We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shades Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shades Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Shades Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Laynes Road | Paynes Bay, BB29004, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Bridgetown, Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome place, home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent 3 nights staycation in Apt #1. 2 bedroom ground floor. pool view, surrounded by lush tropical garden. The bed was so comfortable that I would say "if you didn't have a good night sleep, I will guarantee your money back." :) me and the boys enjoyed our stay so much. I have plans on returning in summer. Thank you Shades!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Apt 6 for 2 weeks. The setting is like being in a tropical paradise and the apartment was large and spacious and offered everything you needed. The pool area is beautiful and the beach is a short walk. We took our snorkeling gear and were looking at tropical fish just A few yards off-shore.
Jacqui and Errol make this place even more special! Jacqui goes above and beyond for all her guests making sure that they feel special, attending to your every need whether it be a catamaran ride for snorkeling and turtle, taxis, restaurant recommendations/reservations, or arranging a driver to show you the island. Errol and his Dad are very special and make you feel their home is yours! Don't miss out on these special accommodations! VeryHighly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frinton on sea
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

As with so many others we booked this holiday because of the reviews. We stayed in Appt 1 which was great because there were two rooms but only the two of us so the spare room was good storage for suitcases etc. It might be a bit cramped if there were four adults as there is only one bathroom / wc. The apartment was great, the pool was nice but did get busy so the only reason that this review is excellent rather than just good is because of Jacqui. She is available whenever you call; she is always happy and smiling; she gets great deals on eveything from jet skis to taxis to sunbeds on the beach etc; she is just awesome. I would certainly go back again and for four adults try out the penthouse, Jacqui showed us round it and it would be fantastic for two groups of two. Shades really is only a gentle five minutes stroll from Paynes Bay beach which is beautiful.

Room Tip: Trust Jacqui - ring her and believe what she says.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our family of three was happy to stay in Apt #3 for the week February 16-23rd. We chose the upper floor so as to have a view of our oasis of trees, flowers & pool and to benefit from the daily breezes. There's plenty of space on the balcony for breakfast and dining on "Connie's" Thursday, Friday and Saturday night take-away food. It is private from your building-mates, but a pleasant hello does not go amiss though on this friendly isle.

Apt - The unit is furnished with comfortable island decor. The kitchen is adequate for simple meals. Rooms are clean & spacious with ample closet space so that you are not tripping on suitcases. There is a/c in both bedrooms, but open windows, ceiling fans and breezes kept us comfortable in the evenings & overnight. Most outlets are the standard North-American voltage 2 pronged style, but the bathroom has a 115/230v shaver outlet. A hair blow dryer is supplied in your room also.

Location - Shades is well situated for driving to tourist sites (St Nicholas Abbey/Harrison's Cave/ most Gullys and Gardens) since it's close to the Sandy Lane Golf Course Road which takes you to the good "red road" on the driving map and then signs direct you onwards. The church with the reddish roof on the corner of Laynes Rd is especially helpful at night to find your way into your on-site, safe & gated six spot car park.

Host - Jacqui truly enjoys your company and is like having an onsite local friend to help you make the most of your holiday whether you want to horseback ride, do a segway tour, zip-line, visit a local mahogany wood craftsman at Medford Craft World, or find the right beach for your tastes!

We hope this helps you plan your holiday and maybe choose to stay at Shades to enjoy this wonderful bit of Barbados. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is such a fantastic place. Owners Jacqui and Errol say they aim to make this a 'home from home' for their guests and they definitely succeed.

Our apartment was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. We had everything we needed: laundry room, pool, Wi-Fi etc. And it's only a couple of minutes walk from the beach.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We became aware of Shades Apartments in searching TripAdvisor. The positive reviews gave us confidence that this was the place to spend our nine nights in Barbados, commencing January 8, 2014. We were not disappointed! As others have mentioned, Jacqui, the manager, is a gem. She just cannot do enough to assist the guests. The property is lovely, the apartments we stayed in (two-bedroom) were clean and well equipped. The location is excellent, being just one block back from the ocean with easy access to Paynes Bay beach. Our sincere thanks to Jacqui and the owner(s) for a most enjoyable vacation. Hated leaving. Look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Enjoyed a 5 night stay at Shades Apartments, our first time in Paynes Bay. The apartments were spacious, clean, set in beautiful grounds. Includes free wi-fi, and onsite pool + mini gym. All a stone's throw from the beach. Ran by a lovely family who live on site. Thanks to Jacqui for organising taxis etc and appreciated the lift to supermarket to stock up on arrival. There is also a bus stop at the end of the street for easy travel around the island. We recommend trying the local fish stall Connie's on the main road (selected nights only) for fantastic fish at great value price. And despite negative feedback from other guests re Daphne's we had a wonderful meal there - could not fault the food or service (less than 10 mins walk - also has half price cocktails 5-7pm)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shades Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades Holiday Apartments

Address: Laynes Road | Paynes Bay, BB29004, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shades Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shades Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shades Holiday Apartments Hotel Saint James
Shades Holiday Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.