We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - already planning our return visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper

Save Saved
You added The Sandpiper to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sandpiper
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing - already planning our return visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having spotted the Sandpiper on the Small Luxury Hotels of the world website, I was really looking forward to visiting Barbados and staying at this incredible looking hotel. From the moment we arrived, the welcome was as warm as the weather and we were shown through the beautiful tropical garden and settled in to a great garden room with a glass of rum punch to kick off the holiday.

The rooms are very spacious and well appointed and ours featured an enormous double bed; plenty of storage; large balcony with table, chairs and loungers and a sizeable bathroom with separate shower and bath and two sinks. The windows are all fitted with insect screens to keep out bugs and jalousie blinds that can be flipped closed to keep light out or the air conditioned cool air in. The beds are very comfortable and I was pleasantly surprised to find that there is no television in the rooms – a great thing as far as I’m concerned.

Meals at The Sandpiper are served in a spacious dining room which is open at the sides allowing views of the gardens and ornamental ponds which surround it. Staff are very friendly and courteous and the food is among the best I’ve had in any hotel in the world. Evening meals in particular are absolutely amazing with a great selection of meat and fish to choose from and an extensive wine list. We were staying on the half board (MAP) basis and although we could have eaten out at one of the many other nearby restaurants on the island, we didn’t feel that we were particularly missing out by being lazy and staying at the hotel every night. Several of the other guests commented that the food at the hotel was better value and quality than they had had at other nearby restaurants during their stay.

A highlight for me were the delicious drinks and friendly guys at Harold’s Bar – including Harold himself, of course. The bar is a great place to get out of the sun and chat with the other guests during the midday heat or watch the sunset. If you’re on the beach or sea front veranda during the day, the guys will bring drinks to you including jugs of ice water and sorbets at 11 am. It’s all very relaxed and makes the days really draw out.

A couple of tips to be aware of are that there are hawkers on the beach who can sometimes be a bit on the dodgy side. It’s always best not to give deposits for any activities with these guys and if you want to book anything, either use your tour rep or speak to Harold at the bar or with reception. I found out the hard way that evening dining attire for men in Barbados’ hotels and restaurants requires long trousers which I hadn’t taken with me and had to buy whilst away. Dress codes will often state something along the lines of ‘elegantly casual’ which isn’t very helpful so always take at least one pair of long trousers to be on the safe side.

I’ve stayed in some great hotels over the years but I think the Sandpiper is probably my favourite when it comes to sun, sea and sand. The staff and other guests are all so friendly and laid back that I was instantly relaxed and I’m already longing to come back next year. If you only try one hotel in Barbados, make it this one, you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Single bed suites are amazing but get a garden room not to far from the beach and you'll be fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    22
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
138
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband surprised me stayed in the WHIMBREL suite, I couldn't believe still couldn't after my last day.
Had breakfast on our swing around balcony with pool, sorry for staff as its on the third floor.
Bottle of champagne on arrival and a welcome rum punch , amazing sunset and also got a picture
Of a rainbow.
Staff so nice and friendly nothing was too much trouble.
We were on the meal plan not like all exclusive in Europe worked so well, you could have anything
And swap lunch for dinner or go to alternate hotels ,which I couldn't imagine doing, the days were
Going to quick as it was.
I'm a fussy white wine drinker , amazing wine list even for the likes of me
And they make the best cup of tea.
I'm defnetly coming back I love love it. Be sad to go but going on "silver whisper" cruise so hopefully, make up for leaving.

Room Tip: One of the two suites amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am not sure that I really want to share how good the Sandpiper Hotel is!

My wife and I have now been back three times, most recently in October 2012, and each stay has been utterly wonderful. As such, the Sandpiper (and its lovely team) really deserves to be more widely recognized as outstanding.

The top floor suite we have stayed in on the last two occasions has been first class, with a really comfortable ambiance, plenty of room in both the bedroom and the lounge area and air conditioning that really works well. There is also plenty of storage/hanging space (and hangers), something that is often overlooked elsewhere.

The Bathroom has recently been renovated and is up to the highest quality I have seen - meticulously cleaned and towels changed at least once (if not twice) a day - with fresh beach towels provided as well.

The terrace on the suite is expansive and well equipped.Super to sit on at the end of the day watching the sun go down. The kitchenette means that you can make your own tea/coffee if you do not want use the hotel room service and the full size fridge means that milk can be kept fresh/drinks kept cold.

In our first year, we stayed in a top floor garden room and this was also wonderful.

Indeed, the gardens are something that really makes the Sandpiper. It is easy to try to scrimp and save on this type of area, but the gardens are beautifully laid-out and maintained to the highest standards.

We were on the meal plan which provides for breakfast and dinner. We have to admit that after three years, we still have not used the exchange dining on offer. The food at the Sandpiper is first rate. The breakfast buffet is very extensive and there is also a range of breakfast items that can be cooked to order. The provision of the Barbados Advocate to read for each breakfast table is also a nice touch!

Dinners are of the highest quality - with a daily selection of "specials" - two starters, mains and a dessert - as well as an extensive weekly menu. Enough selection to make choices tricky - but enough choice not to leave one bored of yet another "starred" dinner! The highlight on the food side this week was the Mango Souffle with freshly made Mango sorbet - outstanding!

Lunch (not included in the meal plan) is available from the beach bar and also has a range of daily specials and a regular menu. Always beautifully prepared. We also had the opportunity to take "afternoon tea"! The tea platter of sandwiches, scone, cream, jam and cakes was exquisite - another culinary highlight of the week.

All the staff are very friendly - knowing which room you are staying in without having to be reminded. The beach staff will prepare your beach chairs for you and provide you with water through the day. The highlight on the beach is the 11am sorbet...uddenly the swimming area clears!

We tend to be fairly active, so the Tennis courts and the gym are an important part of the overall package for us. This year the courts - two astro/carpet courts - were in excellent condition. The Hotel provides "group" coaching from 4-6 with a "pro" - they also provide a wide choice of rackets and balls, if you need them. We tended to play after the coach finished as a family group. The floodlights are great and there are iced towels and water - another nice touch.

The same level of consideration is found in the well equipped gym. It is not the largest area - but has everything that one needs, running machines, cross trainers, rowing machine, free weights, weights machines and floor mats and good aircon!

We were also very grateful for the watersports team. Most guests were more interested in the Water-skiing. This appeared to be excellently managed. We were more interested in the sailing. We sailed the Hobie wave pretty much every day (until the water was too choppy) - this was in great condition and had a new sail. We also sailed the Laser that the team got across from the Coral Reef Club for us - a real plus for anyone who enjoys their single-hander sailing!

This last point really exemplifies the attitude of the management and staff at the Sandpiper. At least one of the Senior Management, Wayne or Russell, is on hand every day. They make a point of getting to know their clients at a personal level and speak with people daily. They also made a point of eating dinner in the restaurant at least once in the week. When we asked on the fist evening about getting the Laser across, it was sorted by 11am the following morning!

Would we go back again? We have done - and we will do again (booked already). In fact, on "only" our third trip to the Hotel we are definitely unusual. One family we spoke to were on their 19th trip and one guest had been going for over 20 years! Such customer loyalty speaks for itself.

If you want a place to get away from everything and really relax (did I mention the fact that there is a blissful absence of TVs in the rooms)...then the Sandpiper is just the spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon this year, and were not disappointed. The Taff here are very friendly, and help out whenever they can. Upon arrival there was cocktails and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us in our room. We had a suite whilst we were there that had its own kitchen, balcony, living room and bedroom, all of which were presented well and very clean. The whole hotel is very well kept and the gardens and beach are clean and tidy. The food here was very nice, with the buffet night having a lot of choice, all very well cooked. There are no tv's in the rooms here which you do not miss to be honest, and I have to say that the cocktails at the beach bar were wonderful. The private beach is rather small unless you sit down near the water, however we always got a lounger. The only thing at this hotel I could complain about are the other guests. They all seem to have an air of ignorance to them. Maybe it was just the guests here whilst we were there, but it was almost as if they were the only people staying at he hotel. This is by no means the fault of the hotel I have to state, but I think that we were ignored by all other guests as we were younger than them. We stayed at sandy lane down the road from here and mixed with rich and famous people who were far more friendly than these idiots. Saying that this is not the fault of the hotel, so do not let this put you off booking, what is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper for a week in October 2012. Everything about the hotel was excellent.
Location - very near to Holetown (a 3 minute stroll away) with it's bars, restaurants, supermarkets and shops
Rooms - luxurious, clean, comfy beds, modern bathrooms, well fitted kitchenette, serviced daily with evening turndown
Room Terrace - large with 2 loungers and a large table
Pool - small, but perfect for the size of the hotel (44 rooms)
Beach - crystal clear water, white sands, warm water
Restaurant - breakfasts with large choice of fruit, cereals, savoury cheese / hams / smoked fish, plus a selection of cooked dishes under cover or to order. Dinners extremely well prepared meals I would say Michelin star standard
Prices - drinks very reasonable, especially rum cocktails and beers. Food prices comparable with other top class restaurants in the area,
Eating out - We tried a number of food places in the area, Tides Restaurant was superb - well worth a visit, we also tried a couple of local cafes, but for the prices charged not really up to scratch, next visit we will try some other recommended local restaurants
Staff - from the initial introduction to the hotel facilities by the duty manager, the General Manager and Director to Harold (who runs the beach bar) who is a font of knowledge on where to go or what to do, to the friendly cleaning ladies, the restaurant staff, receptionists, all were so friendly, helpful and always willing to have a word or two and answer any questions we had

Room Tip: 1 bed suites superb, try and avoid roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Towards the end our stay in Barbados we had dinner at the Sandpiper restaurant.
The meal was very good and the souffle was excellent, equalling the Reclaimer in Paris which specializes.
The service was efficient and the menu, similar to the other restaurants on the Island.
Most of the fare being imported.
However it was the most expensive wine list that is almost double anywhere else we visited and that includes The Cliff, Cin Cin and Tides. Reminds me a little of the criminal prices they charge in Mauritius. But apart from that at least they are open on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed two short nights at the Sandpiper. This hotel/resort is a great choice... starting with the location of the resort. The beach is lovely, calm waters perfect for swimming and floating. It is a very short walk to Holetown, a town filled with options for dining and shopping. The rooms at the hotel are spotlessly maintained.

I would say that The Sandpiper is more of an experience than your typical hotel/resort. Upon arrival, instead of a regular check in (provide credit card, etc.), the manager comes and greets you. Your luggage is taken away, and the manager takes you away - on a nice tour of the property and then shows you to your room. Your welcome drink and luggage are promptly brought to your room. Another example, we had wished to go to dinner in Holetown. After speaking to reception, we agreed on a particular restaurant. The front desk took care of all of the reservations, and in our room was a handwritten note about our reservation, the location of the restaurant, etc. Turndown service is wonderful, and they leave a little treat bedside.

I could go on, but let's just say two days was not nearly long enough at this wonderful resort. It was the perfect way to begin our three week vacation in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sandpiper 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Sandpiper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Saint James
Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Barbados
The Sandpiper Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandpiper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.