We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A balanced View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
South Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A balanced View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

In my opinion this not a bad hotel. But my experience of the hotel does not reflect the 'glowing' reviews that appear on this site but equally I think that some of the negative reviews are overly harsh.
The hotel is in a good position on Paynes Bay, but because it is designed in a horse shoe shape it means that there is a rather small sea frontage which leads to a restricted number of sunbeds and the inevitable scrum for the sunbeds early in the morning with towels being put out to reserve a space at 7.00am.
In deed the horse shoe shape is one of the fundamental problems with the hotel. The reception area, bar and restaurant are all located within a relatively small area towards the 'curve' of the horseshoe and because of the design there doesn't appear to be a great deal of options in being able to expand the area. However, it does not help that the area is quite dark and looks rather shabby. It could definitely benefit from an upgrade with a more vibrant colour scheme.
In terms of the rooms I can only comment on the one that we had. It was a garden view room which did have a view of the sea. The design is that you have an outer sitting area which has a fan and a bedroom with air conditioning. We were unable to use our sitting room because it was too hot even with the fan on and we were unable to close the doors to the balcony which made the use of the air conditioning pointless. I realise that some rooms have been redecorated but ours hadn't and it looked really grubby and unkempt. The bed was large and comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom was a decent size with a large shower that had good water pressure. But it was quite dark and gloomy.
Much has been said about the quality of the breakfast. In my view it is just about average. But the food at lunch and dinner was very good. The Dinner menu was varied and had mainly Bajan food and at 99 B$ for a 2 course meal was very reasonable. Sadly most guests seemed to go out to eat. I suspect that was due to the rather gloomy and sterile dining area.
The biggest plus for the TB is the standard of the staff. Many had been working there for 20+ years and clearly knew how to engage with the guests. They were all very friendly and helpful ( as are most Bajan people).
While we were there, there were a lot of returners and I would iterate earlier comments about a cliquey atmosphere.
As I said earlier this is not a bad hotel, but based on my experience of staying at other hotels in the West Indies, this is expensive for what you get. It lacks that 'something' one expects from a 4star hotel. In my view it would benefit from an upgrade and refurbishment of the public areas.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has been redecorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    69
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
51
225
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

How anyone can find fault with this hotel is beyond me and I can only assume the problem might possibly be with the clients themselves and my advice would be that if you are looking for Sandy Lane then you need to pay Sandy Lane prices!
This hotel is truly charming in every sense of the word. It has the best location on the West Coast and no room can be more than 50 yards from the beach. The staff are like all Bajans - friendly, courteous, obliging and above all full of fun and so quick to smile. The rooms are all spacious with individual balconies and the food is first rate - breakfasts were amazing and set us up for the rest of the day! The list of positives are endless, I cannot find fault with any of it. It is full of returning customers which says it all. This is our first visit but it certainly won't be our last. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so pleasurable!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is a true gem and gives you such a feel good experience of chilling out in an idyylic setting.
It's a small sized hotel with a huge heart.
Imagine my delight to discover that when you book a "room " it's actually a suite. There's a well-appointed lounge with sink, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
This leads into a huge en suite bedroom with large fitted wardrobes with loads of hanging and storage space. There's a very handy ipod/ifone docking station ( especially if like me , you always forget to travel with a charger ).
The bathroom is really spacious and there is a constant supply of lovely smelling shampoo, shower gel etc. Just what you want after a day on that gorgeous beach.
My private balcony with French doors off the lounge, opened out to views of the garden, pool and the sunny Carribean Sea.
The hotel is compact, bijou and wonderfully situated...you literally walk out of your room, past the pool and you're on that wonderful sandy beach.
The outside restaurant serves fab snack lunches and in the evening turns into a fine dining experience with a menu that changes daily.
The breakfasts are amazing ( just as well there's a gym !!! ) - fruit, yoghurt, cereal, full English, plus every possible version of eggs cooked to order - the chef's special omelette is to die for.
The staff are amazing , and to be honest, one of the main reasons I want to come back here time and time again. They're all so very friendly, a really great bunch - nothing is too much trouble as they genuinely want you to enjoy your holiday to the max.
It would be unfair to single out any one of them so I won't mention Courtney, Kevin or Os by name !!!
A word of warning though - beware the General Manager's cocktail party which is poolside every Friday night - the rum punches in particular are LETHAL but oh such fun - thankfully there's a BBQ to follow which soaks up the alcohol. Steak, lobster, shrimp, ribs, tuna etc plus all the trimmings - yummy.
The location is great as there are loads of restaurants/shops within walking/short taxi distance.
The only downside was having to leave after my fabulous 14 night stay - but as the staff always say, " you have to leave in order to return and this is certainly somewhere I want to return to - and soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

the perfect place on the perfect beach, relaxed luxury on a beautiful island. We spent a week, combining activities such as hikes, dives and island tours with staying at the beach, snorkling on the little reef outside and catching up on reading and work. The hotel consists of well-designed suites, making it easy to relax. Every other evening there was great live music and the food was excellent too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We were so disappointed with Treasure Beach . We arrived about 7pm on 6th December after having booked over 12 months earlier to be met by an empty reception desk and the Friday night managers cocktail party in full swing in the restaurant / bar area ( without Jason the manager who had left the island .....)

We were eventually shown to our garden view room no 17 which was smelling of damp and was dinghy .It was also noisy due to being the nearest room to the bar / entertainment area .The bell boy didn't know how to lock the patio doors so told us to put a chair against the door ( great security ) and it was obviously the worse room in the hotel used for overspill and probably a late check out room to have a shower in and freshen up !

We couldn't believe it and immediately complained to the acting manager who didn't appear to know which other rooms were available and when . We were shown to another 2 possible alternative rooms , the first of which was nearly as bad as the first one . It was technically a pool view room but was directly across from the bar area so would be just as noisy . The second room was an ocean front room which had not been cleaned as the previous occupants had just vacated the room. This room was okay but we were not offered it as a free upgrade , the acting manager was prepared to only charge us an extra 100 US dollars per night rather than the normal rate of 150 US per night . How generous of him after paying a lot of money to be initially put in a damp dungeon !!! No apology for the upset and inconvenience either . It ruined the start of our so called dream holiday and didn't end there as we had to sleep in the dungeon for the first night .

The next day we decided to attend the Virgin reps welcome meeting to complain about the situation and after about an hour and a half of intransigence on the part of the hotel we were offered the ocean view room as a free upgrade . We wanted to move to another hotel as we had lost trust and confidence in Treasure Beach but the price quoted to move was £2000 including cancellation charges !! We moved into the alternative room which to be fair was a nice room with a good view of the beach from the balcony but my partner by this stage felt uncomfortable in the hotel and had been greatly upset by the situation.

After 3 nights we decided to cut our losses and check out early after managing to book another hotel for the remaining 4 nights of our holiday - the SoCo hotel on the South coast boardwalk at Hastings which was fabulous ( and the subject of a separate review ) .

The other issues of concern we found at Treasure Beach were as follows:

1. The food was underwhelming to say the least . It was tasteless and bland and not of the quality expected from a purported high class hotel . The fruit juices were concentrated and it appeared that the hotel were cutting corners to save money. I would recommend that a new chef is employed in the same class as Andrew Jean executive chef at the SoCo hotel.

2. There were food hygiene concerns namely spoons were being used for the buffet breakfast items including scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages and then replaced in warm cloudy water in containers . This occurred on the Friday barbecue night as well and no tongues were evident . We complained about this to the virgin rep and surprise surprise the next day tongues were available and this practice had ceased... Why did it take a customer to complain before the hotel remedied the situation ??

3. The gym smelt of major dampness . No one used it to my knowledge presumably because of the dampness.

4. The price of alcoholic drinks was too expensive and most guests appeared to be drinking water at lunch and dinner due to the extortionate alcohol prices.

5. The staff on reception were in the main surly , unhelpful and disinterested .

In summary, Treasure Beach was a quality hotel 20 years ago but Jason needs to get a grip of the situation immediately before bad reviews become the norm ( see the last few negative reviews for instance ) The hotel is in a wonderful location but is living on it's past reputation and is relying on repeat customers who have been coming back for years without realising there are now much better quality hotels in Barbados and they are also much better value for money.

We never received an apology from anyone at Treasure Beach and I would suggest that Jason visits the SoCo hotel and speaks to Ralph Taylor the owner and observes the fantastic staff there as a guide as how to run a top class hotel with great customer service.











Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FergyS028, Director of Sales at Treasure Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Your review is mainly focused on Jason, the manager, who was off island on business. In the hotel business, this is a fairly common practice, especially in low season. In this case there were other managers on duty that resumed full time responsibilities while Jason was off island.

I can cite three instances in your review that you use the word “appear.”
“….the worst room in the hotel was used for overspill and probably a late check out room to have a shower in and freshen up.”
“It appears the hotel were cutting corners to save money.”
“Most guests appeared to be drinking water at lunch and dinner due to the extortionate alcohol prices.’
These are assumptions made by you, not factual information.

You cite your Virgin Rep throughout your review. The best practice for you in the future is to work with the hotel if you have a complaint, not a third party. You were trapped in that 2000 GBP cancellation fee by the Virgin Rep too, I’m assuming! Standard operating procedure at a hotel is that if a guest is unhappy and wants to leave – let them.

And last but not lease, your comment on “no free upgrade was offered,” - this seems to be a common theme in many of your other Trip Advisor Reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Very expensive and food very average. Staff are by and large friendly and attentive but front desk very surly and frankly unwilling to help (told on 2 occasions to come back as she's busy in back office counting cash). Manager not interested either! Location is lovely but rooms whilst spacious are very basic with lots of faults (like accessible windows/doors that don't lock!) Very loyal clientele which makes it a bit cliquey.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

it's a nice hotel, yet it's too expensive for what they offer.
clean - yes! clean.
view - it's NOT what you expect. You canNOT see water from your bedroom (even if you pay extra to stay for ocean view). they only view of the ocean that you get is from the balcony. which is nice, by i don't think it's worth the money.

bathroom - wow, it's DARK. ladies, if you want to see what makeup you're applying or taking off, then you're up for a challenge. It's the darkest bathroom i've ever seen. the light bulbs designed soooo poorly that there is no way you can see. Also, if you're a man shaving - you better know how to, cause it's just dark in that bathroom.

room - it's nice, clean, it's good quality, but nothing special and especially for the price - you are overpaying. I was there off season and it was expensive, in the USA in Miami you can be staying at a MUCH MUCH better hotel!!!

breakfast - that is a great one. As there are NO stores around that hotel, so if you want water - then you have to pay hotel price (which is like $3 a bottle) or you need to have a car to go to a store. there is nothing around the hotel, except for the beach and other hotels.

pool - it's small, so i saw lots of kids in there.

tea-break - that is awesome! they have little snacks and tea at 4pm, i thought it was great.

Staff - nice, but not superb.

restaurant - actually really nice, the food was really good. they also had a singer on fri or sat - so that was great entertainment.

i would not recommend this place, as the quality is mediocre while price is high. now if i go back, i know that i can get a nicer hotel for the same money, you just need to look and do your homework, which i didn't.

Room Tip: i don't think it's worth to pay extra for ocean view, as you only get it for the balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FergyS028, Director of Sales at Treasure Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Treasure Beach. The main concern seems to be that you felt you had overpaid for your stay with us. I did take a look at the other properties on the island and feel that we are very well priced as compared to our competitors. Of course each property has its own unique qualities, but we like to think that our biggest strength is the access to one of the best beaches on Barbados. This would address another one of your concerns – kids in the pool. During low season, we do allow children on property. Most of our guests spend time on the stunning beach directly in front of the property, and swim in the calm protected Caribbean waters. Did you get a chance to swim with the sea turtles? This us another unique experience to Treasure Beach. Of course, you won’t find any of this in Miami.

I’m sorry you did not find the mini mart across the street from Treasure Beach. They have all sorts of supplies, as does the front desk.

Thank you for your positive feed back on the tea and staff. We do hope you consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.