We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A wonderful Hotel'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint James Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper
Save
You added The Sandpiper to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'A wonderful Hotel'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from what can only be described as one of the best holidays ever. Having been many times to Barbados over seventeen years we have stayed in a number of good hotels on the Island. The Sandpiper is in a class of its own- excellent accommodation (we stayed in suite 3) kept spotlessly clean throughout the whole holiday, combined with a very high standard of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Staff in all areas were attentive, friendly and made us feel very welcome. The number of repeat guests that we met over the two weeks is testament to what an excellent hotel this is. An added bonus was the tennis professional (at no additional cost) which allowed us to brush up on our tennis and get some exercise for two hours most nights. We will certainly be returning next year.

Room Tip: The rooms that we have seen were of a very high standard of decor and comfort many of which have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    23
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
142
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper over our February break. We were staying at a nearby resort but had to move as our house flooded - it was a blessing in disguise! The night manager so very kindly organised accommodation for myself, my husband and our 4 children at very short notice. The staff from the minute were just so helpful,friendly and attentive. They couldn't have done more for us. The night we arrived there was a fantastic buffet bbq night and we were amazed at how gorgeous the food was. We decided to have our breakfast on our patio and again it was delicious.
The rooms themselves are absolutely stunning. More importantly they were so clean and well maintained. We were literally less than a 2 minute walk to the beach. When there we were brought complimentary refreshments which were delicious. There is a lovely sense of calm about the place and we really relaxed for the few days that we were blessed to be there. We will definitely be returning to that very special place. Thanks to all the staff who looked after us when we were there. See you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We found ourselves in the unfortunate position of having to move out of our rental home due to an intruder overnight. Thankfully, for the last 4 nights of our holiday, across the road in Hole Town, The Sandpiper Hotel came to our rescue, and had a 1 bedroom suite available. It was stunning, and more than made up for our misfortune. The suite was beautiful, the hotel position right on the beach was fantastic, the breakfasts were gorgeous, and the staff were all very friendly and professional. Although, this all comes at a very high price, but definitely a luxury experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Returning to the Sandpiper is just like visiting old friends - amongst both the staff and the other guests. It's all just to comfortable and divine and if it wasn't for her ladyship I wouldn't set foot outside of the hotel grounds (except for regular visits in and on the sea). Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.
Just one small point, Wayne, it's well past time to give the Hobie cat a thorough service - the rigging is so slack I wonder how much longer before something breaks and the mast comes down.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was our second visit to the Sandpiper in the last 18 months and a visit that we didn't regret. This hotel is first class and we love everything about it. We initially stayed in a one bedroomed suite which had lovely sea views from the room and the wooden verandah. It also had a well equipped kitchenette which was handy, as we were staying on a B and B basis. We then moved to a garden room (as the suite had been previously booked) for the remainder of our stay. It was a lovely large room, excellent bathroom and a beautiful outlook onto the tropical gardens. It was only a stone's throw from the beach. The accommodation at the hotel was excellent, very comfortable beds, bathrooms with plenty of hot water with his and hers basins and kept very clean. Table and chairs were provided for outside use along with 2 comfortable wicker loungers. The tropical gardens within the hotel were lovely, it has a small beach and a decked area. It also has a small but beautifully formed swimming pool. There was plenty of room for everyone. This is a charming and enchanting small hotel.
We cannot speak highly enough of the staff at this hotel. The service we received throughout our two week stay was first class, friendly and efficient. The reception staff were so helpful and informative. They helped arrange various trips and car hire for us. The staff at breakfast, the bar and restaurant were again, courteous, friendly and helpful. The free local daily newspaper at breakfast was a nice touch.
We did have a few meals at the hotel and their lunches, evening meals (especially the BBQ) were fantastic. The food was fresh, varied and of excellent quality.......thoroughly recommended. Although, it is only a 5 minute walk into Holetown itself, where there are plenty of different restaurants to choose from, our favourites were Nishi and Tides.
We also used the Spa at their sister hotel which is literally minutes away, there is a free transfer there. The Spa is lovely and they have experienced therapists. I had a wonderful facial, especially designed for me, by therapist Rhea (hope I have spelt it correctly).
Without a doubt we will return again, we felt so relaxed and well looked after, the hotel is definitely a favourite of ours. It deserves an 'excellent' 5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Three generations visited over April school vacation. Staff could not have been more attentive. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed out stay. Food was delicious and enjoyed by all (even the picky eaters). Rooms were lovely. We are already planning a return trip. Thank you Sandpiper for a memorable vacation.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Firstly I have to say that this hotel is definitely 5 star, they have the good rooms, with stone wall features. The beach bar, water sports, great restaurant, swimming pool.
Its smaller than the others, and for this you get the cosy feel where they give you one to one service and make you feel at home.
At the bar there are letters and thank you notes from guests, many of them regulars. This is a place where the guests feel at home and many people keep coming back.
We want to be part of the family and come back!
thanks for your warmness and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sandpiper 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Saint James
Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Barbados
The Sandpiper Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandpiper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.