We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Save Saved
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Smyrna TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Previous reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at Treasure Beach in July 2009 and my review is posted, having returned to read some of the reviews that visitors posted recently makes me laugh, are you serious this is where you review the Hotel not blame the hotel because the "Reef is Seriously degraded" are you serious, then another states that the Hotel looks like a "Motel" get real please when you write these reviews people, unfortunately hotels are like homes and having Plumbing issues Im sure that's happened to you and it's very unfortunate that this happened to a visitor and Im pretty dam sure the Hotel tried to get it fixed as soon as they could, and to the visitors who waited until the last day to complain, I just love the response from The sales director who obviously read all your other reviews. get real people please before you post on here, and NO I dont work for Treasure Beach, Im a Brit living in the States who has actually stayed at Treasure Beach and loved every moment even if I did book a King size bed and got two Queens pushed together it didnt spoil my holiday and it didnt warrant a complaint, I sucked it up and enjoyed my stay, THANKS Treasure Beach I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    65
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
46
215
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We cannot recommend this hotel enough. We booked for one week over Christmas and our only disappointment was not being able to change our flights and extend our stay to include New Year's eve. We had a garden view room but could see the sea. The Moulton Brown toiletries were a nice touch. Lovely bathroom and room cleaned daily. There was a varied menu each day. You could eat as much as you wanted at breakfast and didn't really need lunch, as afternoon tea was served daily.
We want to shout about this lovely little hotel, but also want to keep it a secret! The staff make the place and we met some super fellow guests during our stay. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which was a garden view but also had views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently spent 1 week in Barbados as part of our honeymoon trip to the Caribbean. Wow is all we could say we arrived to our room. We had been upgraded to a suite and wow. Massive bedroom, huge bathroom, walk-in closet and sitting room. We even had our own private pool on the balcony overlooking the beach. The hardest decision we had to make every day was whether to go to the beach or stay on the balcony.
Breakfast was very good - could do with some more choice and a little less oil when making omelettes.
Walking up every morning to the sound of crashing waves was just fantastic.
We hope to get back to Barbados very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I could not agree more with the previous comments. We had a fantastic time with great accommodation and staff who could not do enough to please. The food was varied and with plenty of choice and presented to a high standard. New Year's Eve was first class. We would have no hesitation in recommending Treasure Beach, or re-visiting as soon as possible.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Intimate hotel in fantastic location iterally right on one of the nicest stretches of beach on west coast. Lovely spacious rooms with balconys, living area, bedroom, double bathroom, ceiling fans. Breakfast and afternoon tea both excellent. Staff and manager fantastic. Lots of great restaurants in the area like daphnes and the cliff, but also easy and cheap to get around the island on nights out to oistins etc. Couldnt have asked for a better hotel or location. Will without a doubt be back.to stay at treasure beach. If your looking for something more personal than the normal bigger all inc chain hotels then dont hesitate to go here you'll have an amazing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the excellent Treasure Beach hotel in early December 2012. We chose this option from the package holiday provider’s website as we were attracted by its size and location. We wanted somewhere quiet to relax for a week in the sun and that is exactly what Treasure Beach delivered.
On arrival the reception area seemed small but as we were the only couple on the airport transit bus staying at Treasure Beach this presented no problems. We were received by polite, friendly and informative staff who offered complimentary drinks during check-in.
We stayed in a ground floor, pool view suite which was clean and well maintained. We had a double bedroom, large en-suite bathroom and a separate lounge area that opened onto a shaded porch. All our living spaces were cleaned to a high standard every day and the complimentary Wi-Fi was an added bonus.
The hotel has a beautifully maintained garden, pool and lawn area. The pool is quite small but not many people used it due to the close proximity of the beach. It is hard to resist the soft white sand and clear blue sea at Payne’s Bay. The sun beds and shades are all in good condition and set up by hotel staff every morning. Fruit kebabs are offered to hotel patrons on the beach around mid-morning and cold flannels are provided during the day. We were approached by a variety of beach vendors but they appeared to be well regulated and were not persistent or intimidating.
At breakfast the general manager introduced himself to new guests and took the time to check that all others were enjoying their stay. The hotel has only one bar/restaurant and although covered it is technically an outside space and therefore without air-conditioning. While I fully appreciate the manager’s desire to maintain high standards, the dress code of trousers and enclosed shoes for men does make dinner a little uncomfortable on hot evenings. We dined in the restaurant on four occasions and found the food to be excellent. Service was a little slow at peak times but that is the case in most hotels I have stayed in if all the guests decide to dine at the same time. The manager’s cocktail reception and barbecue were well attended and complimentary afternoon tea is served in the restaurant at 4pm every day. The hotel also offers a gym and spa facility but we did not use either of these during our stay.
There are bus stops outside the hotel and we used the local bus service on several occasions to travel into Holetown and Bridgetown. Holetown, although small, is about 10 minutes away and features all the usual facilities including a new shopping mall and a number of bars and restaurants. There is also a service station/convenience store close to the hotel.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Treasure Beach and although I wouldn’t recommend it to families travelling with teenage children it met our needs perfectly and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

There are two sides to "you're welcome", the positive one being the fact that the hotel and staff are very welcoming, the rooms are fine and the location is excellent. The negative side of "you're welcome" is that it is the standard response from all the staff irrespective of what service they have provided.........perhaps the Americans like this but at the time of our visit it was mainly British of which most but not all were over 60!
Overall it is an excellent venue but does lack atmosphere at times and also evening entertainment, probably due to having only 35 rooms.
If a quiet , relaxing holiday is what you want then this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: In such a small hotel the least expensive room will be perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.