We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe ok if you get the right table” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramshackle Bar - CLOSED

Ramshackle Bar
Mount Standfast, Barbados
01-246-422-1974
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
469 helpful votes 469 helpful votes
“Maybe ok if you get the right table”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to the quiz night tonight and the setting was lovely. Unfortunately we were given a table on the top deck next to the kitchen. There was no view and the thorough fare of traffic from kitchen to restaurant was busy. We could have been anywhere - we couldn't see the beach or sea and the atmosphere was poor where we were sat. I wouldn't go back but maybe if I had a guaranteed beach table or at least first floor we may reconsider. Food average and staff were pushed but very friendly and apologised frequently for the long delay in service. We didn't even see the owner in the 'cheap seats' ie. top/kitchen floor - a welcome would have been nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi
Hey sorry you felt misserable it is a grim position and we feel terrible putting people there, but as you could see we were packed to bursting. i did come up-stairs many times, to check on the kitchen, collect papers and we did speak. The lady smiled at me when i asked if you was ok. I could tell you wasn't pleased. Please do not give up on us, next time book early and request down stairs or nothing......if it is available we will place you there, even the bar seats are better than that table........the amount of people there that night is an indication of how popular we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    44
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
caversham
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Very traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a great curry here, a great situation and very rustic as it looks like someone has built it out of odd bits of wood. The yellow pepper sauce is the best ever apparently his mum makes it, they should bottle this and sell it. Great for lunch

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much - glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great venue!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As regulars to Ramshackle Beach Bar, we can testify to beautiful views, consistently delicious great value food and good service! We recently held our little boy's 5th birthday party at the bar, beachside. It was a fantastic day made all the better with some tasty platters of bajan fish cakes, flying fish and samosas, along with the best home made fries ever - not the usual childs' party rubbish! The bar provided the picnic tables and tents plus kept the drinks flowing!
I would recommend the bar highly to anyone looking for a relaxed beachside venue on one of the best West Coast beaches and the Sunday lunch is a must for any expat missing that side of home!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very slow service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We waited over an hour for our lunch. Not usually a problem but we had hired loungers and wanted to make the most of the sun not spend nearly 2 hours eating which was basically a sandwich. Food is good location is amazing, loungers very reasonable to hire and the masks are a must, got to see lots of turtles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day at the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at Ramshackle's for a full day recently and had a great experience! Beach chairs and umbrellas were set up quick and were reasonable. Location was awesome! Quiet spot with a great beach and beautiful swimming. Beers were cold & flying fish sandwiches were great! Joshua was our bartender and was friendly and had great service. After lunch we rented masks & snorkles and swam out 50 yards and swam with turtles. Awesome day!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramshackle Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramshackle Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.