We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves

Save Saved
You added Waves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waves
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Saint James Parish
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

best hotel that i have stayed in for a while, small but with a lovely family feel . the staff go out of their way to do everything they can for you. food is yummy and varied, spa treatments a real luxury. Read other reports about unfriendly staff- well all i can say is rubbish maybe the people that wrote the comments were too busy complaining to smile and be friendly with the staff. they were lovely right from maintenance man up to manager.nothing was too much trouble. You make the effort to smile and relax and you will enjoy your holiday so much more. We had a great time and will be back next year without fail. already arranged to text one of the staff so that she can get day off to take us to a beach party now does that sound unfriendly??


df

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and spacious island view gives you a view of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    257
    109
    52
    46
See reviews for
122
596
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just back from a 10 day trip and having read all the reviews beforehand we had our eyes wide open prior to arrival and didn't expect it to be all singing all dancing but a number of it's selling points appealed to us greatly. The hotel, like many on the island is small and offers a great deal for couples or singles who wish to relax, enjoy good food and have the ability to use Waves as a base. The major issue with the place isn't the size of the Hotel, the road the seperates the accommodation etc - It's the staff - Functional is the best way to describe the majority or rude and uninterested in service another. Management are completely hopeless at doing their job of managing and very rarely will you see them being associated with anything other than complaints and it s a real shame. Should they take customer service and satisfaction really seriously, then they could have a real golden nugget on their hands but carry on with their chosen path and they will remain to hold onto a dead weight. The excellent parts; Food 9/10 with 'fEast' as a real gem. Entertainment (on a fantastic 2 weekly rota apart from the rubbish managers cocktail bbq) 8.5/10 Adult only swim area (not a hotel for kids anyway) Certain members of staff (5 or 6 of them) The 'Watersports Team' are only interested in selling you 'additional services rather than having people interested in the actual watersports they are there for and don't even think about using the Hobi no matter your vast experience as you need to book a day in advance and require someone with you - WHY? The rest of the issues are very similar to smaller 'non-Sandals type' locations in the Caribbean in the state of disrepair (a bit or a harsh statement), the local spirits only etc But really this place offers so much if only you had interested and helpful staff who were actually interested in the people who pay good money to keep them in a job - A real shame! Many thanks to Kenny and the team at the main Bar, Cheryl for her morning Egg Station and afternoon grill, Cherlyanne and the wonderful Jennifer (Jenny) who could teach everyone about customer service and all the housekeeping and maintenance staff who never passed without at least a 'Hello'.

Room Tip: No need to pay for the duplex it's really not worth it. Pool view is exactly that in the area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked Waves a few weeks before travelling and were excited and had fair expectations when reading some of the reviews. The room was good, cleanish apart from the cobwebs. we love sitting on the balcony however not at Waves as the AC unit is sited on the balcony and blows out very hot extract. The food was ok but far from good. Breakfast was poor apart from the egg station, not a good choice at all and a bonus if you have power as 3 mornings out of 9 there was power cuts in the breakfast buffet area in the end you had to laugh. The service was on another level altogether, if I was the manager my first task would be to get the staff to smile and at least look like they want to be there. It was terrible we had to get out after 4 nights and we did. The 2 stars are for the SPA which was great and the guys on the beach. Once out of the OAP home where smiles are hard to come by, Barbados is great. The Cliff restaurant a must, one of the best meals of my life and lives up to it's reputation. Oistins Friday night street food and fun was a great night out. We loved Barbados and met some like minded people who really helped make our holiday memorable. Barbados a must however if you are under 40 surf past Waves and stay 5 miles up the road as the west coast is amazing with so much to do. You can jump on the bus, shop, eat drink and see the real smiles of Barbados.

Room Tip: Sea view but beware of the AC units
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lots of positives but a few negatives. On the plus side, nice rooms, very comfortable bed and good housekeeping. Food was good although buffet a bit repetetive. Main bar is great with excellent evening entertainment. Overall staff are very friendly and helpful. Resort is small and people get to know each other quickly. Small beach area but great for swimming in the sea.

On the down side. A main road runs between the two buildings and it's often a crapshoot trying to cross.(One restaurant is on one side, two on the other) It's also not the greatest location but at least there's lots of buses to take you into town.The workmanship in the building isn't great. The elevator is stifling hot. No pool bars, No beach bar. From one pool you have to go through the lobby to get a drink at the main bar. No waiter service in the bar. Drinks were poor. Most resorts water down the drinks but Waves seems to take this to a new level. And the supposed "After-hours bar" was never manned. Internet service is horrendous.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back to Barbados, but not to this resort. Just too many niggling annoyances.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrival was painless.very freindly.we had an upgrade to the spa side,which for us was a good choice.we wanted a quiet week without children.make sure you book spa treatments and catamaran trip(all included) A.S.A.P.both very good experiences.overal resort good,no major problems.room cleaning was to a reasonable standard.comfortable and great quiet air con.
Ate at vivo rosso once.disappointing.flat atmosphere and food poor standard.other two restaurants very good.fEast had the nicest setting.portions small,but you CAN order two starters!Drinks good quality,nice cocktails and bottled banks beer.
The beach was lovely.you can walk all the way to the cliff restaurant.great beach service despite what others have said.OK entertainment at night,a bit mixed!most guest all enjoying a nice relaxed time.if you want a party go else where.if you have children dont bring them here.would recommend to others but we NEVER do the same place twice.....................

Room Tip: spa side rooms are quiet.no children allowed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is two buildings for this hotel. The main building is facing the ocean and the second one (with the spa, the biggest pool and the Asian restaurant) is on the other side of the street.

We chose the Spa room which was huge. The food was excellent - special mention to the Owner BBQ night- all 3 restaurant are good. The beach is beautiful too. All the staff and the locals are very friendly and willing to help. The water is safe to drink and the destination is very safe.

We reserved a Catamaran Trip offered by the hotel to swim with the turtles. It is was not worth it because there was no ambiance on the boat and it was really small. We encourage people to book a catamaran trip with their representative.

Overall, we really liked our stay, but we would not recommend to visit during high season as it is too expensive.

Room Tip: If you choose the Spa section, you must know that it is in a seperate building, not looking over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay! Right on the beach on the west coast, it has a small beach which is normally quiet (most I saw at one time was about 15). The staff are very friendly without being intrusive. Its close to Holetown and Bridgetown if you fancy getting out for a bit. Overall we had a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves

Address: Prospect Bay, BB23000, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, full service all-inclusive beach-front resort where no effort is spared to deliver whatever our guests want. Exquisite spa, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, complimentary daily leisure activities, entertainment schedule and complimentary afternoon tea service. Adult-only section,sunset cocktail bar. Helpful, friendly staff. An unforgettable experience awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Saint James
Escape At Prospect Bay Hotel
Escape Hotel Spa Barbados
Waves Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.