We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly chilled out at The House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

Save Saved
You added The House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The House
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Shoeburyness
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfectly chilled out at The House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staying at The House is like having your own residence in Barbados, with everybody only too willing and helpful to make your stay here a perfect experience. The staff are incredible and too many to name, but have all been wonderful. No request is ever too much trouble. A special mention must go to Agnes, Petra and Kerrie.

We would definitely recommend the half-board package, as this enables you to eat in Daphne's restaurant next door and having Marco Festini, the head chef cook for you is fabulous. Marco came over to The House yesterday evening and cooked in front of the guests on the outdoor terrace, a. 7-course Taster menu, which was just as excellent as The Cliff restaurant. It was a great experience to watch a master at work!

We have been very lucky to travel to some of the very best hotels and The House is certainly the Caribbean equivalent and we can't wait to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at The House, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MattBrittain,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of The House.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are truly delighted to know that you had a lovely stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting our staff, especially noting Agnes, Petra and Kerrie. We look forward very much to your return!

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
184
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I made a return visit to The House with a friend. I have been all over the world to the best beaches and resorts, and I have to say The House is my favorite place to be. The staff is just wonderful, and they make the stay so enjoyable. Jenn at the bar is so cheerful, and so is Diane. Chris is wonderful tending the bar at night, which means all night in this case because the bar is always open. Kerrie Turton is the face of welcoming happiness in the lobby and on the beach. He takes special care of each guest. He is good and genuine, and so interesting to talk to with his varied interest in both technology and gardening. Chris Foster is cheerful and helpful at all times as well. It's hard to mention all of the helpful staff at The House because every person there works to make the stay feel like home. The resort is beautiful, the food is wonderful, the beach is perfect, I really can't say enough good about the experience. I can't wait to go back next year. We've met friends at The House who return every year, and we're trying to arrange to return at the same time. I can't recommend The House highly enough.

Room Tip: Any ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Curacao, Dominica Republic, Mexico, Jamaica, & Key West. The House is beautiful, relaxing with incredible service. The staff anticipates your needs. They are eager to help plan your activities for the week by making reservations to restaurants & scheduling excursions. Kerrie was so amazing in making these plans for us. Agnes, Andrew, Christopher, Teddy, Kevin, Alana, and Wade were all fabulous!!!! This is the most incredible vacation ever!!!We will definitely return to The House!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is INCREDIBLE!!! We have traveled many places...from Riviera Maya to Jamaica to Dominican Republic to Key West, etc....The House is absolutely unbelievable ... The service is by far the best we have ever experienced!!! Kerrie has been amazing - booking incredible restaurants, fantastic tours, fabulous beach service, etc...anticipating our every need!!! Andrew, Teddy, Agnes, Christopher, Alana, Kevin, Wade....they are all FANTASTIC!!!!!
Our room is gorgeous-the beach is gorgeous-the food and drinks are SUPERB!!!
I have never felt compelled to write a review before now....that is just how much I am enamored with this place and the people who work here! The general mgr, Joanna, is visible and genuinely concerned about guests and their satisfaction!
I WILL MOST DEFINITELY RETURN TO THE HOUSE!!!! I will also recommend it to my family and friends!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The House is amazing! The Staff make this the most fantastic place to stay! We can't wait to return! There is only one place to stay on Barbados for us now and it's The House!! Need I say more! Unfortunately we go home tomorrow but we will be booking to come back soon!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The House is a truly fabulous place, great breakfasts and afternoon tea, super service and lovely treats during the day! You can eat breakfast right on the beach and stay there all day if you choose to! It was a magical spot to watch the sunset too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I just landed after a week in Barbados so this review is fresh off my head...Barbados is a lovely island and I'd absolutely recommend staying on the West Coast. A Sunset Cruise (especially one that includes diving with Sea Turtles) is really nice but you get that everyday at The House. Sunset cocktails and Canapés everynight from the open air lobby or your seafront room balcony. The beach is beautiful ( a bit rocky so bring your sea shoes) and an underwater coral formation makes swimming with really colorful very cool. Here's a summary of Pros and Cons...Pros: Service is remarkable...find Kerrie (actually he will find you) or Richard or Ricardo......all genuinely nice guys (Ambassadors) who absolutely make sure that you want for not. Food and Drink, really good. Daily. Tea Time and Daphne's Restaurant boarders the House and is not to be missed...the Rum Punch is lovely but remember there is Rum in that Punch :). Finally this is a boutique Hotel, just 34 rooms so with 68 guests maximum, you will really appreciate that special attention. Cons: It's a stretch but all of Barbados's beaches are public and that brings a decent amount of solicitors, but this isn't unique to The House. Finally, Barbados is a pricey island but it is beautiful, filled with friendly people and has great restaurants. If you can afford a more expensive Holiday ( i actually say vacation but after a week with the Brits it rubs off), I'd recommend it and specifically The House!

Room Tip: I'd take the Ocean View over the plunge pool. Sunsets are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados/Saint James Parish
Saint James The House
House Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;