We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waves Barbados” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waves to your Saves list
Waves
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Waves Barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Waves from the 17th to 24th November 2012 celebrating our 50th birthdays, we were a party of 8 women. We had a fantastic holiday and we stayed over the road in the island complex which was lovely and quiet except for the treefrogs at night who sang from dust to dawn. It was lovely waking up and getting straight into the pool before breakfast. The hotel is slightly faded and the service is slow, but relax and go with the flow "not a problem". The accommodation is clean and absolutely fine, beach towels are in short supply so take your own, the food is excellent all 3 restaurants were great, we particulaalry liked the Thai. The beach is gorgeous and the water warm, what more could you want. The women in the Spa were great fun. The evening entertainment wasn't very good, so hop on the reggae bus and go to Holetown, great bars up there. We paid £1300 each and felt that this hotel was value for money just a little faded.

Room Tip: Sea view if you can afford it then I would chose Island room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    326
    136
    70
    55
See reviews for
145
719
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

19 th november 2012.We have just returned from a very dissopointing holiday at The Waves hotel. After visiting other carribian islands this was the pits. staff were very unfriendly and its certainly not as advertised in the brochure. The beach dissapears when the tied comes in . The hotel is seperated by a very busy and dangerous road. The rooms are very basic and the laundry leaves a lot to be desired. As for the decking it is a very dangerous place water stays under the decking and becomes stagnent hence breeding of mosquitoes. Bar service is very poor. We came to the waves hotel for my daughters wedding the areas offered were not appropriate for this special occasion and we were distraught.Luck was with us when we changed hotels and got the star treatment that we should have recieved from waves. This ceartainly was not a cheap holiday and not what we expected.

Room Tip: in our opinion get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Do not be fooled by pictures from brochures or reviews very disappointed with hotel very untidy pool was dirty, wish we could have moved but was 100% cancelation fee could not afford too pay£1800 to move. NEEDS A MAKEOVER!!! if you want real pictures can email them nmacars22@hotmail.co.uk.

Room Tip: Room ok get a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Barbados is a VERY attractive vacation destination! The island is stunning, the flora and fauna make you feel like you are in Paradise.
Alas...
We had stayed at Waves for one week and enjoyed our stay mostly because we didn't pay so much attention to poor service and the attitude of the hotel staff.

Despite of all positive reviews regarding the friendliness and kindness of the hotel staff on the Wave's website, we got very disappointed as soon as we arrived. Just a few servants were smiley and friendly but the majority of the personnel behaved like we were unwelcome guests.
Perhaps, we got very spoiled by excellent service and friendly attitude in Mexico, Cuba, Dominica Republic.. and other places we stayed at.
So to say, the bad experience is also counted in other to plan your vacation in future.
And we didn't ask for something extraordinary: just a few smiles and less attitude if we need some help would be very appreciated.
On the other hand, the room and the beach were excellent and clean. We liked Ray and Sam, Kelly and Sandra very much. They are just simply good people with nice personalities and professionalism.

RE: Food was acceptable and with a good quality excluding one evening we went to the East restaurant and got a smelly fish for dinner.
Will we come again to Barbados? Probably yes but we will try to stay at another hotel if the manager of the Waves won't train her people in terms of hospitality.
Do we feel bad after all because of the service? Definitely not, but we try to post our honest opinion to improve the place we stayed at.
We wish all the best to Barbadians and their beautiful country which celebrated it's Independence last month.

Room Tip: We had no problem with a room which faced the Spa side. It was quiet at night but if you like to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are a good standard and the duplex are useful. Fridge and bar in room not really used.
The reception area and lounge as well as the dining area are all one great big room and very tatty.
The public areas need considerable refurbishment. The main bar dispenses drinks from unfiendly staff In plastic glasses and no frills ( slice of lemon etc for mixers) but in the evening out come the proper glasses. There is no air conditioning in e public areas and at times it was unbearably hot. The beach is tiny when the tide comes in and loungers and shade then become a premium. If you arrive on an early flight then you cannot get into the room until 3 pm and when checking out for a late flight you are checked out of room at 12 noon. We tried to extend but were met with a poker faced NO from the desk clerk. Wi fi only in lobby. Not in rooms. Hotel pool disgraceful. There is a spa annexe across a busy rod where the pool is better and the garden setting pretty but the pool water was murky. Food was adequate for a fully inclusive. Breakfast a good transport cafe standard and lunch and dinner adequate but no more than a chef and brewer type standard. I think the publicity put out on their own website is misleading and the description by Virgin through whom we booked is a long way from accurate. Location is not quite West coast more just Northeof the port! We would not recommend this hotel due to the fact having stayed at others on the island you can get much better quality and much more friendly staff....it is after all Barbados!

Room Tip: Book a penthouse duplex facing the ocean or my advice go further north and book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Myself and my husband have just returned from a weeks stay at the Waves resort celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and had a fantastic week. First impressions when you draw up to the hotel is that it looks very clinical and uninteresting but dont be fooled when you go down the steps into the hotel it is anything but, the reception staff are very friendly and welcoming handing us a welcoming drink of rum punch and there are lots of comfy sofas to sit on.
You can see the view of the sea immediately which is stunning. A porter carried our bags to our room which we had upgraded to a superior oceanfront on the 2nd floor and it was stunning. The room was massive and the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in, and there were a couple of sofas at the balcony end and a seperate dressing area. The bathroom had a walk in shower and was very modern but the main feature was the view (absolutely stunning).
Be warned if you book a room on the spa side of the hotel you will not have a sea view so it is well worth the upgrade.
Food was lovely, there are 3 reataurants the main being seascape that served breakfast every day and lunches and dinner (on most days) A lacarte in the evening and we never had a bad meal. Vivo Rosso was the italian and again food was very good in my opinion.The best restarant was east (on the spa side) which served mainly fusion cuisine but did have other alternatives and was absolutely delicious (this was also open some lunchtimes)
Beach was small but you could always get a sunbed and had free watersports (snorkalling, canoeing, windsurfing and the hobie that a member of staff (Ray) would take you out on.
Catamaran trip to snorkel with the turtles was included as was 2 free spa treatments which myself and my husband had massages which were very relaxing.
I've noticed in previous reviews people have moaned about facilities for young children and true this is not a resort for young families as there is not enough for them to do but on saying that it quite clearly stipulates in the brochure that there are adult only areas so this hotel is catered mainly for couples only in my opinion(not fair to downgrade hotel because of this you need to do your homework before booking)
Staff we always found to be very helpful and polite in particular a lady called Sandra who was lovely and worked in the restaurants.
Entertainment in the evening was adequate, mainly bands and singers and yes it does finish earlyish 10.30 to 11.00. If its nightlife you're after i believe the southside of the island has all the clubs!
All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, the only downside is you have to cross a very busy road to get to the spa area and they could make the hotel look more inviting on the outside. this is a good value holiday when you compare the prices of some of the other hotels on the west coast but my main tip is definatey upgrade to superior oceanfront room its well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here from the 16th-21st of November and it was amazing – cannot say enough positive things about this trip. The resort was very clean and well kept…and very beautiful. The beach was gorgeous, staff were amazing and very helpful if we needed anything. The staff all work very hard and were so friendly!

Went with one other friend for the week and we have both been to other Caribbean islands and this was by far the best experience we both have had. We relaxed on the beach and by the pool a few days and took a trip on a catamaran to swim with sea turtles and snorkel - we would highly recommend the Good Times Catamaran Cruises - Barbados http://www.goodtimesbarbados.com/cms/index.php/en/ . Crew were so great and the day was amazing!

We also took the local Reggae bus and went into Bridgetown to explore and would go back in an instant. Would highly recommend this island and the Waves resort without a doubt!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves

Address: Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, full service all-inclusive beach-front resort where no effort is spared to deliver whatever our guests want. Exquisite spa, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, complimentary daily leisure activities, entertainment schedule and complimentary afternoon tea service. Adult-only section,sunset cocktail bar. Helpful, friendly staff. An unforgettable experience awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Saint James
Escape At Prospect Bay Hotel
Escape Hotel Spa Barbados
Waves Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.