We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wanted to stay forever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wanted to stay forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

First time to Barbados and the hotel, and i hope it will not be the last! The hotel is in amazing position on the beach with friendly faces such as benjy the pineapple man strolling past each day, and the warm,blue sea easy to access. All the staff in the hotel are very friendly, and looked after me and my family very very well! (thank you!) from the staff out by the sunbeds to the people behind the reception desk! The treasure beach has lots to offer from great food (would highly recommend the blackened chicken wrap at lunch -- delicious) to snorkels which is perfect as there are lots of turtles in Paynes bay!

I really cannot thank treasure beach hotel enough and i hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    77
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
57
245
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hadstock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Back to Barbados after a long break and to a pleasant surprise at Treasure Beach. Great location on the well known Paynes Bay. Our Ocean suite gave us beautiful views towards the sea, gardens and overlooking the pool. The hotel was quiet during the pre-Christmas period, with only a few guests, lovely. Plenty of sunbathing area in the gardens but a bit limited on the beach. Attentive beach waiters and nothing was too much trouble. Food was adequate and varied, and staff friendly. A bit of TLC to the general look of the hotel/dining room would not go amiss. All in all, we felt that Treasure Beach was charming and "grew" on us, once we settled into our holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean suite always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It feels like the hotel has seen better days. The staff were not that friendly, particularly in the bar where I was grunted at by a barman when asking for a drink (I was the only person in the bar and he didn't seem interested in serving me!) the rooms were adequate but one of them smelt badly of damp. The food was good and the manager is trying hard to make it work but at the moment it's just ok. We visited Ocean Two also on this vacation (separate review) and it knocks the socks off Treasure Beach. However the beach itself is just stunning and the managers cocktail evening is fun.

Room Tip: Don't get a garden view stump up the extra for a beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a fantastic fortnight at this very friendly boutique hotel. We had an ocean view room which was well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel has pretty good beach frontage for the size of the hotel and we were looked after by Baker who provided fruit kebabs, chilled towels and drinks from the bar. The restaurant has a good menu covering breakfast, lunch and dinner and all the waiting staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly Kevin, Wayne and Shakira. The reception staff were always cheerful and willing to help with restaurant booking etc. The General Manager, Jason, made a point of spending time ensuring all the guests were made to feel welcome and that their needs were being met. Some of the reviews we read suggested that the restaurant could do with a makeover and when we discussed this with Jason he told us it was something he is looking to improve. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to thank Jason and all the the staff for a fantastic Christmas and will be booking again for next year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

In my opinion this not a bad hotel. But my experience of the hotel does not reflect the 'glowing' reviews that appear on this site but equally I think that some of the negative reviews are overly harsh.
The hotel is in a good position on Paynes Bay, but because it is designed in a horse shoe shape it means that there is a rather small sea frontage which leads to a restricted number of sunbeds and the inevitable scrum for the sunbeds early in the morning with towels being put out to reserve a space at 7.00am.
In deed the horse shoe shape is one of the fundamental problems with the hotel. The reception area, bar and restaurant are all located within a relatively small area towards the 'curve' of the horseshoe and because of the design there doesn't appear to be a great deal of options in being able to expand the area. However, it does not help that the area is quite dark and looks rather shabby. It could definitely benefit from an upgrade with a more vibrant colour scheme.
In terms of the rooms I can only comment on the one that we had. It was a garden view room which did have a view of the sea. The design is that you have an outer sitting area which has a fan and a bedroom with air conditioning. We were unable to use our sitting room because it was too hot even with the fan on and we were unable to close the doors to the balcony which made the use of the air conditioning pointless. I realise that some rooms have been redecorated but ours hadn't and it looked really grubby and unkempt. The bed was large and comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom was a decent size with a large shower that had good water pressure. But it was quite dark and gloomy.
Much has been said about the quality of the breakfast. In my view it is just about average. But the food at lunch and dinner was very good. The Dinner menu was varied and had mainly Bajan food and at 99 B$ for a 2 course meal was very reasonable. Sadly most guests seemed to go out to eat. I suspect that was due to the rather gloomy and sterile dining area.
The biggest plus for the TB is the standard of the staff. Many had been working there for 20+ years and clearly knew how to engage with the guests. They were all very friendly and helpful ( as are most Bajan people).
While we were there, there were a lot of returners and I would iterate earlier comments about a cliquey atmosphere.
As I said earlier this is not a bad hotel, but based on my experience of staying at other hotels in the West Indies, this is expensive for what you get. It lacks that 'something' one expects from a 4star hotel. In my view it would benefit from an upgrade and refurbishment of the public areas.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has been redecorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

How anyone can find fault with this hotel is beyond me and I can only assume the problem might possibly be with the clients themselves and my advice would be that if you are looking for Sandy Lane then you need to pay Sandy Lane prices!
This hotel is truly charming in every sense of the word. It has the best location on the West Coast and no room can be more than 50 yards from the beach. The staff are like all Bajans - friendly, courteous, obliging and above all full of fun and so quick to smile. The rooms are all spacious with individual balconies and the food is first rate - breakfasts were amazing and set us up for the rest of the day! The list of positives are endless, I cannot find fault with any of it. It is full of returning customers which says it all. This is our first visit but it certainly won't be our last. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so pleasurable!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is a true gem and gives you such a feel good experience of chilling out in an idyylic setting.
It's a small sized hotel with a huge heart.
Imagine my delight to discover that when you book a "room " it's actually a suite. There's a well-appointed lounge with sink, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
This leads into a huge en suite bedroom with large fitted wardrobes with loads of hanging and storage space. There's a very handy ipod/ifone docking station ( especially if like me , you always forget to travel with a charger ).
The bathroom is really spacious and there is a constant supply of lovely smelling shampoo, shower gel etc. Just what you want after a day on that gorgeous beach.
My private balcony with French doors off the lounge, opened out to views of the garden, pool and the sunny Carribean Sea.
The hotel is compact, bijou and wonderfully situated...you literally walk out of your room, past the pool and you're on that wonderful sandy beach.
The outside restaurant serves fab snack lunches and in the evening turns into a fine dining experience with a menu that changes daily.
The breakfasts are amazing ( just as well there's a gym !!! ) - fruit, yoghurt, cereal, full English, plus every possible version of eggs cooked to order - the chef's special omelette is to die for.
The staff are amazing , and to be honest, one of the main reasons I want to come back here time and time again. They're all so very friendly, a really great bunch - nothing is too much trouble as they genuinely want you to enjoy your holiday to the max.
It would be unfair to single out any one of them so I won't mention Courtney, Kevin or Os by name !!!
A word of warning though - beware the General Manager's cocktail party which is poolside every Friday night - the rum punches in particular are LETHAL but oh such fun - thankfully there's a BBQ to follow which soaks up the alcohol. Steak, lobster, shrimp, ribs, tuna etc plus all the trimmings - yummy.
The location is great as there are loads of restaurants/shops within walking/short taxi distance.
The only downside was having to leave after my fabulous 14 night stay - but as the staff always say, " you have to leave in order to return and this is certainly somewhere I want to return to - and soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.