We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of the older generation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waves to your Saves list
Waves
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Full of the older generation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Hotel is full of english people, who lets face it (although I'm english) aren't very friendly. There is absolutely no atmosphere at this hotel day or night, and most of the guests are 40-70 year olds - so to advertise this as a honeymoon hotel is a bit of a joke. The decoration is lovely, however it has no caribbean feel to the hotel (at all). Fair enough you can say that the hotel had teething problems, but when you are paying those kinds of prices it shouldn't, for example, our balcony wasn't finished (majorly unsafe), we had no electric in our room downstairs, there was no kettle / iron or mirrors in the room, the electric went off in the hotel everyday as it was being powered by 2 large generators outside the front of the hotel. Also the pool area absolutely stank of poo! The area in which this hotel is located isn't near to anything, if you want some night life or hustle and bustle you need to stay at the Gap. We got married a week earlier in St.Lucia and it was amazing, i am not sure whereabouts there would be to get married at this hotel, and I am so glad we didn't. If you aged between 20-30, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    326
    136
    70
    55
See reviews for
145
719
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This is the worst hotel I’ve had the misfortune of staying in! The spa side is like a building site with workmen hammering away and wondering around; to get to this side of the hotel you have to cross a busy road which was quite dangerous at night when going to the Garden restaurant as it was very dark.
The service in the restaurant was non existent and the food quality poor and lacking in choice, there were also lots of birds flying around the Seascape restaurant and we found that a lot of the sun loungers had bird excrement on them which was never cleaned. We experienced a power cut when were trying to get ready in the evening and the room was pitch black, when I went to reception to find out how long it would be before we had power I was told “well it won’t ruin your holiday so what’s the problem”. The beach isn’t finished, its tiny with an insufficient sunbathing area, all loungers were reserved before breakfast. We traveled around the island on a trip where we saw tons of beautiful beaches (Waves was the worst one).
The room was OK – we had a deluxe ocean front room, but the mini bar wasn’t stocked during our stay, there was no IPOD Dock and pillow menu (as stated in the brochure), there also wasn’t an alarm clock, draws or dressing table, no table on the balcony and the DVD library was chargeable.

I also noticed there were no ramps for disabled access and there were lots of steps/staircases around the hotel.

The bar on the decking area near the beach was never open neither was the after hours bar, we never saw the sparkling wine menu which was mentioned in the Virgin brochure and there was no Malibu for our entire stay, so most of the cocktails I like were unavailable.

We actually saw people leaving to go to other hotels while we were there and wished we had followed suit, especially after seeing some of the other hotels on the island whilst collecting people on the trip we went on. I would definitely return to Barbados – but not to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Friendly from the outset, the hotel staff were fantastic and more than made up for the few teething problems we experienced. Reception, housekeeping, restaurant & beach staff were helpful and looked after us well.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable with everything new, memory foam beds and nice furnishings and fittings and efficient air conditioning that you can control.
The location was great for us, good bus service into Bridgetown & to the North but even better the walks along the beach towards Holetown and Speightstown which were stunning.
Snorkelling off the hotel we saw a good range of sea life (as much as we saw on a paid charter). The hotel catamaran trip was excellent and better than the one we paid for with our operator. We made the most of the kayaking, bodyboards and sailing the hotel has to offer.
The spa treatments were good and the hot stone therapy excellent.
The entertainment was good and the highlight was 'Mannequins in Motion' drag act.
The food and choice of restaurants was great. I would advise getting in early with eating times if you have children as you are restricted from the Garden restaurant, although we were always accommodated.
Overall, the location, size of hotel (not a massive sprawling complex) and the wonderful staff made our trip. Treat others well you will be rewarded ten fold in return. We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Refurbished and name change from escape to waves. Hotel very clean and modestly decorated. Very comfy rooms. Lacking the niceties due to loss of goods in 'sunken ship'.
three restaurants but food very poor in the evenings. Take no notice of the so-called Jamaican chef, he is a young English Jamaican fro Bath UK. Eat breakfast and lunch, skip dinner and go out. Entertainment is very poor, apart from an hour of good cabaret by mannequins in motion (3 tall guys in high heals) they were fab and apparently perform there always. Otherwise, you'll be bored stiff, so get on a bus right outside and go into Holetown to the Piano Bar for fun and sing along with a good mix of locals and tourists.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at the Waves for 10 days in April. The staff working there are exceptionally friendly and the location is great. Although when we do go back we would prefer to stay somewhere in Holetown, there just seemed more to see and do. The waves is only 10 minutes away by car though! The beach is quite small but you can choose to stay by the pool is the spa area which is very relaxing. We really enjoyed the food and loved the buffet selection at lunch. We were dissapointed to find that work was still continuing even though Virgin wrote to us before we left to say the refurbishment was finished. This was not the case and we happened to be staying next to a room where drilling, hammering and sawing was taken place the entire time. Not quite as relaxing as we would have liked! We wouldn't stay in the Hotel again as we feel there are better in Barbados but the time we spent there we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Have just got back from a week at the waves. It was my fist time in Barbados and found the hotel to be excellent. It is in excellent condition and the staff are very polite and helpful at all times. My wife and I had penthouse room facing the island. The balcony facing the road was a bit noisy for a lot of the day but the room also includes a sperate room with a sofa and fridge, which was definitely worth paying the money for. The air conditioning unit in the rooms was very good and there were free drinks in the fridge. The pool is not massive but is quite relaxing and great alternative to the sea. There is a pool in the Spa you can use but we never did.

We went on the safari trip which was very good and the drivers are very entertaining. I also recommend the free catameran trip to see the Turtles. That goes at 2pm and 4pm on certain days. The only negative thing about this hotel was they played a lot of Celine Dion repeatedly in the lounge but I did feed this back to them so hopefully this will be less of a problem.

There are a lot of Mosquitoes so bring lots of repellent with you. They provide beach towels for you and wash them every day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were very anxious prior to going due to some of the reviews we had read, but were pleasantly surpised.
The staff could not have been more helpful and very friendly and the room we had was fantastic ,massive bedroom , dressing room and beautiful bathroom .
The food although was of a good standard , was very repetative.
One thing that did spoil my holiday was that we had lots of mosquitos and I was bitten very badly and ended up on antibitotics, lots of people were complaining of being bitten so do take sprays with you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves

Address: Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, full service all-inclusive beach-front resort where no effort is spared to deliver whatever our guests want. Exquisite spa, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, complimentary daily leisure activities, entertainment schedule and complimentary afternoon tea service. Adult-only section,sunset cocktail bar. Helpful, friendly staff. An unforgettable experience awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Saint James
Escape At Prospect Bay Hotel
Escape Hotel Spa Barbados
Waves Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.