We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure Beach is a treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Save Saved
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUPER SUMMER PACKAGE
Epsom, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Treasure Beach is a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is a small, intimate hotel right on the quieter end of Paynes Bay beach. We stayed during the second week of January when the hotel was about half full, which made it feel even smaller and more intimate. We found all the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and (with one exception on one occasion) efficient. The meals are all excellent - the inclusive breakfast offers both hot and cold options, the lunch menu is varied and (by Barbados standards) reasonably priced and dinner is excellent with an impressive winelist. We ate in 4 nights and out 3 nights and the fare at Kathy's (the new name for the hotel restaurant previously known as "Al Fresco" bears comparison in terms of quality and particularly value with the better restaurants on the west coast. We found the only downside of eating in was the lack of atmosphere down to so few people dining and it's a pity the restaurant doesn't seem to promote itself to non-residents as hard as it might. The barbeque after the Tuesday evening managers cocktail party was particularly impressive, with Kirk, the locally born and raised but foreign trained chef, taking great pride in cooking his meat in and on a barbeque/smoker which looks like a replica of Stephenson's Rocket!

We were delighted with the room, spacious and clean, with plenty of hot water. Indeed we had booked a garden room but after one night were upgraded to an ocean view room which was spectacular. The new hotel manager, Jason Patterson is friendly, hard working and attentive and clearly set on achieving the highest standards.

If you are looking for somewhere friendly, quiet and relaxing in a great location, Treasure Beach is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    65
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
45
215
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This is a pretty hotel in a decent location. It is right on the beach, but regular Barbados visitors will know this part of the island has quite narrow beaches. We had breakfast included and it was pretty good... freshly cooked eggs, fruit, summary of the news...

the niggles:
Staff - totally incapable of oregasnising anything. I found them pretty rude (I have been to Barbados several times before and appreciate there is a certian way of life here...). Asking for the weather forecast as we were going to book a boat "I have no idea, I'd need to check" - but didn't check. Booking restaurants? Nope... Organising our mid-stay room-change? Hassle again. One guy sat watching me struggle with a couple of sun beds one morning, which usually he'd be helping with.

Water pressure - I actually had to take a shower in a different room one evening such was the water pressure. Barely a trickle coming from the showerhead. This was the case most nights - when I reported it they said they'd send a plumber but didn't.

Just in general this was not the Carribbean welcome I'd had previously in different hotels.

Beach hassle - pretty regular interrup[tions from people trying to sell you stuff (none of it illega0)... JetSki, jewellery, fruit... they were persistent, bordering onm rude, and it happened every single day. Quite annoying all in all, though admittedly not the hotel's fault.

Cold towels by the beach/pool - We had 2 towels in a 7 day stay, so clearly not one a day (albeit one day was raining heavily so a cold towel would have been pretty unhelpful!)

What's good?
- Bathrooms were nicely finished (apart from the pressure).. had Molton Brown products, plenty of towels.
- Cold towels and fruit by the pool/beach (when they arrived)
- Manager's* cocktail party one evening was pretty generous with food and canapés
- A/c - worked well, no complaints
- Breakfast was good quality
- Beds very comfortable
- Fridge in room (and bar man happily gave me a tumbler of sliced lemon for our G&T!)
- Daily afternoon tea (this kind of backfired a bit as it made it feel like an episode of Benidorm some days, with lots of - mainly English - people loitering around 4pm for the arrival of the sandwiches then piling up their plates) but a nice touch nonetheless

All in all, it looks goood, it is a nice size and there are upsides. But the staff and the plumbing need sorting... and if they could do something about those who regularly harassed, that too would be good....

* New manager had been there only a few weeks when we stayed. He might take some of this onboard and ring the changes necessary to mak this hotel really excellent

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FergyS028, Director of Sales at Treasure Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your valued feed back. Yes, you're right. When you stayed the water pressure was a problem. The new manager started at Treasure Beach just before your vacation. Fortunately, this has all been taken care of at there are two new water tanks and two new water pumps. We haven't had any complaints about this since your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The hotel is located on the best beach on Barbados, we stayed in rooms rooms 235 & 236 which are the best in the hotel really superb rooms but in room 235 the plumbing and shower needs upgrading on the evening we arrived we had no water at all and on three other occasions during the 7 days the same happened again, the guests in the room below us had more problems than us. All the staff in this hotel are the most friendly we have come across on numerous holidays on Barbados.The new manager who had only been there a few weeks was very hands on and remembered all the guests names, so ten out of ten for him. Food in restaurant very good for a hotel ,good breakfast. so now we come to the question would i recommend this hotel to a friend, only if they upgraded the entire plumbing and water pressure, so anybody wishing to book this hotel please check that the above works have been completed. The restaurant's on Barbados on really excellent from 2 star up to 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed at Treasure Beach in November 2010 for one week for trip away with my husband. He was unsure at first about the lack of 'glitz' as he was expecting something flashier, but this hotel has a lovely understated charm that is very 'Barbados and we quickly grew to love it. We had a garden room at the back of the hotel on the top floor. We still had a view of the sea and it was a lovely spacious room with walk in shower (could do with a bit more water pressure) and nice Molton Brown products, huge bed, fluffy robes and tea & coffee making facilities. Fresh milk in the fridge every day was a nice touch. Our only moan about the room would be that it would be nice to have air-con in the sitting area as well as the bedroom. It was so hot while we were there that there is no way we could use the sitting room.

The gardens are lovely and although the beach is small the hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches in Barbados and there are plenty of sunloungers in the gardens under the shade of the magnificent mahogany tree. Fruit kebabs and ice cold towels at 11am were very welcome as were the Green Demon cocktails!

The staff were all great, excellent and friendly service throughout. Our waiter got to know how I liked my eggs by the 2nd morning and from then on I didn't need to ask!

The hotel is very well located with several excellent restaurants located just a short walk away. You can also get the bus very easily just outside the hotel. Fun and cheap at $1.50. Take the bus two stops to The Cliff restaurant, or try Scarletts about 50 yards away. We didn't think much of Daphnes next door but we loved The Tides in Holetown.

The only other things we would comment on would be that it is a bit old fashioned in parts. The restaurant has shiny tablecloths and is very formal - not needed in the daytime we think. Not masses of atmosphere in the evening in the Restaurant although we only ate there once on our first night and were very tired. Ditto with the waiters - do they really need to wear bow ties in 100 degree heat? We think they should take a leaf out of Sandy Lane where the waiters look very smart in tailored linen shorts and logoed golf shirts. We chatted about this with the new manager who started that week...so watch this space....!

Its not a place for young people who want lots of stuff going on and evening activities, but was perfect for us. Unfussy, comfortable, quiet and charming, an ideal get away without the kids. We will hopefully be going back next year!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed at Treasure Beach for one night only, - we had to extend our stay in Barbados as one of us had become seriously unwell. We had visited the restaurant at lunchtime and appreciated the well-kept surroundings/ambiance as well as the friendly staff and delicious light lunches. We therefore decided to have our extra night at Treasure Beach - Tracy on reception was genuinely kind and sympathetic and made us so welcome, as did the manager.

The hotel is right on the beach with its own sunchairs, a reasonably-sized pool, and lots of nice extras like inclusive afternoon tea, fruit on the beach and Molton Brown toiletries! A gem of a hotel (although not really suited to children) - we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a beautiful place to stay. A small hotel, but that only adds to its charm. A very friendly staff. Beautiful rooms with breathtaking views of the ocean. The beach is literally 50 feet from the rooms. A little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My first review must never have been saved. Lets try again.

We arrived in Barbados and fell in love with, the people, the island and the hotel. Treasure Beach is a wonderful hotel, great staff led by Hamish Watson. From the moment the Lovely Tricia checked us in we automatically started to decompress and relax.

We stayed in the Hemingway Suite and it was wonderful. It had everything, great bathroom, vaulted ceiling bedroom, living area and the best part, the huge covered patio with bar area, coffee table and chairs, dining table and chairs, a great view of the pool, the garden, the beach and ocean, top it off with your very own pool! Nivana!

Most tourists are from Great Britain and have been coming here for years, so that guests know each other. As Americans we enjoyed the experience, we met some wonderful Canadian Ladies that let us use their water noodles. The beach is not wide, but it is long, so walks along the coast are fun as you pass all the other properties.

We enjoyed the afternoon tea, the fresh fruit and towels served on the beach and the water is crystal clear and just the right temperature.

The people of Barbados are wonderful, friendly, helpful and they want you to experience thier Island. Ride the "Reggae Bus" and you will have a blast.

Our stay at the Treasure Beach Hotel was perfect, Thanks to Hamish Watson, Tricia the staff in the restaurant and housekeeping Outstanding! We are already planning to go back.

To my British friends, sorry, but I hope "proper" Americans read this review!

We Love Treasure Beach Hotel, Thanks Hamish.

Lisa & Bob

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.