We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of their Game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

Save Saved
You added The House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The House
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top of their Game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are checking these reviews before you decide on your hotel, look no further! We have just arrived back from a fantastic week at The House. It is hard to find the right words to describe the experience of staying there. The service is first class. At the end of our stay the staff felt like friends, but never had they crossed the line to be too familiar. There were one or two famous celebrities who were there but everyone was treated equally. Christopher said" You are all stars to us"! The design and layout of the hotel makes it so relaxing, it is difficult to tear yourself away to visit elsewhere. The beach is so clean with ample loungers and gazebos with flowing white voile to shade you. At regular intervals the wonderful staff bring cold water, cold towels, delicious ice cream and fruit kebabs to you on the beach. We went snorkelling with the turtles which was a highlight ( go with Rod the Hat Man on his boat). Wish we were still there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
129
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent a week at The House and were very sorry to leave. The rooms are nice with huge bathrooms. We had a great view of the ocean and sunsets from our balcony. The staff was great, very eager to please and made you feel right at home. We loved the quiet, laid back atmosphere (no kids running around). Beach side drink service is AWESOME! Very quick with a cold Banks Beer or a STRONG rum punch. Breakfast was very good with sausage, eggs and fresh fruit, and a different fresh fruit juice every morning.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The House is a luxurious adult hotel. Rooms are top quality and include small and large suites. There is no reception. All staff are trained to look after your every need, whether it is checking in, booking a car for the airport or just getting a beverage. True butler service. Only breakfast and snacks are served in the hotel, but the restaurant next door is part of the property. Chef personally cooked my eggs Benedict and I poured my own complimentary champagne. Newspapers faxed in. Staff bring iced fruit, iced water and cool towels to those on the beach and around the pool. Tiny sandwiches, scones and tea offered in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent a week at the House for some sun and water skiing. The room (beachfront, top floor) was lovely, bed was very comfortable (lovely pillows). Spacious bathroom with excellent shower.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Andrew is a ray of sunshine, wish l could have brought him home with me! Anthony took good care of us on the beach with free water and delicious ice cream. Shaun made our restaurant reservations very efficiently, in fact all the staff were great.
Daphne's restaurant is great, good food and excellent cocktails.
The guys in the water sports hut were some of the best we've had in the Caribbean.
But................... there were a couple of things l was disappointed with. The products in the bathroom were not very good. It said in our brochure they were Molton Brown and l read online that they were Elemis but they were pretty awful and certainly not very good.
Then there was the breakfast buffet. Very good if you wanted a cooked breakfast but not good if like me you don't . Pretty boring selection of cereal and no yoghurt choice, also no yoghurts at all for 3 mornings. The bread choice was awful. Most mornings just sliced white bread and white French bread. The fruit choice was really good, lots of lovely berries.
We really enjoyed our week here and would definitely recommend this hotel. We have been to Barbados 25 times (we love it!). We usually stay at Cobblers Cove and we both think Cobblers just has the edge on The House.
.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are lovely. I think the garden rooms must be disturbed by the noisy road and local b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel. It offers peace, a great beach, Daphne's, great staff and just a lovely environment. One of the things we particularly liked was the staff ( ambassadors ) who are all so helpful. Because they take care of everything, there is no hotel reception which actually works. Look out for Andrew one of the ambassadors, he's great fun and will look after you! Will be back for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you want a quiet boutique hotel with laid back attentive service.This is for you.From the moment you check in ,in the lounge with a welcome cocktail to when you check out nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast with champagne if you want it and afternoon tea superb. (Included)
Lunch and dinner top class from Daphne's next door,we ate on the deck in the evening a few times quieter and more atmospheric. Try the spaghetti with lobster . The ambassador service is great, they will organise restaurant bookings, island tours ,snorkelling .
Couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Every now and again you find a hotel where you simply cant wait to go back - this is one of those.

Staff are fantastic - just loved it; their attitude seems to rub off on everyone so sitting around chatting or having a glass or two wth your fellow guests is the norm. More like being at a big house party than staying in a hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Hotel
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House Barbados/Saint James Parish
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.