We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our sort of House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House

Save Saved
You added The House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The House
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 30%!
Sussex by the sea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our sort of House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having spied The House on previous visits to Barbados,we had thought that we must go there one day. Making a last minute decision to go away from the awful English winter we found a good offer from British Airways Holidays for a nine day stay at the House and off we went. Arriving, you notice this is different. No front desk, no reception, just a warm welcome from the staff anyone of which will do anything for you. We were sat down for a welcome rum punch and then taken to our room. BA had booked us a pool/garden suite which was sumptuously furnished but the window of the sitting room looked out onto the main road to Bridgetown which is a GP race track for the local buses. We asked to be moved and were given the most delightful room on the third floor overlooking the sea, it was perfect, more we could not have asked for. The staff are all called "Ambassadors" and will each do anything for you, fetch a drink, book a car, carry your bags, book a restaurant, whatever, so a front desk is redundant . A nice system, I liked it. The manageress, Joanna was ever present and approachable, she runs a good show. The sun beds both on the beach and in the garden,have thick mattresses, good. Breakfast is served in what I, perhaps unkindly, would call a corridor, which is the only access from the front of the hotel to the back,so people are always walking by. To make up for this you get a glass of champagne with your breakfast. Daphne's, one of Barbados' best restaurants, is adjacent, pity you can't have breakfast there. We had a lovely time and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: The best rooms are one 3rd floor on the south end
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
169
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are checking these reviews before you decide on your hotel, look no further! We have just arrived back from a fantastic week at The House. It is hard to find the right words to describe the experience of staying there. The service is first class. At the end of our stay the staff felt like friends, but never had they crossed the line to be too familiar. There were one or two famous celebrities who were there but everyone was treated equally. Christopher said" You are all stars to us"! The design and layout of the hotel makes it so relaxing, it is difficult to tear yourself away to visit elsewhere. The beach is so clean with ample loungers and gazebos with flowing white voile to shade you. At regular intervals the wonderful staff bring cold water, cold towels, delicious ice cream and fruit kebabs to you on the beach. We went snorkelling with the turtles which was a highlight ( go with Rod the Hat Man on his boat). Wish we were still there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent a week at The House and were very sorry to leave. The rooms are nice with huge bathrooms. We had a great view of the ocean and sunsets from our balcony. The staff was great, very eager to please and made you feel right at home. We loved the quiet, laid back atmosphere (no kids running around). Beach side drink service is AWESOME! Very quick with a cold Banks Beer or a STRONG rum punch. Breakfast was very good with sausage, eggs and fresh fruit, and a different fresh fruit juice every morning.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The House is a luxurious adult hotel. Rooms are top quality and include small and large suites. There is no reception. All staff are trained to look after your every need, whether it is checking in, booking a car for the airport or just getting a beverage. True butler service. Only breakfast and snacks are served in the hotel, but the restaurant next door is part of the property. Chef personally cooked my eggs Benedict and I poured my own complimentary champagne. Newspapers faxed in. Staff bring iced fruit, iced water and cool towels to those on the beach and around the pool. Tiny sandwiches, scones and tea offered in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent a week at the House for some sun and water skiing. The room (beachfront, top floor) was lovely, bed was very comfortable (lovely pillows). Spacious bathroom with excellent shower.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Andrew is a ray of sunshine, wish l could have brought him home with me! Anthony took good care of us on the beach with free water and delicious ice cream. Shaun made our restaurant reservations very efficiently, in fact all the staff were great.
Daphne's restaurant is great, good food and excellent cocktails.
The guys in the water sports hut were some of the best we've had in the Caribbean.
But................... there were a couple of things l was disappointed with. The products in the bathroom were not very good. It said in our brochure they were Molton Brown and l read online that they were Elemis but they were pretty awful and certainly not very good.
Then there was the breakfast buffet. Very good if you wanted a cooked breakfast but not good if like me you don't . Pretty boring selection of cereal and no yoghurt choice, also no yoghurts at all for 3 mornings. The bread choice was awful. Most mornings just sliced white bread and white French bread. The fruit choice was really good, lots of lovely berries.
We really enjoyed our week here and would definitely recommend this hotel. We have been to Barbados 25 times (we love it!). We usually stay at Cobblers Cove and we both think Cobblers just has the edge on The House.
.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are lovely. I think the garden rooms must be disturbed by the noisy road and local b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel. It offers peace, a great beach, Daphne's, great staff and just a lovely environment. One of the things we particularly liked was the staff ( ambassadors ) who are all so helpful. Because they take care of everything, there is no hotel reception which actually works. Look out for Andrew one of the ambassadors, he's great fun and will look after you! Will be back for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you want a quiet boutique hotel with laid back attentive service.This is for you.From the moment you check in ,in the lounge with a welcome cocktail to when you check out nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast with champagne if you want it and afternoon tea superb. (Included)
Lunch and dinner top class from Daphne's next door,we ate on the deck in the evening a few times quieter and more atmospheric. Try the spaghetti with lobster . The ambassador service is great, they will organise restaurant bookings, island tours ,snorkelling .
Couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados/Saint James Parish
Saint James The House
House Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.