We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at Treasure Beach for a couple of days in Mid January. Very pleased to get an upgrade to an ocean view room which was great. Rooms are very nice, include a fridge and toaster but not sure why when the food at the hotel is good.
Very friendly bird life at the hotel too - the local wildlife in the shape of small birds like to drink from glasses and eat your food so be warned. Beach is only a few feet away and is wonderful - beautiful sand and warm water. Unfortunately this area also seems to be a favourite destination for snorkeling trips so you are often disturbed by the local pleasure boat trips like the pirate ship.
Overall a friendly hotel that I am sure you could spend a couple of weeks at if you really wanted to chill out and do absolutely nothing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    77
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
57
245
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fantastic hotel, great service and wonderful food. You would be hard pressed to beat the brilliant hotel. I have not been so relaxed in a hotel in Barbados ever the staff and the culture that runs through this hotel is authentic and original.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Treasure Beach Hotel is a real gem! From the initial greeting at reception to our (reluctant) departure, it was just what we had hoped for. The resort is lovely, and the location along the mile-plus Paynes Bay beach is ideal. The staff is truly lovely--helpful and gracious, as well as being a pleasure to talk and interact with. The suites are spacious and comfortable--if only the showers had a bit more flow. Kathy's restaurant serves fresh and delicious food, with local flair. It is the kind of vacation that makes us want to return.

Room Tip: The ocean view suites are a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just back from a 10 day stay at Treasure Beach where we celebrated my wife's 60th b'day. This was our first trip to Barbados so there was a lot of research and fact finding before selecting Treasure Beach. All expectations were met and even surpassed, so many thanks to all the team at Treasure Beach for making our stay truly memorable. First impressions are very important and things got off to a good start by being welcomed by Jason the manager as we arrived. Complimentary drinks made the efficient check in a very relaxing experience. In no time at all we were able to enjoy the comforts of our ground floor suite a few yards from the beach and the beautiful view of the Caribbean. Not only did we have a spacious bedroom, bathroom and sitting room but the suite also had a fridge, tea and coffee kit, and a good selection of glasses. Treasure Beach is relatively small but the combination of beautiful garden, beach, and pool in close proximity give it quite a wow factor. While planning the visit I found a worrying number of negative comments about service quality in Barbados but I can definitely say that this does not apply to Treasure Beach. The whole team were attentive, helpful and above all very friendly. Even while sunning on the beach a high service level is evident as you are looked after by Baker who serves; fruit kebabs, ice cold face cloths, and iced water, all a bit beyond my "European service" expectations. We had quite a lot of contact with Kevin in the restaurant who always looked after us very well. We had a buffet breakfast daily and took our evening meal in the hotel five times. All were enjoyable with the dinners being imaginative and high quality. I guess the quality of the hotel dining room is high as it is in competition with some top end restaurants within a ten minute taxi journey. We found Cin Cin to be the most enjoyable of those. Would we return? After having had the great experience of walking out of our room door every morning about 6.30 more or less straight onto that wonderfull beach for a pre breakfast walk in such great comfort the answer is a very definite YES.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have ground floor Ocean View suite 225. It has the benefits of close proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sims
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I married on the beach at Treasure Beach in 2005. We have been back 6 times now. Dare I say we love this place. The staff, the location, the food, the service, the attention -- extraordinary in every instance. We've loved the staff from the moment we arrived eight years ago, and practically every one of them are still there today, ageless and intent on making our time with them a special vacation. What strikes us is that over the years we encounter friends from previous years who return year after year. With all the options in the Caribbean I find it quite unusual that this occurs. Forget the chains, forget the all-inclusives, if you want the experience of spending your time on a beautiful beach with all the amenities of people who care for your comfort and enjoyment, Treasure Beach is your place! We will certainly return for many more years.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the same garden view room for every trip and request it yearly. A beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I just returned from an absolutely wonderful trip to Treasure Beach. From the moment we walked through the doors, we were wowed by the exceptional staff and the entire beauty. I have stayed at many of the finest hotels, and the staff here is unsurpassed. They are at your service with any need you might have. This was a perfect vacation and I will definitely be making another trip to Treasure Beach in the very near future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've just returned from our third time at Treasure Beach. Despite feeling we should "try somewhere different", it was just too tempting to go back to somewhere we just knew would be lovely and be everything we wanted. Because it's a small hotel (30-40 rooms I guess), you don't feel you're on a holiday-conveyor-belt and the staff are able to give you great service and share a joke or suggest an evening's entertainment etc... Helen and her team on reception cannot be more helpful - checking in your flights online, organising car hire, currency exchange or just checking you in to the hotel with a welcoming rum punch (or whatever you chose). It's the sort of place where if you can think of it, then ask because they'll probably find a way of sorting whatever it is you could imagine. So many of the guests are returning visitors that there's a sense of everyone being really relaxed and friendly because you're all agreed on what makes for a great hotel!

I'm sure that takes quite a lot of hard work behind the scenes, but it all feels effortless and relaxed. It's not a hotel to go to if you want lively entertainment, club 18-30 (more like club 30-90!), if you need kids-club entertainment for little ones, you're on a stag/hen holiday or if you like a hectic bustle of lots going on around you, nor is it 100% perfect 5* in it's decor (our shower, though ok, did need a knack to get the temperature right...not that we were bothered enough to even mention it, but for some folks that may be an issue).

The beach it's on is Paynes Bay - about half a mile south of the famous Sandy Lane hotel which takes 10-15 minutes to walk past at a leisurely stroll through the warm Caribbean and over the golden sand. It's walking distance to a couple of well-reviewed restaurants [Daphne's and Scarlett] and a short trip into Holetown where there are loads more. The hotel restaurant serves beautiful food and it's difficult to drag yourself out to a restaurant when the food at the hotel is so good! We like it and will return again and again....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.