We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant compare to resorts in Hawaii” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Lane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sandy Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Lane Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
malibu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cant compare to resorts in Hawaii”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In Maui or Kona you can stay in luxury properties comparible to this for half the price and more seclusion.I do know if you want to golf as well as have lovely beaches this is difficult to find in this area.Friend who travel as often as i do said they've been to all the properties in the carribean like us and would choose Hawaii over

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    31
    26
    16
    17
See reviews for
114
232
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 8 days in this wonderful hotel. Having been here before, we did not think it was possible for it to improve. The facilities are amazing, golf courses perfect and the staff flawless.
Expensive YES.

Room Tip: Choose an Orchid room, the least expensive, but still amazing in size and facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

An incredible experience. You simply can't go wrong here- wonderful staff and wonderful hotel- it is jaw-droppingly perfect in every way. We will be returning in hopefully not too long. Definitely try the Sunday brunch, take a sailboat out, eat at the Bajan Blue restaurant one evening, go diving.

Room Tip: All rooms I believe are incredible - this is not a hotel to worry about room choice, every room face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We are here for our anniversary. We were here for our honeymoon. Sandy Lane is a diamond in the Carribean! The service is above any 5 star resort we ever visited. The food is comparable to NYC +. Housekeeping is impeccable! The staff is genuine , attentive and always pleasant and ready to serve you. The beds are like being on s cloud . Push a button and the drapes open, another and the lights go on. Devine!
I have 3 concerns though, one is that it is crazy expensive! A bottle of wine is above or much more than $80. ( Lots of taxes etc. added)The beach is lovely but the lounges are right next to one another. (Way to close) there is construction of a home for one of the owners. This begins at 720 am and goes til 6 PM. Too much noise for us but it should be completed in the next yr. ( it had been going now for 2 yrs:). )
Catamarans arrive each day around noon . They play loud music, drop the guests off to swim and walk the beach. I find this intrusive bc we pay a fortune and now we have all this noise and folks walking and snapping pictures.
Overall I give Sandy Lane an A + . You will never receive attention or service as you do at Sandy Lane.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Awesome experience. We were fortunate to experience the privacy that we had when we went to the area. The Sandy Lane Beach in Barbados is where the Hawsbill turtles comes in to play so we saw a couple of turtles and swam with them. They were very friendly and fun. They swam around us and were not afraid when one of us touches them (we were not supposed to... except you just cannot resist!)
The hotel itself was under renovation at the time so the entire hotel was closed thus we were able to enjoy the beach on our own. The hotel is very beautiful, needless to say I would recommend this lifetime experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from enjoying Afternoon Tea at Sandy Lane. The setting is superb the 'pink ladies' are so very helpful they can't do enough for you. The sandwiches cakes and stones were delicious. Our overall experience was amazing. We haven't been there before as we weren't sure what to expect. We will definately go again for afternoon tea and n evening meal. There were no celebrities there but that didn't spoil anything. We were given a small touri the hotl n went into 'The Monkey Bar' where all celebrities go. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We returned to Sandy Lane for Autumn half term 2012. Once again our family holiday was outstanding from start to finish. We had booked the Rolls Royce Phantom to collect us from the airport which is the only way to do it. We did notice that some of the hotels on the island did have a representative meet their guests airside on arrival to whisk them through passport control and customs which is a nice touch. We were greeted on our arrival by the management team including Mario and Yomi which meant so much to us and yes it was really like coming home. Graham the chauffeur had taken the initiative to telephoned ahead to ensure that my arrival drink wasn't a fruit punch but the rum punch I had mentioned very quietly to my family en-route! The luxury Ocean rooms in the Sea Horse wing on the first floor are great. You can walk straight to reception / spa but you are high up enough to have a great view of the beach and sea. Breakfast in the Bajan Blue restaurant is outstanding and we didn't need lunch following such a good start to the day. The beach guys work so hard all day to keep the guests relaxed and super chilled. A special thanks to Alex for looking after us at the beach and Robert and Mario at the beach bar for their hard work. The spa at Sandy Lane is world class and you can feel any stress just drain away just by walking into the building. The facilities are very high quality and I would rank them within the top10 in the world. Although there is still building work going on next to the hotel, specifically the Dolphin wing, the noise this year was much less than last year and did not detract from our enjoyment. Our holiday was without fault. When something did not work in our room it was immediately rectified. All the staff have an amazing gift of remembering your name which makes your stay feel personal rather than just being another client. Both Stacey and Stacey W working in reception were fantastically helpful with our car bookings and restaurant reservations and the third Stacey working as a waitress on the terrace was so nice to our whole family and a real credit to Sandy Lane Hotel. Thank you once again from the entire Aird family to the staff at SL for making our Autumn holiday such a memorable occasion. See you all next year!

Room Tip: 1st floor or higher in the Sea Horse wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandy Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Hotel

Address: Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandy Lane Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and exclusive, Sandy Lane is set in an ancient mahogany grove overlooking a 1000 foot crescent of gorgeous white sand beach. Accommodations include 112 rooms and suites as well as a stunning 5-bedroom villa. With a magnificent 47,000-square-foot spa, four restaurants, six bars, nine floodlit tennis courses, beachside service, 45 holes of championship golf and The Treehouse Club facility for kids and teens, Sandy Lane will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandy Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Lane Resort
Sandy Lane Barbados
Hotel Sandy Lane
Sandy Lane Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.