We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Beach to your Saves list
Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

TRIPADVISOR WRITE-UP
After a one year hiatus, we arrived late to Treasure Beach Hotel, 28 June, for our honeymoon! Treasure Beach did not disappoint! Though our flight was delayed several times out of Miami, Tariq was waiting at the airport for a quick ride across the island. As requested prior to arrival, there were cold Banks beers and delicious sandwiches waiting in our refrigerator! We woke after a restful night to an abundant breakfast. After a relaxing day on the beach, we feasted on fresh seafood with the locals at Oisten’s. After just two nights, we regrettably left this hotel for a week at Petit St. Vincent Resort.
This is a review of Treasure Beach Hotel and not a review of Petit St. Vincent, so we will not include details of that resort. However, we will say that PSV is billed as an “exclusive, private island”. Bottom line – in every single category, Treasure Beach meets, or in most cases – EXCEEDS PSV!
We returned to Treasure Beach for another two nights on the backend of our honeymoon on Saturday, 7 July. We took the earliest flight back from Union Island to increase our time at Treasure Beach. Once again, we were met at the airport by our new friend, Tariq.
Back at Treasure Beach, we were looking forward to checking in, once again to a lovely garden room. Imagine our surprise when they upgraded us to the Hibiscus Suite. The Hibiscus is a large 3-room suite with a walk-in closet, private patio with a retractable awning and private pool on the beachfront. It has a stunning décor, with a large bathroom equipped with a soaker tub and separate shower, oversized towels, and boutique spa products. After the two best flying fish cutters (sandwiches) and cold Banks beers, we spent the remainder of the afternoon enjoying our luxury suite.
The only thing that could pull us away from this suite, was our next favorite thing at this resort – Kathy’s Restaurant! Our compliments to the chef! Both nights before we returned to the States, we enjoyed multi-course dinners at the resort’s dining room. The menu offered a variety of options for local seafood, beef, chicken, and vegetarian dishes. We never ordered a single dish at ANY meal that disappointed! We highly recommend the flying fish cutter with Bajan hot sauce and the grilled flying fish on the breakfast menu.
The wine list at Treasure Beach offered many international options for wine, as well as champagne. We enjoyed the last night of our honeymoon at Treasure Beach with a lovely bottle of champagne watching the sun set from the private pool in the Hibiscus Suite before dinner!
We introduced ourselves to the islands of the Caribbean through Eastern, Western, and Southern cruises. Barbados captured our hearts like no other island. Barbados has beautiful topography, historic architectures, diverse backgrounds, and industrial prosperity. Crime is low and the island is manicured, safe, and friendly. The people of Barbados are proud of their cultural heritage!
We are discerning travelers and take a major vacation every year. With some discretion, we are working through destinations documented in the book, 1000 Places to See Before You Die. This is our 4th trip to Barbados and our 3rd directly to the Treasure Beach Hotel! We have stayed in all room categories. We can safely say there is no bad room in the resort. Whether you overlook the tropical gardens, the pool, or ocean from your private suite, you’ll sleep well and relax from all worries.
Saving the best for last, we’ll mention the staff. In our opinion, the staff can make or break a resort. We like a “personal” experience where the staff learns our names, our preferences, and our drink order before we ever speak a word. The staff at Treasure Beach Hotel really delivers! Most of the staff have been there for more than 10 years! That speaks volumes. The staff is led by a world-class manager. Jason ?????? personally welcomes each and every guest. He goes to extreme lengths to ensure that all guest needs are met, delivering a personalized experience for each person. Kevin, Vernon, Johnson, Jason, Helen, and all the others deliver just the right amount of attention, making you feel special, while keeping their distance to ensure an intimate experience. The staff at Treasure Beach gets it right!
We absolutely love this hotel, for all the right reasons, and will continue to return year after year. The staff, grounds, and beach bless us every time we visit. We’re glad that we could share such a lovely place and experience in this forum. We’ve posted our pictures. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if we can provide any further information regarding our favorite place on earth.

Room Tip: All the rooms at Treasure Beach are exceptional especially the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    69
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
51
225
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My Partner and I travelled to Barbados for the first time this summer and we had the most incredible time!! This was due obviously to the natural beauty Barbados has to offer and also by our fortunate selection of hotel.

Upon arrival we were sincerely greeted, and offered complimentary refreshments of our choice. The Rum Punch being one to remember!! We were introduced to a number of friendly staff and we were made to feel very welcome and "at home".

Our suite was perfection, clean, cool, spacious, grand, elegant with tasteful decor and amazing views from our terrace out to sea. The location is quite literally on the beach,(the best stretch of beach I might add), with the least rocks yet also immediate access to the reef where we enjoyed snorkelling most days. All the water sports you require are there, and the locals will come to you to arrange or the hotel can organise. We went on an amazing private boat and swam with turtles, we also jet skied as and when we wanted. Everything is so relaxed and so easy. You can do as little or as much as you like.

We ate at the hotel restaurant, Kathy's most evenings as the food was simply so good, fresh, varied and authentic with genuine service to match. We were also recommended a few restaurants worth visiting by the hotel - which we also enjoyed greatly. Any requests we had were happily and promptly dealt with by the staff at treasure beach.

Overall I don't have one negative comment to make about our stay - we simply had the best time...we didn't want to leave. This was the first of many visits to come. It's rare that you go to an amazing location and are fortunate to find an equally amazing hotel with the service, food and hospitality to match. Everything here is as good as it gets. I would most definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I got married at Treasure Beach in April this year and we were so impressed we have just booked to return next year. It was our first visit to Barbados and we wanted somewhere small and intimate to tie the knot with our few guests. The whole trip and the wedding was aMazing, the hotel and location was everything we wished for and the friendliness of the whole team at Treasure Beach helped to make it a perfect stay. Debbie the wedding planner could not do enough for us before and during the visit and nothing seemed too much trouble. In fact all the staff were lovely and were a credit to Jason the manager. We didn't want a "conveyor belt" wedding and it was lovely that during our stay we were the only weddingmooners!! Our guests were also impressed, having stayed in a different hotel. The hotel is right on the beach at the quiet end of Payne's bay (my vote for best beach on the west coast) and has a perfect viewpoint for the beautiful sunsets. The hotel itself is charming and lovely with perfected cared for and pretty gardens. Rooms are lovely to be honest I can't praise this hotel enough. My husband and I loved Barbados, we stayed bed and breakfast which I think is the best way to do Barbados as there are so many lovely places to eat out. We did have a couple of meals in the hotel and had the wedding meal there which were all excellent but it was also nice to experience what else Barbados had to offer. We hired a car and were out and about quite alot exploring the island and surfing on the east and south coast at Zeds Place, we stopped off in rum shacks for fish, rice and peas and found little places to eat off the beaten track overlooking the ocean.We loved Ragamuffins and Angry Annies in Holetown and had a lovely meal in the Tides too. The fish fry at Oistins was also a favourite.

All in all a fantastic trip and top notch hotel. We can't wait for next year!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were only at Treasure Beach for one night. We were welcomed with refreshing drinks after a long day of travel and after settling into our suite could relax and unwind in the very well kept gardens. The suite itself was very clean and comfortable and I loved the large soft bath sheets and swimming towels In the evening we had a superb meal in the restaurant The beach was lovely and we enjoyed an early morning swim in the sea the next day.
We will definitely chooseto stay here when we return to Barbados.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Treasure Beach hotel from the 20th to 27th of August 2012.
We were delighted on our arrival to be upgraded to a ocean view room and given a complimentary drink.
We fully appreciated the ocean view when we drew back the curtains on our first morning.
The beach was amazing as were the well kept gardens.The pool was fairly small but most people used the beach.
The room was clean and comfortable not delux but very satisfactory. Air con in the bedroom. We chose the bed and breakfast option which also included afternoon tea which was lovely
sandwiches, scones and cream.
The breakfast was excellent, buffet style with the chef cooking eggs and pancakes on request.We had dinner one night in the hotel which was excellent as was the service. The staff understand that you may not wish to eat in the hotel every night and are happy to recommend and book restaurants for you.
As we stayed out of season the hotel was quiet which we enjoyed. The hotel is right on the white sandy beach and the staff put sun loungers out on the beach and on the grassed area of the hotel.Towels provided on a daily basis.
The general manager Jason cared about his guests and was always happy to stop and have a chat. All the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
The bar lacked a bit of atmosphere at night but this may have been as it was out of season.
We used the local buses that run from just outside the hotel.
The hotel is more suited to adults and we would definetly love to return.
We chose this hotel after reading comments on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Treasure Beach in August, which although is off peak, was probably the best decision we made. It meant the hotel and tourist industry in general was a littly quieter and everything was much cheaper but the weather was just as fantastic.

Treasure Beach is a fantastic hotel on the west coast of Barbados. The room was lovely, bright and airy, with a large bathroom (seperate shower and bath), a huge bed and a seperate lounge area, fridge (decent sized), toaster, kettle and cuttlery which meant we could go to the supermarket and get some drinks and snacks etc to have as we wanted. The decor wasn't overly modern, but was in line with the surroundings and local design and the room was immaculately clean. We had a basic room by the way and weren't upgraded so I can only imagine what the more expensive rooms are like.

We only ate in the evening once, but what we ate was excellent, and the portions were huge. We like to explore so this was the main reason we ate elsewhere, also their menu is set at a minimum of two courses and there was no way I could eat a starter and a main of that size every night. Dinner wasn't included so we paid extra for this. Breakfast was lovely, with the option of eggs cooked anyway you wanted, as well as bacon, sausages, beans and fried potatoes on the hot buffet. There was also cereal, toast, fresh fruit and yogurts available, we ate till we were stuffed every morning. We didn't have lunch in the hotel as we were always so full from breakfast, but we did take full advantage of the complimentary afternoon tea, which consisted of finger sandwiches, freshly made cookies, scones with cream and jam and tea and coffee.

The pool and beach area were fantastic, there are no sun loungers around the pool which is nice, in fact the sun loungers were either on the grass over looking the beach or on the beach itself. The staff were happy to put loungers out were you wanted them as well as umbrellas if you needed shade. The beach is beautiful and the water is cordoned off from jet skis making it safe to swim and snorkel. You do have locals passing by trying to sell you stuff, but they are harmless and will leave you alone if you ask them to, also if the Treasure Beach staff are around they will ask them to move on. The nicest suprise of the first day was lying by the beach on the first day when at around 11am, a member of staff came around with a large cocktail stick of fresh fruit which was lovely and refreshing and then again at 11:30 he bought frozen flannels to cool you down. It was idyllic. The pool area and grounds in general were immaculate and there were constantly staff around tidying up and keeping everything looking beautiful.

The staff were lovely and there were some real characters, but nothing was too much trouble and they were always really friendly. Another highlight was the managers cocktail evening which took place by the pool surrounding by candles, there were free cocktails and appetizers and Jason the manager spoke to all of the guests to make sure everyone was happy!

Outside of the hotel it is a little more expensive on the west coast and at first we thought maybe we'd made the wrong choice but after travelling round the island, we were happy to return to our little bit of paradise. Holetown is just north of the hotel and you can get on one of the many buses (heading to S'town or Speighttown) in order to get there (don't try walking), there are some lovely restaurants up there, although you have to search down the side streets (try 1st or 2nd street opposite the Limegrove Centre) and we made the most of a fantastic beach bar that had happy hour from 5-7pm. There is also a supermarket and some nice shops so don't be afraid to explore.

Another place that we loved to head to for a quick lunch snack if we felt peckish was a place called the Roti Hut which is a five minute walk from the hotel, just walk out the hotel turn right and it's opposite the petrol station. You could get a huge roti filled with chicken or beef or anything else you could want for about £4. It was fab.

All in all, Treasure Beach is wonderful hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to visit it again or recommend it to anyone else. And don't be afraid to visit off peak, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely with their own balcony or patio, and there was never any noise. We were tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's been a few years since I went myself but my parents continue to frequent this gorgeous boutique hotel and it cannot be recommended enough. Barbados truly is beautiful and this is the perfect place to enjoy it. The food is delicious, the staff really helpful and friendly. Enjoy!

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel are the best right on the beach but they cost more. they have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.