We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and very bad points about this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waves to your Saves list
Waves
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Very good and very bad points about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've been mulling over the experience of staying at Waves for the past few days. Some things are simply infuriating. Some things are quite good. I'll attempt to cover these with pros and cons:

Cons:

1. Virgin Holidays: Since this resort is almost exclusively Virgin, you have to deal with the useless Barbados reps who, over the years, have CONSISTENTLY proven they don't care. I would not book any excursions with them nor engage with them at all in future, ensuring a much more pleasing holiday. Keep your interactions with them to a minimum and you'll be ok.

2. Management: Unlike the staff, they are useless. Examples include refusing to provide information during a 5 hour power cut -until we managed to assemble a group of disgruntled guests, at which point they told us absolutely nothing of value. Relying on a generator for power is fine, but not having a backup generator is plainly idiotic. As for new year's eve, instead of running the restaurant as usual, they decided to feed everyone at the same time. We waited two hours then left. Moronic.

3. Drinks: The rum and other spirits are either very weak brands (does anyone do a 25% rum?) or they are watered down. It's immediately apparent when you visit another bar and experience a full-fat drink.

4. Food: Limited choice and a quality that is only just edible. If you plan only to take a light breakfast and then a spot of lunch at Waves, and then take your main meal elsewhere, you'll be fine.

5. The pool: Pointless. It's in a courtyard and all you can hear is the road.

Pros:

1. The staff: They are quite nice, polite and helpful.

2. Location: Difficult to beat. Right on the beach.

3. Rooms: Are of ok/good quality for the price. Pay extra for Ocean View unless you want to listen to road. We had a duplex room which was great.

4. Price: All things considered, you need to pay about 50% more in Barbados to get any better. There are other similarly priced places (like the Club) that are about the same, but don't have the beach space.

5. Beds: These appear to be memory foam and are very comfortable.


Overall:

This place will continue to do well, despite the lacklustre food, weak drinks and the poor management. This is purely because of a LACK OF CHOICE at this price point. Go any lower, and you'll risk a place far from the beach, or minimal facilities, or just plain ghastly.

If they could simply sort out the basics, then this would be "Excellent" rather than "Average":

1. Provision of utilities: Power is important.
2. Management: Communicate with your customers, do not ignore them.
3. Do something about the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    327
    136
    70
    55
See reviews for
145
722
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
southend
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Waves, do yourself a favour and wave this one a BIG goodbye! I have had a holiday nightmare this hotel is a disgrace!! It is dirty, unhealthy, electrically unsafe and the food was inedible! The location is nowhere near anything other than Cin Cin which is a great restaurant. We were put in a room in the 'Spa'area this was across an unmade road (no pavements) through a car park!
I cannot express enough about the food which was not fresh, refrigerated, heated adequately and an abundance of flies! There were 4 couples 'checked out' and one case of food poisoning which we saw live from East which was a lobster burger!
I arrived 28th Dec and left 4th Jan 2013.
Give this hotel a Wave goodbye rather than hello, how this won hotel of the year 2012 I have no idea!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 3rd visit too this hotel in the last 10 years. Sadly it has gone downhill and we won't be returning.

I dont believe it is the staff, I believe it is the economy and cutbacks which have caused the problems and unhappy staff.

A real shame as the hotel is in a great location to get out and about and enjoy the island.

I have to agree with other reviews that the standard of hygiene needs a lot too be desired like rinsing glasses with cold water and nothing else. Even after the housekeepers had been in it was difficult too see where they had cleaned. Also a very stong smell of sewage in the bathroom. I bought an air freshener from the supermarket but it did not really get rid of the smell.

Food was of poor quality and very tight portions. Never been to an inclusive where they limit the slices of ham on xmas day 2 one small slice per person.

Lack of staff in the bar in the evening and it was virtually self service in the restaurants for drinks with only half a glass of wine supplied at a time.

Pools were filthy only saw one couple in the pool in 2 weeks.

Husband got stuck in the lift then it was out of action for 4 days.

5 hour powercut on the last evening no help or apolog Nothing wrong with the power except the hotel was too tight or too lazy to replenish the diesel to power the electricity, says it all.

On the plus side the sparking wine was good and the view from our balcony was fantastic.

As the hotel was not great we did get out and about more and visited the boatyard which was a greaat day out and various other beaches and restaurants.Love barbados and think I would go self catering in future as the majority of people outside the hotel were so friendly and helpful. Can not wait too go back to Barbados.

They need to sort themselves out otherwise I fear they wont survive like this, so sad as 10 years ago at Xmas it was outstanding in every aspect.

Lets hope they read these reviews and act before it is too late.

Room Tip: go for a seaview it is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon at waves and have already looked into booking our return visit to Waves!
We arrived on Christmas Eve to helpful staff who took our bags to the lobby and welcomed us with rum punch. We were then taken to our room and informed of all the important information. Our bags were then brought up to the room by a member staff which was really great!
We had a lovely time at waves the staff were always really helpful. Especially the bar staff who were great at suggesting drinks.
Breakfast at the hotel is served as a buffet which was great as you could have as little or as much as you wanted. There was a fresh egg station where you could ask the chef to cook your eggs however you wanted them, including ommelette (this might mean there is a bit of a queue however, surely people would rather to have fresh food which is cooked in front of you while you wait).
Lunch is also served as a buffet again we felt this was great with a lot of choice, with things such as beef stews, rice, pasts, salads, chicked, fried fish. Most days as well there was a pasta station where you could chose your pasta sauce and what things you would like in it (all cooked fresh in front of you again!!)
Evening meals were waitor service which was lovely, we spoke to a number of other guests who had previously stayed at other all inclusive hotels in Barabdos who stated that these hotels would still only be buffet in the evening. The food in all restraunts was a lovely, we would inparticular we would recommend eating at f'east restarunt.
The beach was beautiful and it was great to have watersports at your finger tips! The pool was also lovely, a relaxing area which was quiet and never seemed to have many people at it so if you wanted to relax it was great!
The spa treatments are a must, the ladies at the spa are always helpful, and could recommend different treatments. It was brilliant and relaxing!!
Overall we had a wonderful time! Relaxing, charming, good food, clean rooms and friendly staff! Maybe its not as smart as some other hotels on the Island but if it's this you are after you are looking at paying double or triple. Waves is perfect for the money and we would recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: If you can book a seafront room, the view is worth the cost!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a great Xmas at the waves hotel, great room, beautiful sea view!, nice food, brill staff, love the island, made you feel very welcome,it was our 12th visit, seen a lot of changes over the years but all for the better x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from 14 days at this resort, we had read the poor reviews all year and I had contacted Virgin the week before we left to seek reassurance and they said no problems we would not be sending people if it was bad. Well Virgin have just lost two long standing customers. We were sold down the line on this holiday. Beach is so small that you could hardly find a space, only 16 umbrellas for the whole beach area. Sunbeds old and diirty, beach dirty.
Pools both unusable. No toilets within easy reach of the beach, no beach bar or grill. The place mats and tables in the dining room dirty and all tables wobbled. The tea pots were dirty. On two occasions food ran out at lunch time, no-one managing the Buffet. We were told the only rooms available when we booked early January 2012 were Island View Duplex. A total joke. We were there for 2 weeks and everyone that came for 1 week had a seaview room. Some had only booded a few weeks previously, We had very little sleep for 13 nights the traffic noise was horrendous. Island View, a joke, very busy main road, we could not use the balcony. Christmas Dinner. no decorations, no Christmas Crackers, no Christmas Napkins. Our decanter of Rum was not replenished when we enquired we were told that the Rum had not been delivered!!!! that day. The staff were good apart from Reception Staff, who always sat behind the desk, never ever stood up to speak to the guests. A very dissapointing Holiday. No joke when we had worked so hard to save for it. The people that return each year obviously don't know any better, So bye bye Virgin we will going elsewhere for our holiday booking s in future.

Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated on a gorgeous beach within a short bus journey of Holetown. Our room looked out over the beach and waking up to the view every morning was a joy. There are a few issues with the hotel and if you go expecting 5 star luxury you will be disappointed - it could do with a lick of paint here and there and the food is as you would expect from an all inclusive, but overall the staff are very friendly, the rooms (at least ours) are spacious and clean and the bar offers a brilliant rum punch - what more could you want? During our stay we went to Oistins which is an absolute must - go and see 'Sam the Man' on the beach - he is a real star and organises trips there every Friday and makes sure you eat at the best stall (delicious and the best food we ate on the island) and make the most of the night. His Jet Ski is great fun too! The Spa is also great - the girls in there are lovely and give great massages!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a deluxe ocean front room - well worth it to wake up to the view of the Caribbean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves

Address: Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, full service all-inclusive beach-front resort where no effort is spared to deliver whatever our guests want. Exquisite spa, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, complimentary daily leisure activities, entertainment schedule and complimentary afternoon tea service. Adult-only section,sunset cocktail bar. Helpful, friendly staff. An unforgettable experience awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Saint James
Escape At Prospect Bay Hotel
Escape Hotel Spa Barbados
Waves Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.