We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waves to your Saves list
Waves
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Well if you are looking for the perfect all inclusive getaway in Barbados, this is not the place.
The resort has two buildings, one beach front and one cross the street with its own pool.
The main building (beachfront) has also a small secluded pool.
The hotels has no pool bars or beach cabanas bars.
You need to make your way up the stairs to the main lobby to order your drinks
Staff do come down to the beach with a tray full of pre-made drinks...
The staff is not the friendliest, odd since Bajan people are very friendly.
Restaurant wise the complex has three restaurants. The Rosso Vivo (Italian fusion), The East (Asian fusion) and the Seascape where the daily buffet breakfast is served...which in my opinion has the best dinners since they offer more local cuisine as well as fish.
Avoid The East, the portions are small, very small and taste wise...mmmmm not the best. They try hard to serve Asian dishes also with sushi rolls...well I did not travel all the way from Canada to Barbados to have sushi, we have better sushi places at home.
Other than that is not too bad but definitely I won't return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    327
    136
    70
    55
See reviews for
145
722
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon and had the time of our lives. We had no complaints with food, drinks, service or cleanliness. We paid for the oceanfront view and wasn't disappointed! It really is paradise! Plenty of sunbed availability which meant not getting up early to reserve one. Lovely clean beach. After reading previous reviews we can't understand what people have to complain about?? Why would you need to eat more than the 3 meals and the high tea? There was no more than 3 hours between meals and there was no restriction on how much you ate! My husband is a fussy eater and there was plenty for him to choose from!! Hot water was plentiful, air con wasn't the best but was certainly adequate. You are told if you have any problems to speak with staff. To say the hotel was on a road - did you read the brochure? It clearly states the spa is across the road!! Some folk are just born to complain!! Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Waves in March 2013 (my 3rd visit to Barbados, 1st to the Waves). Please do not believe the stupid negative reviews on this site. People who go back every year and moan - why dont they go somewhere else!!!! We had no problems with power, hot water, clean glasses, sunbeds or anything. I contacted the owner before we trvelled because I was concerned about a few bad reviews. She put mind my at ease and everything she said was true.

Also, people complaining because they didnt have an ocean view - brochures and web sites clearly state that you need to book an ocean view room if you want one. If you dont want to pay to get one, then dont expect to be upgraded to an ocean view for free when you get there!

Having difficulty knowing where to start because everything about the trip was brilliant from start to finish. My wife and I (along with 5 family members) had the most amazing wedding we could have wished for at the Waves. The staff all went out of their way to make sure everything went smoothly, with the owners personally on hand to ensure we had a brilliant day getting married on the boardwalk overlooking the sea. The wedding co-ordinator was on the ball and got everything exactly as we asked.

The ocean view rooms were very nice and the views spectacular! Clean with comfy big beds and large balconies. What more could you want.

3 restaurants which all served food of a high standard. Good selection in each and nice variation between them with Asian, Italian and caribbean. The menus changed so we never got bored and looked forward to every meal.

We enjoyed spending time at both pools as well as the beach. There is something for everyone. The small pool was nice and quiet - almost like having a private pool.

Free spa treatments offered were an added bonus to help the relaxation.

The location was perfect for what we wanted with bars in holetown just a short bus or taxi journey away and Bridgetown fairly close as well.

Dont want to go on too much but to summarise all 7 of us were really pleased we chose the waves and would like to thank all the staff for making our wedding, honeymoon and holiday amazing!

Great hotel, good location, good food and nice people.

My wife and I will definitely be going back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Definietely book an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Have just returned from a week's holiday at Waves, we were worried about the reviews, however we had a lovely holiday. We had a fantastic ocean view room, food was good, lots of choice although a bit repetitive. Beach was beautiful, staff were mainly very helpful, catamaran trip is a must.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here at the back end of last year and have nothing but good things to say about the place. The food was amazing. I personally preferred the restaurant on the spa side of the hotel (30yrds) over the road. The room was great. If you can, I would strongly advise the ocean view rooms. Wonderful views of the ocean and any star gazers will be thankful of the extra sky space on the balcony.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just returned from the Waves, where we had the most amazing wedding! We were a little off put by the bad reviews and were worrying about it, but believe me the worries were unfounded. I think people who whinge about the standards in the hotel have nothing better to do!
Food- well we had sushi several times for lunch as a starter, something I have never had at an all inclusive before. There was always fresh fish, a wonderful selection of salads.
No fresh fruit at breakfast?? Erm, Apples, bananas, orange, grapefruit, melon...oh and tinned too, for those of us who actually like tinned fruit! Choice is good! Any type of egg you would like, pastries, cheeses, ham, always a cooked breakfast too as well as cereals.
Restaurants- East- seems to be most people's favourite, but we found it to be quite dark and formal, good food though.
Seascape- our favourite, light and airy, overlooking the sea..perfect.
Rosso Vivo- never tried it, so can't comment- but offered Italian food as well as steaks.
Drinks- plentiful and a wide selection. Champagne and cocktails on demand too, yummy!
Beach- perfect, not too big but enough room for everyone, didn't need to fight for loungers or umbrellas. There is a lovely walk along the beach to the right of the hotel that takes you right up to the famous Cliff Restaurant. To the left, if you go up the road there is a sign to Batts Rock Beach. If you go along this path you can walk all the way to Bridgetown on the beach, there is a hot pool outside of the rum factory, which is lovely. It's about half an hour walk, so take water/ money if you try it.
Rooms- we had a duplex ocean view apartment which was fab. It had a bedroom and bathroom downstairs and a living room with balcony on the second floor. There was a fridge and kettle and a mini bar that was free! No complaints at all.
Staff- most of them go out of their way to help you. We didn't have an adaptor- we were given one by reception. We asked where we could buy batteries for our camera- the receptionist gave us some and said if they didn't work, that she would go out and buy us some! Unbelievable.
We have to mention Rochelle- our wedding co-ordinator- fabulous! Totally made our day special. Also, Olivia and Adrian behind the bar- such good fun! Hopefully we will be friends for a long time to come. Have also to mention Julianna, the room cleaner and Christine our lovely waitress and Rhia in the Spa.
All in all we had a wonderful time here, due mostly to the amazing staff! We will be back!
Don't let the bad reviews put you off, your holiday is what you make of it. x

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room or for peace, a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my third time in the last 10 years that I have been to Waves (formerly Escape). It was lovely to see lots of the staff are still there and the hotel is now even better and the layout through reception works well and keeps the hotel lounge cool.

As mentioned in previous reviews there are three restaurants, East was my favourite although I believe that the food and menu in Rosso Vivo has much improved since our last visit.

All I can think was that the previous reviewer was really unlucky. Our room was clean and tidy, the staff were in regularly, ensuring that the beds are immaculately made and fresh towels were on hand when needed. Juliana was lovely too.

The new exchange of beach towels at watersports worked fine too. Ray was really fantastic taking us out on the Catamaran more than once and he always went the extra mile to ensure that we had sunbeds and umbrellas when we needed them. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

The Restaurant and Bar staff were chatty and friendly and made us feel very welcome. All in all it was a great holiday and I can't wait to save up and return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbadosJax, Guest Relations Manager at Waves, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We'll be waiting for you, rum punch in hand !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves

Address: Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, full service all-inclusive beach-front resort where no effort is spared to deliver whatever our guests want. Exquisite spa, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, complimentary daily leisure activities, entertainment schedule and complimentary afternoon tea service. Adult-only section,sunset cocktail bar. Helpful, friendly staff. An unforgettable experience awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Saint James
Escape At Prospect Bay Hotel
Escape Hotel Spa Barbados
Waves Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.