We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scarlet

Scarlet
Payne's Bay, BB24008, Barbados
1-246-432-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $65
Cuisines: International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great spot. Lovely, lively ambiance . We were a large group and were given two round tables in centre of the restaurant. Given the number in the group, we would have been better seated and served by having tables long the back wall. we would have been more comfortable and the waiters would have had more room to manoeuver. This was my second visit and the waiters were less attentive than the first. The food was great. The cocktails were good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    115
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Trendy bar and grill.
Ideal for young couples.
Food good - atmosphere great
A great night out - even if all you want is a burger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friday Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I had never heard of Scarlet before reading TA. Thanks go to all previous reviewers.

I had badly hurt my knee the afternoon before our visit but I never gave it a second thought after our arrival. No-one would have heard my cries for help anyway!!!

The place was almost full when we arrived and full to bursting when we left. Service was great, food was excellent, atmosphere brilliant, conversation difficult. Just a lot of people, mostly a lot younger than us, really enjoying themselves. Fabulous. We will return even older and will almost certainly still love it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Funky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Dined at Scarlet March this this year ..Arrived 45 min late ..as we couldn't find it we were panicking arrived at 10.15 we needn't have worried they were lovely saved our table .it looks tiny ..but once inside we were blown away at how big it was and décor was so funky ,we had the chilli beef and pasta well worth the wait will be back next year ...on time

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great busy restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a 730 table and this restaurant was already 95% full! just showing how the owners have managed to create a good reasonably priced restaurant in barbados! the food was good! service fantastic and atmosphere excellent. Hard working owners and they deserve it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarlet also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scarlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.