We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Saint James Beach | West Coast, Barbados, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BUY 1 GET 1 NIGHT FREE
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not too bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just returned and had a lovely holiday. This is however not yet a four star hotel but it is trying. Access to the sea is challenging, so if you like to sit on the beach and just walk into the sea, this is not for you. There are steps down to the sea from the hotels man made beach but unless it is low tide you are in danger of being swept off them and onto rocks. You can access a very nice beach if you dont mind making a little trek. But if you do this be aware that you will only have sand to sit on and there is no shade!
The hotel is all inclusive and the food is very good. However most evenings it is a la carte dining and the service can be a bit slow. Gave up on desert one night after waiting 45 minutes for it! The hotel advertise that they use premium brand spirits and they may do sometimes but expect to mostly drink local versions!
Our room was a little tired and dated but perfectly adequate. Work is continuing at the hotel to spruce it up but most of this is not intrusive. Expect to smell paint here and there.
Check out is as usual 12pm, however for US$100 you can keep your room for another 2 hours, I didn't bother.
Overall I would return if I could find a deal at the right price, however this hotel if definitely not worth paying full brochure price for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    244
    91
    30
    27
See reviews for
42
447
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just arrived back from a fantastic holiday at the club barbados. It was small, friendly, the guests all wanted to chat to one another and the staff cant do enough for you which shows as numerous guests we talked to were on repeat visits which we will certainly be doing.
Whilst we were there we did experience some work being done around us however the workmen were great and didnt cause us any problems. Every bit of work they are doing to the complex can be immediately seen and the improvements ongoing will ensure guests return year after year. The atmosphere there is brilliant and this is due to the way staff treat you generally on first name terms. The Regional Director was very hands on introducing himself and letting people know the plans for the future and we often saw Kevin the Manager checking areas, picking up glasses round the pool area and even removing a leaf that wasnt to his liking. There was Sofia the restaurant manager, Cathyanne and Carmel all having a laugh and a joke whilst being professional and ensuring that the restaurants ran correctly, That is the other thing I was impressed with as I was worried that we would get fed up with the food and have to eat out more however the food was excellent and they had certain days ie beach barbecue, carribean buffet and Enids as well as the normal a la carte which served a different menu every night.
Then theres the bar where we have Cheryl who serves faster than lightening but still managers to entertain and have everyone in stitches. One final thing that made me chuckle is Nello whose job title is Mr Everything which really somes up the place, One worry I hope they dont do it up too much and take it out of our price range or become too popular and we cant get in which would be a disaster. Mel and Paul

Room Tip: Our room was 327 excellent location overlooking the pool handy for the piano bar which is classed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just returned from the Club, 10/11/2012, I will give an unbaised view based on our experience. This is our fourth visit to the island in 3 years and we love it.
The Club is going extensive redecoration throughout and the workmen are both considerate and courteous.
Our first room did not have any glass in one window, just slats, which would have let the mosquitoes through. The second was on the more noisy side (opt for a room overlooking pool area if possible) and the third room was acceptable - our only gripe being the condition of the furniture which was badly knocked about and the drawers were extremely difficult to open and shut.
However the food is very good with plenty of choice and the staff polite and helpful.
As the main restaurant is open one side but netted the other the birds are bit of a problem so would advise keeping one person at the table at all times to scare them off or they definitely will drink your water or steal your food.
The beach is extremely small though and a quite difficult to access the sea from the steps if you are not so good on your feet.
However the beach to the left (Sandy Lane) or right both have good beaches with Sandy Lane accessible at low tide.
Opposite the hotel is a row of shops which sell pretty much everything you will need and a cashpoint is also available.
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Club Barbados Resort and Spa is a great hotel. The staff were very polite, warm and friendly. The food was excellent and I would have know hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a lovely resort on the beautiful west coast of Barbados. It was taken over in August & is currently undergoing extensive renovation. The workmen take considerable care to be as unobtrusive as possible and I was told they should be finished in January 2013. They caused us minimal disruption and were doing a great job in making the resort smarter.
The staff here are very friendly and are always willing to make your stay as good as they can, the bar staff enjoy helping to make your drinks perfect for you & the staff in the restaurant are always ready with more coffee, drinks & a wecoming smile. The food here is excellent, hot and plentiful with a good variety & always well presented. Breakfast & lunch are self service whilst evening meals are a la carte but they have special evenings and I particlarly enjoyed the beach barbeque.
Our room was huge, although not all rooms were as big. Our bed was both comfortable and enormous, we requested the walk in shower.
The resort has no lifts and all rooms have at least one step to negotiate so anyone with mobility issues would need to make their needs clear in advance. Access around the site would generally be easy but getting into the sea requires use of some steps.
The water sports centre is a place to visit & I can recommend their boat trips & equipment loan, their local knowledge & advice is excellent.
This resort is well placed and the local area is very pleasant & on a main bus route, Across the road from the resort is a parade of nice shops including duty free shopping and a local convenience store where we were able to buy bottled water to keep in the fridge ( the local water is completely safe to drink but tap water is rather warm).
Would I return again? Oh, yes please!!!

Room Tip: Make your needs clear in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilingham, Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When I booked the Almond Beach Club and Spa for our recent holiday to Barbados, I was so excited and couldn’t imagine there might be places there that would have bad reviews – after all, several of my friends had been and loved it so much, they kept going back year after year. Imagine my surprise then when I checked out the reviews of the Almond Beach Club in July/August to find some very disturbing reviews and the news that it was up for sale. It was a holiday to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary so I wanted everything to be perfect.

We heard from BA about 8 weeks before we were due to travel that the hotel had been bought by Elite Island Resorts so we were then a little worried that it might be closed for renovation but we didn’t hear anything. I therefore felt it best not to worry and trust in the fact that it was booked and we would have a good time. About a week before we were due to travel, I decided to check the reviews and and I was very pleasantly surprised by what people had written about the hotel since its purchase by EIR and somewhat reassured. The hotel had changed its name and was now called The Club, Barbados.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by warm and friendly staff in the Reception and promptly escorted to our room. The porter followed about 10 minutes later with our luggage. We had booked a deluxe ocean view room and we were not disappointed – it was a lovely view and very peaceful. The room was well appointed with everything you could need for your holiday – plenty of space, a comfortable bed, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and air conditioning.

We spent 10 days at The Club, Barbados and it was superb. I cannot fault anything there – it was wonderful and we can’t wait to go back. The staff were first class, polite and helpful (and almost without exception remembered your name), the food in the restaurants was superb, the drinks plentiful and varied and the location fantastic. The pool area is very nice and although there is no “beach” as such, there is a nice sandy area full of sun beds and steps leading down into the sea; there are also some tables and chairs and a beach bar here. A 5 minute walk along the beachfront in either direction will take you onto long stretches of sand if this is what you like. This all suited us perfectly – there was no blaring music around the pool and reps trying to get you to play water polo – it was heaven – we just chilled out, read, listened to our ipods, dozed, swam or took advantage of the free water sports.

Now if you wanted to, you could pick fault with some things but they were not things which interfered with us enjoying our holiday. The hotel was being renovated whilst we were there but we hardly noticed it going on. Staff were working their way through each of the rooms and doing anything needed to update them – painting the interiors of rooms, exteriors of buildings, replacing room TVs with flat screen models and replacing all the sun beds to name a few. EIR are working through the renovations at some pace and it shows.

We chose to renew our wedding vows whilst at The Club and it was perfect. Paulette, the Weddings Co-ordinator, handled everything superbly and without being intrusive in any way, particularly as she knew how nervous I was about it. We met with the Minister, she booked the photographer and she laid on the whole event in minute detail. The hotel did it all, including giving us a cake, champagne and flowers. It was very memorable for us.

If you read these reviews and are wondering about it, think about what you want from a holiday. If you are looking for peace in lovely surroundings with lovely people and superb food and drink, this is the place for you, but if you want the hotel to look like it’s just been built with no signs of wear and tear, blaring music, rooms straight out of a designer catalogue and impersonal staff, then steer clear. The staff really are the magic behind this place :)

We normally pick quite a well known and large hotel group in the Caribbean for our holidays but just cannot wait to get back to The Club with its friendly and welcoming charm. Well done to Elite Island Resorts for rescuing Almond Beach Club and Spa and bringing it back to where it should be ... a jewel in the Barbados crown. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade - total peace with nothing but the sound of the waves and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Excellent hotel on the highly desirable west coast of the island, with owners on hand to make sure everything runs smoothly. Friendly and helpful staff, some of whom had been there for 20 years, and beautiful pools to sit by. Highly recommended.. Not full when we were there so it all seemed very spacious and relaxed. didn't have time to go to spa, but all the locals say has an excellent reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach | West Coast, Barbados, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.