We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our second visit here (Treasure beach has a lot of repeat business). The rooms are spacious and reasonably furnished, however the main attaction of Treasure Beach is the location and service.

It would be hard to fault the front desk, bar, restaurant, or housekeeping staff. As for the location, well what more could you ask for? It's literally 30 yards from breakfast to the beach and it is an excellent beach too.

There are a few downsides. The occasional evening entertainment is only adequate and the restaurant suffers from the hotel being small - it's hard to offer a great deal of variety when the guest numbers are low and Daphne's is a five minute walk, so the menu is safe and reasonably priced rather than cutting edge.

Room Tip: Sadly, if you want a better room pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    75
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
56
235
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Barbados but 2nd to the west coast. We picked the Treasure Beach based on tripadvisor reviews and the fact that it is small (35 suites). Unfortunately this was to backfire on us.

When we arrived, we were informed that there had been a burst pipe and our room (& 3 others) had no water - not really what you want to hear when you have been on the go for approx 17 hours!!. We were told that they were working on a" temporary fix" but we could shower in the spa which was below our room (once we negotiated our way around those working on the problem).

The weekly cocktail party was on that evening so we joined that for a short time and Jason (the manager) told us that we had our "temporary fix " & the plumber would be there the next day. As it turned out we only had water in the WC & basin, not the shower.

The next day, our Virgin rep Solange arrived & we advised her of the situation. We agreed to give the hotel until 1700 to sort out the problem & she kept Virgin informed. As the hotel was full, we could not move room. By 1700 nothing had changed. Jason seemed to think some progress had been ,so we then had a procession of people checking the water in our room and even changing the shower head - presumably that was going to convert the dripping brown trickle to an acceptable & clean water pressure!!

Jason checked the room availability (many people only stay for a few days). He was able to move us to another room for 2 nights, then a different one for 1 night and offered to upgrade us to a deluxe one for the last 3 nights - a bit much for a one week stay. We agreed to move for the first night but asked Solange to investigate alternative accommodation for the rest of our holiday.

We packed our things & moved to another room which was fine with a fairly large air conditioned bedroom ( plus ceiling fan), a separate living room with fridge and a large bathroom with water- which had begun to seem like a luxury. It was very similar to the original room and fairly typical Carribean style.

Once we were settled in, we went to dinner which was very enjoyable with good service. Breakfast was also fairly good. There was a reasonable amount of choice although things could have been replenished more quickly. The staff are all friendly and helpful . However they do tend to forget who requested an item and may try several tables before finding the right one. It is maybe just as well it is a small hotel but I found this quite endearing in a "Carribean chillout" sort of way. There are small birds which fly around at breakfast time, ever hopeful, so it is wise to keep one person at the table to shoo them away if it bothers you.

Few people seemed to use the pool as the sea was so close. The staff will place the sunbeds where you wish on the grass or the beach although the area available is limited. Towels are supplied by the hotel and the staff come round occasionally with fruit kebabs or cold towels which is very welcome. The complimentary afternoon tea with finger sandwiches and scones is also a nice touch.

A mosquito zapper complete with tablets was supplied in the bedroom. This was useful as I was unable to use my liquid one due to the socket being at a 90 degree angle. Molten Brown toiletries were supplied in the bathroom.

A bus stop is directly outside the hotel costing 2 Barbados dollars no matter whether you travel one mile or to the end of the line. It is definitely an experience and the music can be deafening but there is a lot of traffic and the footpath alternates from one side of the road to the other, so walking is a bit of a hazzard.

Our rep arranged for us to move to the Tamarind Cove which was next door. She even offered to get us a taxi which would actually have taken longer than it did for us to walk to the hotel!-nice touch but not required. Solange (& Virgin ) were extremely efficient in sorting out our problem & Virgin also covered the extra cost. It was much appreciated.

Jason apologised profusely and didn't charge us for any drinks we'd had while we had been at the Treasure Beach. It is a nice place & if circumstances had been different, we would have been happy to stay.Unfortunately it did restrict us during the first two days of our holiday as we didn't know what was going to happen but we are pleased that we were able to stay in the area we had chosen to return to for our 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 8 very enjoyable nights at this fine hotel to celebrate our anniversary. All rooms have a good sized lounge/kitchen area with fridge, a bedroom with a huge bed and TV and a super bathroom with 2 sinks and a 2 person shower. Towels and bedsheets are changed daily and are of a fine quality.
We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, and breakfast was made better each morning by the right, cheerful & welcoming attention from the waiting staff. This was the case with all the staff whether in reception or on the beach - nothing was too much trouble.
I was particularly impressed by the fact that the Manager, Jason made a point of coming to introduce himself soon after our arrival, and several times during breakfast or on the beach to ensure all was OK. He also very kindly supplied a bottle of chilled Prosecco for us to celebrate our anniversary.
We spent a lot of time away from the hotel with friends, so didn't have any further meals apart from a lunchtime sandwich on our first day. I found the menu for Kathy's restaurant interesting, but perhaps a little pricey.
For anybody looking for a peaceful, calm, pleasant and comfortable base in a desirable part of Barbados, on a glorious stretch of beach, then this is the place for you. We loved it and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our room was a designated Virgin Room, but we were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My fiancée and I stayed here for 8 nights during the first week of November 2012. This was out fourth visit to Barbados but the first to this resort. We were upgraded to room 23 which was a great room with sea and pool views. We loved the lounge area with its own access to the pool . The bedroom was a very good size along with the bathroom. The manager (Jason) was extremely helpful and was always available and was always keen to chat and ensure everything was as it should be. Breakfast was included which was great and the afternoon tea was a nice touch. I would recommend this resort and we will certainly return as we prefer these smaller more personal resorts. The staff were great and always helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in mid nov. stunning views, lovely beach, great hotel and staff, altogether made this a great short break for us. Would recommend this hotel for people who like mid-sized quality hotel with good service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were married at Treasure Beach and went back this year to celebrate our 25th WA. Our daughter (21) accompanied us. We were made so welcome, the accom. was excellent and the service and food first class. We were nervous going back to a place some years later but we had no reason for concern, it was far better!
We have to thank the Manager and his team for making this a most memorable holiday. They pulled out all stops and we cannot thank them enough.
It is our intention to return to Treasure Beach, perhaps for our 30th WA.
Tina, Melvin + Jessica Woolf

Room Tip: This is a small boutique hotel and all of the suites are carefully thought out. However, you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in Room 12, having booked a garden view room we got a clear view of the Ocean from the 1st Floor, so that was really a great start. This hotel is a little dated and really is a good 3.5 Star hotel but charges out at higher rates for food and drinks. We paid 1124 Pounds Sterling for flight (UK) and seven nights from Virgin, this deal could not be bettered.

Our clean suite was a decent size, with comfy bed, pillows and nice sheets and a modern bathroom, two person shower unit, but slightly noisy plumbing, The room could do with some more art and pictures to brighten it up, just bland. TV was modern and worked.

Breakfast was a buffet style which basically did not change apart from the type of potatoes, the selection (especially cereals) could be broadened. We did have great custom made Omelettes (ask for local spicy style) and the best crispy bacon.

The beach and gardens are very pleasant, however there is a lack of shade in the garden and I can imagine it high season getting a little crowded. The race for towels on the beds started from around 7am, with many users not using them till 10am, POOR. Lunch did not change during the week and some dishes seemed expensive for what they were, 48 B dollars for a fried dorado fish starter, which was good, 32 for a club sandwich. Service was accurate and prompt.

Cold towels and fruit kebabs were a nice touch, as was afternoon tea and sandwiches, but we only used once, as we tended to explore in the afternoons.

We did not eat dinner at the restaurant, as we ate breakfast there everyday and the whole area really does lack a little style and elegance, but the prices are still 5 star. We did not like the fact that you had to eat either two or three courses at a fixed price, sometimes we like 4 starters for instance. The bar area is small and again just bland, the rum punches were good, but the choice of Rums very limited...

We did not use the SPA as we saw the prices for the Massages worked out at around 90 pounds sterling, which frankly internationally speaking are absurb. Outside facilities were much less.

It's easy to list complaints, however we did enjoy the experience at the price we paid, we would be disappointed to pay anywhere near the prices on their website, especially in the high season

Room Tip: Make sure you get 1st or 2nd floor rooms, test the plumbing (toilets) before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.