coast, Barbados, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.