We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality at a wonderful price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winchelsea Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Winchelsea Guesthouse to your Saves list
Winchelsea Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   4th Avenue 72 West Terrace Gardens, BB23018, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Roseau, Dominica
1 review
“Great hospitality at a wonderful price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My experience in Barbados on a short family business trip was wonderful all due to Mr. Campbell kind hospitality, the owner/proprietor of Winchelsea Guesthouse. We were picked up at the airport on time and he was very welcoming and engaging on our way to the guest house.

On arrival at the guest house I was very impressed by the level of security. The guest house was generally clean with all the necessary amenities to include cable TV and internet. The property is also located close to a playing field and over 100 threads of steps making it ideal for the health conscious guest.

The proprietor was very kind to take us shopping when needed and also sort tickets so we could attend the senior games that weekend which was an awesome experience.

Staying at Winchelsea Guest house is definitely value for money. Its like a home away from home.

Thank you Mr. Campbell!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pirkkala, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed there for two weeks. Rooms were kept clean, linens and towels were changed regularly.

Wifi worked properly for one week and for the other week not so good but we could have asked it to be fixed. We had own internet also.

This place is in quite beautiful place. There is nice view to the sea if you walk ten meters. Beach is close (about 10min walk). House owner were warm and welcoming. He helped us if we asked something. We would have liked to have more privacy.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

What to say? Rather where to start? I will first address the positives. The owner did arrive on time to collect us at the airport. He was friendly on greeting us. Secondly, the guesthouse is safe (more on this later), and to a certain extent clean. Internet was readily available and consistent in speed, cable t.v., clean linens, soap and toiletries were provided. There were also pots and cutlery, iron and ironing board and a microwave in the guesthouse.

Now for the negatives. It did feel like it was a business transaction. The owner appeared to be more focused on money than on the comfort of his guests. Upon arrival at the gated property, we were required to sign a document stating that we are not eligible for a refund. This was prior to seeing the room. It was also required that we pay in full. Secondly, the gates! There are a lot of gates on the property which "must" be kept locked! From hour one the owner demonstrated how the chain and lock for the front gate must be locked, whenever we go or come. In summary, you will feel like a prisoner. Furthermore, the guesthouse is located behind his home making it easy for the owner to pry on guests privacy not only by looking out his window, but also by coming into the guesthouse whenever he wanted to. The AC does not work, and the oversized oven proves to be a waste of time when cooking (highest temperature is 255 degrees). Many of the "clean" dishes were filthy. The opener was rusty. And upon checkout, the owner actually stood inside the guesthouse and hurried us out.

Overall, it is up to you if you choose to stay here US$60/night really is not bad, so long as you're educated on what to expect. The choice is ultimately yours. But note, once he receives your money, customer care goes out the window.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My experience at this property was HORRIBLE. The OWNER is all about MONEY in his pocket and there is little emphasis placed on your comfort as a GUEST. He PROVES to be one with NO CUSTOMER relations. On arrival as a guest you will be required to sign a document stating that you are not eligible for a refund for stay less than 21 days. This is simply saying that you are BOUNDED to the place whether you like it or NOT. If your stay is partly paid he will HARASS you for the balance on checking in. He will prevent you from viewing your room before signing the said document. The BEDS are SMALL, the ROOMS are TINY. It's nothing like what he says to you on making your reservation. He is all up in your business it is like you are in prison. You can not have even your BEST friend over for a DRINK. He has the tendency to direct insults at you as a guest. Every movement you make he opens the side door or peep through the side window to monitor your BUSINESS. He pretends to be concerned about your WELFARE, however the conversation will end with a MONEY REQUEST. Before you have checked out at 12pm, he will rip the sheets off the beds in your presence, and direct insults at you. Oh and do NOT forget anything in the refrigerator cause he will take it over to his section of the property. He is just a mess and if you wish to have a WONDERFUL experience of Barbados WINCHELSEA GUESTHOUSE is not the place to think of STAYING especially Caribbean Travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchelsea Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchelsea Guesthouse

Address: 4th Avenue 72 West Terrace Gardens, BB23018, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winchelsea Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Winchelsea Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchelsea Guesthouse Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchelsea Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.