We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The House to your Saves list
The House
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I made a return visit to The House with a friend. I have been all over the world to the best beaches and resorts, and I have to say The House is my favorite place to be. The staff is just wonderful, and they make the stay so enjoyable. Jenn at the bar is so cheerful, and so is Diane. Chris is wonderful tending the bar at night, which means all night in this case because the bar is always open. Kerrie Turton is the face of welcoming happiness in the lobby and on the beach. He takes special care of each guest. He is good and genuine, and so interesting to talk to with his varied interest in both technology and gardening. Chris Foster is cheerful and helpful at all times as well. It's hard to mention all of the helpful staff at The House because every person there works to make the stay feel like home. The resort is beautiful, the food is wonderful, the beach is perfect, I really can't say enough good about the experience. I can't wait to go back next year. We've met friends at The House who return every year, and we're trying to arrange to return at the same time. I can't recommend The House highly enough.

Room Tip: Any ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    38
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
278
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been to Curacao, Dominica Republic, Mexico, Jamaica, & Key West. The House is beautiful, relaxing with incredible service. The staff anticipates your needs. They are eager to help plan your activities for the week by making reservations to restaurants & scheduling excursions. Kerrie was so amazing in making these plans for us. Agnes, Andrew, Christopher, Teddy, Kevin, Alana, and Wade were all fabulous!!!! This is the most incredible vacation ever!!!We will definitely return to The House!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is INCREDIBLE!!! We have traveled many places...from Riviera Maya to Jamaica to Dominican Republic to Key West, etc....The House is absolutely unbelievable ... The service is by far the best we have ever experienced!!! Kerrie has been amazing - booking incredible restaurants, fantastic tours, fabulous beach service, etc...anticipating our every need!!! Andrew, Teddy, Agnes, Christopher, Alana, Kevin, Wade....they are all FANTASTIC!!!!!
Our room is gorgeous-the beach is gorgeous-the food and drinks are SUPERB!!!
I have never felt compelled to write a review before now....that is just how much I am enamored with this place and the people who work here! The general mgr, Joanna, is visible and genuinely concerned about guests and their satisfaction!
I WILL MOST DEFINITELY RETURN TO THE HOUSE!!!! I will also recommend it to my family and friends!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The House is amazing! The Staff make this the most fantastic place to stay! We can't wait to return! There is only one place to stay on Barbados for us now and it's The House!! Need I say more! Unfortunately we go home tomorrow but we will be booking to come back soon!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The House is a truly fabulous place, great breakfasts and afternoon tea, super service and lovely treats during the day! You can eat breakfast right on the beach and stay there all day if you choose to! It was a magical spot to watch the sunset too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I just landed after a week in Barbados so this review is fresh off my head...Barbados is a lovely island and I'd absolutely recommend staying on the West Coast. A Sunset Cruise (especially one that includes diving with Sea Turtles) is really nice but you get that everyday at The House. Sunset cocktails and Canapés everynight from the open air lobby or your seafront room balcony. The beach is beautiful ( a bit rocky so bring your sea shoes) and an underwater coral formation makes swimming with really colorful very cool. Here's a summary of Pros and Cons...Pros: Service is remarkable...find Kerrie (actually he will find you) or Richard or Ricardo......all genuinely nice guys (Ambassadors) who absolutely make sure that you want for not. Food and Drink, really good. Daily. Tea Time and Daphne's Restaurant boarders the House and is not to be missed...the Rum Punch is lovely but remember there is Rum in that Punch :). Finally this is a boutique Hotel, just 34 rooms so with 68 guests maximum, you will really appreciate that special attention. Cons: It's a stretch but all of Barbados's beaches are public and that brings a decent amount of solicitors, but this isn't unique to The House. Finally, Barbados is a pricey island but it is beautiful, filled with friendly people and has great restaurants. If you can afford a more expensive Holiday ( i actually say vacation but after a week with the Brits it rubs off), I'd recommend it and specifically The House!

Room Tip: I'd take the Ocean View over the plunge pool. Sunsets are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I have only one day remaining of our two week holiday at The House.
Much has been written extolling the virtues of this wonderful hotel and we would support all of the previous, highly praiseworthy comments.
We were allocated room 374 which is on the second floor overlooking the pool and deck area onto the ocean beyond. The views from the balcony are truly spectacular with the occasional sunset completely awe inspiring.
Everything about this hotel is carefully done to create the perfect ambiance of tranquility and quality and it is the staff who deliver this on a completely consistent basis.
Every single member of staff we encountered was warm, friendly and totally professional, a real credit to the hotel and its training operation.
Thanks to them all for making this holiday so pleasurable, we will return!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would be my choice and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados/Saint James Parish
Saint James The House
House Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.