We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandy Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Sandy Lane Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
East Hanover, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from a week long vacation at Sandy Lane...it was by far the best resort experience we ever had! The resort & location are simply stunning & the water is the prettiest color turquoise. The level of service from every staff member was above 5-star...from the moment they welcome you upon arrival until the moment they say goodbye upon departure. The guest rooms are incredibly beautiful, spacious, & comfortable. All of the food at Sandy Lane is of the highest quality & oh so delicious. Breakfast was included with our stay...it was an amazing buffet every morning featuring anything your heart desired. Additionally, there are fresh smoothies made to order from just about any tropical fruit under the sun. If you care to indulge in a morning pastry with your coffee...the coconut danish, which I thankfully discovered on the last day, is sinful! Oh and don't miss Sunday Brunch...they are known for this incredible brunch. Lunch & Dinner dining is just as amazing as breakfast...our meals were superb every day! For families traveling with children, I can't say enough about the Treehouse Club for kids (I believe ages 3-12). Our 4 yr old loved it! The treehouse staff was great with kids, really nurturing & warm. The list of activities is too long to list...but the kids will have so much fun from sun up to sun down! Sandy Lane is such an amazing resort...be prepared to to treated like royalty!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    37
    30
    20
    18
See reviews for
135
281
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from yet another visit to this hotel and yet again had a brilliant time! The location is simply stunning and the spa is one of the best in the world.

The staff are all friendly especially the beach bar staff. Nothing better than lying in the beach with a rum punch! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband booked afternoon tea for my birthday treat at Sandy Lane. Having read some reviews I was slightly concerned that they wouldn't let us in - particularly as we arrived by bus! From the moment we arrived the whole experience was wonderful. The staff were happy to let us have a drink in the bar as we had arrived slightly early and bought us crisps and nuts. At 3pm we went to the afternoon tea area where a table had been decorated with crystals and confetti and little 'happy birthdays' . Then the tea arrived....OMG! they told us that just one would be plenty for two people and it was huge. Sandwiches, scones, tarts, meringues, macaroons, cookies, cakes...it just went on and on not to mention a large pot of tea, fine bone china and jam, lemon curd and cream for the scones.
Having stuffed ourselves they offered to pack the remaining cakes up and brought it all to us in a Sandy Lane bag. We were told we could have a wander about the lower level of the hotel, Monkey bar and beach area if we wanted.
Just as we were thinking about leaving our wonderful waitress Tamika arrived with a wine waiter in tow and presented us with two glasses of champagne and a birthday cake complete with sparklers and fresh fruit. What a totally wonderful surprise and absolutely made the day for me.
Even without the lovely champagne, I would definitely recommend this experience. It made for a very special birthday.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Of all the cities and hotels I've stayed at, this was one of the most memorable trips. Sandy Lane transports you to a place of serenity, wonderful hospitality, and cultural warmth immediately upon arrival. The staff were superb and the food was delicious! My favorite was their Club Sandwich with the sliced egg added. Wow! I don't know how many times I've tried to duplicate this at home, but with no success. Be prepared for practically 90% humidity! Oh well, I guess I'll just have to visit Sandy Lane again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This really is the best Spa I have ever been to. The service is wonderful from the moment you arrive and check in to the treatment team and cafe team in the spa. The facilities are fabulous and you really feel as if you are being spoilt rotten. You can spend a good day here having treatments and just lounging around the pool area - truly wonderful. Definitely go for a full Swedish massage and follow it up with a facial. Perfect!!!

Room Tip: Book it for a special occasion and let the team know - they go out of their way to make it perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My previous review of Sandy Lane was in 2011 and Royal Pavilion in 2012. After being at Royal Pavilion on our last visit to Barbados we commented that deciding on which hotel to go for on our next visit would be a difficult decision. In the end we decided on Sandy Lane and visited in January 2014 - and it was excellent. In fact the only reason to choose any other hotel in Barbados is for financial reasons because Sandy Lane is the best hotel on the island by a significant margin. As always the place is impeccably maintained, rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious (we had a junior suite) the beach is fabulous and the staff manage to combine being friendly and relaxed with being "on the ball" and efficient. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was the holiday of a lifetime . From the moment we landed in Bridgetown to the moment we left ten days later we were attended to like royalty.
The staff are wonderful . The rooms are luxurious . The Spa is fantastic as is the food . The country club is top class
Yes it is expensive . But if you can afford it even once in your life do it .

Room Tip: Sea facing room on ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Hotel

Address: Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandy Lane Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and exclusive, Sandy Lane is set in an ancient mahogany grove overlooking a 1000 foot crescent of gorgeous white sand beach. Accommodations include 112 rooms and suites as well as a stunning 5-bedroom villa. With a magnificent 47,000-square-foot spa, four restaurants, six bars, nine floodlit tennis courses, beachside service, 45 holes of championship golf and The Treehouse Club facility for kids and teens, Sandy Lane will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sandy Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Lane Resort
Sandy Lane Barbados
Hotel Sandy Lane
Sandy Lane Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.