We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SANDPIPER REVISITED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint James Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper
Save
You added The Sandpiper to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SANDPIPER REVISITED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We revisited the restaurant at the Sandpiper after an earlier experience which was not good at all. What a difference. This time, as well as excellent food (a given) the service was immaculate and the atmosphere, helped by a brilliant singer and backing band, was fabulous.

Couldn''t fault it at all. Everyone deserves a second chance and they will certainly get many more. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    23
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
152
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The sandpiper is a gorgeous small hotel in the best part of the island of Barbados. It is sophisticated, elegant, has an intimate feel and features great food, beach (albeit small) and large spacious rooms. The only two aspects of the sandpiper that deserve attention are the bathrooms and the service.. Which borders with impersonal. The bathrooms need a bit of tlc, they are a bit dated and both the bath tubs and the showers look like they are stuck in the 90's.
the food is very very good and there is always something different to choose from. In Barbados restaurants are generally expensive but the food is outstanding. I would suggest guests staying in the sandpiper get the map option and have one meal in the hotel and one meal out.... Best of both worlds!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor. More privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had 11 nights in the best room in the hotel, beachfront with a fabulous view of the bay and with sunbeds on decking overlooking the beach. We had a large king size bed suite, which was a genuine suite with a seperate 225 sq ft lounge and same size bedroom, plus kitchen, bathroom and seperate shower room. Whilst a bedroom would be more than adequate a suite was truly luxurious particularly for a stay of more than a few days. The twice daily maid service was first class and as expected the rooms and the rest of the hotel was kept impeccably clean. The gardens are lush, tropical and very attractive.
We had paid in advance for half board (MAP) and had room service breakfast on our balcony every morning (room service is free although we did tip the waiter) delivered on the dot of 7.40am every morning. The hot food was hot and the fruit delicious. Each room has a toaster to make your own toast so that was warm as well! The dinner in the restaurant is really 5 star food with daily specials and a main menu that changes every Monday. A wide variety including Pasta dishes as well as meat and fish. The cold soups are fantastic served in distictive soup bowls . Different low key entertainment each night varied between a pianist, jazz trio, 60's-80's soft rock and one night a Barbadian girl group (the girl group did not really work but they were really enthusiastic).
Other bonuses are the dine around option when booking half board although we did not use it as my wife did not believe the food could be anywhere near as good anywhere else and why dress up and leave the Sandpiper when you can just walk down to the restaurant ? Bonus of free water sports and low cost water-skiing(BDS 25 for 15 mins). Diving at Hightide watersports (at coral reef 500m walk away) although we saw turtles and lots of healthy coral there is very little fish life (if it is big enough to eat it has been caught, cooked and served).
There were only two (slight) disappointments. Firstly whilst some of the staff provide first class service (eg Harold in the beach bar knowing our room number and that we liked ice cream at 4pm, Patrick in the restaurant knowing our names the first night in the restaurant and the reception staff particularly Olinda making my wife's birthday special ) other restaurant and bar staff seemed to wander about and talk amongst themselves rather than deliver drinks/food/nibbles in a very similar manner to the average British restaurant but I suppose we were expecting better. Secondly although there are enough sunbeds (sad I know but we counted all 94 of them) the largely English guests start bagging them at 6.30am so they get their favourite spot. Not a lot the Sandpiper can do but it does detract from the small luxury hotel ambience and does not happen at other top places we have stayed.
So would we visit again? Yes definitely. If you want a small beachfront hotel with 5 star food and 5 star rooms it is well worth the money. Next time we might stay in a tree tops suite which we viewed as it has its own sundeck and sunbeds and a plunge pool so with room service no need to leave the room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Well. I am surprising myself writing this. The Sandpiper - a hidden gem on Barbados. Have been to the island many many times we normally stay at the Sandy Lane last time was in November but sadly unless you are celebrity status you feel overlooked. So a change. Was recommended the Coral Reef Club but was fully booked and the directed us here, their sister hotel. Small and beautiful, the food is amazing, as good if not better than anywhere we've eaten on the island including the Cliff. Staff are friendly and helpful, in fact cannot do enough. Service is impeccable. Rooms beautiful and you feel like you actually are in Barbados as opposed to some faceless marble hotel that could be anywhere. Absolutely love it, would place it up there with the St. Geran, the Reethie Rah etc etc. Its not glitzy - dont come expecting that. But it's everything else and more. Can't wait to come back. Huge congratulations to the management and staff on achieving a top quality hotel with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying in a one bedroom suite and are a professional couple in our late 30s with no kids. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we could not fault it. Some of the positives for us:

- Room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. Maid service each day and turn down service each evening meant nothing was ever out of place with fresh beach towels delivered each evening too. The balcony in the suite was a lovely place to relax with a cold beer before dinner and overlooked exceptionally well kept gardens - I could have spent the whole week there!
- Food. As good a standard as you would come across in any good restaurant in a major UK city in my view. The fish is the best we have ever had - on barbeque night (once a week) there was a great array of seafood which you pointed out and was cooked fresh in front of you - mahi mahi, snapper, Bajan flying fish, tuna. Breakfast was fantastic as well. The fruit was also some of the most delicious ever - the melon and pineapple also tasted the best we have ever had. This is all topped off by a good wine list (for dinner you understand, not breakfast!) and excellent service which was neither too formal nor informal - you could have some banter with the waiters if you wanted.
- Pool area - a great alternative to the beach - the pictures we took of it just did not do it any justice. It was toward the front of the hotel and there was some noise from the road - this would be the same for most hotels on this side of the west coast of the island and is not within the control of the hotel.
- Smallness - we liked the fact it was a small hotel with quite an intimate feel. There are only about 48 rooms. You did get to know other guests and exchange pleasantries. There is a high number of repeat guests and you could see how lot of people seemed to know each other. On one of the nights the hotel hosts cocktails and canopes before dinner so you could mingle with other guests if you wanted which we thought was a nice touch
- Attention to detail - little things like coming round the beach with sorbets and jugs of iced water, a newspaper over breakfast (it was nice to read the news from another country's point of view), the fact that the maitre'd knew our names after day one and greeted us personally each evening (Patrick gets a mention for this and there was another younger chap who was the same whose name I did not get) and a hand delivered personlised invitation to the cocktail evening whilst we had breakfast.

All in all it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and close to one of the best holidays we have ever had. As always it was sad to leave but came with another great finishing touch of the Managing Director (Wayne) and the Duty Manager (Henderson) waving us (and all guests) off in our car to the airport - clearly these guys set the tone that the rest of the hotel staff follow well.

We have many places left to visit in the world but if we ever want a guaranteed hassle free, relaxing and top quality break, we will return to The Sandpiper.

Room Tip: Tips - tap water is fine to drink (better than the water in the south-east of UK). Also make use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is the loveliest hotel. It is by no means a large hotel but that makes it even nicer. The staff are fantastic, obliging and friendly. The restaurant is extremely good, where BBQ evenings are fantastic and the buffet which happens once a week is very good with a wonderful choice of food. Every evening there is some kind of entertainment. The rooms are very comfortable.
Special mention should be made for Harold's Bar which is like a little beach bar with seating for lunch. Harold's in a lovely meeting place where guests mingle and pass the time of day and as many of the guests are returning guests there is a lot of catching up from year to year.
Any hotel which gets a returning number of guests in the numbers the Sandpiper gets must certainly being doing something right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sandpiper on the way to Mustique. The rooms and suites are spread around the garden which would be worth a visit in its own right - a wonderful combination of architectural shapes and flowering shrubs and trees. Our suite was very spacious and included a fully equipped galley kitchen - useful for making snack lunches. The staff are universally cheerful, polite and fully professional. The management here must be seriously good. What comes as an unexpected bonus is the extremely high standard of cooking: every single dish at dinner was a winner with unusual combinations such as carrot and ginger soup. The chefs are versatile so that veal Milanese is cooked with the same skill as a West Indian curry At breakfast there is a vast array of buffet dishes and ( a great blessing) an industrial toaster. I should also mention the delightful interior of the dining room which at night is light by lantern type illumination and looks very exotic. The beach is not very long but ample for the number of guests.
This is not a place to go an all action holiday but otherwise it would be hard to do better.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sandpiper 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Saint James
Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Barbados
The Sandpiper Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandpiper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.