We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a lazy lunch by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramshackle Bar - CLOSED

Ramshackle Bar
Mount Standfast, Barbados
01-246-422-1974
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for a lazy lunch by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Simple food cooked well, with fresh ingredients, and some of the best chips (fries) I have had in a long time. Relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere, with a great location on one of the more beautiful beaches in Barbados (and that says something). Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    108
    44
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxed lunch spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to be staying on the same beach. Perfect spot to stroll to and enjoy cut-price banks and lovely lunch of fish/burger type fare. Great staff and laid back atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“SIMPLE, FUN ATMOSPHERE, GOOD FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by for lunch after going on a road trip which turned out to be a bit stressful :-)
We ordered the Flying Fish sandwich and also the Fish Cakes and had a couple of beers.
The beach is lovely there. I loved all the umbrellas and how Ramshackles is just tucked into the beach perfectly. It was busy but not crazy busy. Our waitress was lovely and very friendly and prompt. The Fish was delicious and the beer good and COLD! It was a great lunch spot. It took us a couple of drive bys to find it... but we finally did. We had seen Ramshackles from the water when we had gone on a snorkeling trip. Love the look of with it with the colorful Beach umbrellas.
It was great and thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hey guys
Thanks for m king the effort to find us - we are so pleased it was worth it and you enjoyed your day Please come back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ideal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Myself and husband have been to Barbados many times after we married there 13 years ago! Ramshackle bar is in such an ideal location on the beach, you have everything, great food, drinks, friendly staff and WOW that view!! i for one will be visiting the bar again next year. My husband and i enjoyed the evenings where we poped in for a few drinks and a swim in the sea but also when we went to eat in the evenings! for the fantastic views! we would strongly recommend ramshackle to everyone who visits Barbados!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hey Thanks for the review, so glad you enjoyed the experience, our beach is spectacular and we are very lucky regards location - but we are also pleased you enjoyed the food and service.......hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbbean
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reply to Janeycamehome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have just read a very strange review from Janeycamehome. My wife and I where at Ramshackles with 6 friends on the night in question and witnessed this so called incident, firstly, the ladies? in question had obviously had a very good night to the point that possibly in the UK may have been refused drinks, secondly they were very loud but were not told to " be quiet" but were requested (as was everyone else) to tone it down a little as it was after 11pm which it was. The so called live music was 2 lads with their guitars who played one song. The attitude of these ladies was at the very least unpleasant to the point of rudeness. One expects that sort of thing on cheap holiday to Ibiza but not in Barbados. As someone who claims to to have visited Barbados many times I am amazed that Janeycamehome considers her behaviour correct for a lady of her age. With regard to your last statement I can only say had that been my establishment I would have considered serving you a drink in your condition WAS a favour. "Happy, lovely, gorgeous ladies having fun" we'll beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and having fun should not be at the expense of other people around you, we all had fun that night without being rude or offensive to others around us including staff and management, Ramshackles is very friendly bar with great service and staff, we have used it many many times and not once have we ever heard the staff or management be rude or offensive. Unfortunately when people drink to much their judgement can be clouded. I for one will continue to take my friends to Ramshackles and have already booked for their full moon party

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your honest review - I am so glad you enjoyed the evening - we had 3 party's in that evening and 2 booked for full moon - please introduce yourself to us when you are next in.....
I am pleased you was not offended when i asked you for a respecatable voice level, some people do think they own the place once they have purched a solitry drink. Happy days and nights ahead, upwards and onwards. Ramshackle rocks. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramshackle Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramshackle Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.