We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Cove to your Saves list
Crystal Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Appleby, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from crystal cove, great food and drinks. It's a shame the downstairs restaurant doesn't have some sort of cover, if it rains you have to go to main restaurant which is not air conditioned and turns into a buffet night, this became a bit much and really don't like buffets. Beach and watersports great fun.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    354
    83
    55
    40
See reviews for
278
655
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you are an Olympic swimmer training for Rio then I suggest you don't stay at Crystal Cove if you don't think the pools might be quite big enough. However it is perfectly situated next to the Caribbean Sea.
If you want a relaxing holiday in a well maintained hotel with fantastic food and staff who can't do enough for you then this is the perfect choice.
My wife and I booked the hotel after consulting Trip adviser so we were not quite sure to expect. Quite simply it was perfect. The staff are amongst the most naturally friendly and warm people I have met. They are a credit to their hotel and Barbados. We will definetly be going back in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for our belated honeymoon and loved every minute if it. The hotel is perfect. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The food is excellent. We liked the option of a formal and casual restaurant. We particularly enjoyed cocktail of the day from the cave bar. The pools are attractively set amongst well tended flowers. The evening entertainment was low key but enjoyable. The beach is stunningly beautiful and one highlight for us was the glass bottom boat trip to swim with the turtles which Randy organises. Our room was a garden view room but because it was on an upper floor, we got a great view of the sea. Overall, our trip was just perfect and we would love to return at some point.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Cove, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Frizzante,

Many thanks for your very kind review and congratulations on your belated honeymoon!

We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday with us, and we are pleased to see that our staff has exceeded your expectations once again.

We appreciate you spending such an important holiday with us and very much look forward to having you at our resort again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at the Crystal Cove recently what a lovely place to stay. As soon as you arrive you are looked after pampered you mite say. Rooms, Restaurants the who'll place is kept to a high standard. The staff are just great they can't do enough for you and are very friendly. As you can
tell I cant praise this hotel enough thank you Crystal cove we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in 321 area room great but the noise of the sea against the rocks can keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 23 of june till 7 of july for our wedding... Amazing hotel, staff very friendly so helpful. Huge Thank you to lisa who aranged our wedding it was just perfect! Beaches beautiful and clean staff worked very hard raking the beach every morning. Amazing food, Helpful staff, we had a power cut and all staff coped really well making sure all was ok. we had a sea view room 234 amazing view. Best holiday ever and will be returning in the future... if anyone finds a white gold wedding ring my husband lost it in the ocean 4 days into the marriage. Please contact the hotel so thay can contact us ...Russell and Donna. ..

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

You always have certain expectations when you go away on holiday, especially in a region such as Barbados! Crystal Cove will exceed everything that you will ever expect from a Caribbean holiday! Cleaned rooms daily, multiple pools for kids and infants with a pool bar for adults! Fantastic dining facilities of both a dressy up and casual nature depending on how your feeling, and water sports on the beach all included, an incredible package deal.

But the best part of the holiday had to be the staff and their commitment to your stay at their hotel. No one can do enough for you to make you feel comfortable, happy and having a good time. The main toilets became out of use in the main restaurant while we were staying, and to say sorry and for being an inconvenience the hotel put on a trip tour around the island and on a separate day a tour to the capital of Bridgetown free of charge. It was no inconvenience as you only had to walk a minute and there were toilets in your room! But it really highlights the length that these people are prepared to make your stay as comfortable as it could possibly be. The price can be off putting to some people, but in this scenario you really do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Let them know what you want, and it doesn't matter, they will accommodate you no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Cove, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Alex M.,

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of our property. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Crystal Cove

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. We strive to provide consistent attentive and helpful service to our guests, and we are glad we delivered on our promise, especially in light of the situation you mentioned. It is especially nice that you were able to tour Bridgetown!

Many thanks again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon!

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel was in need of a complete re-furbishment, you could not call them swimming pools they were more like ponds, only 20 beds by the pool and if you were not up at 6 you would not get one, only one restaurant to use if it rained, cave bar far too small, was it value for money- no. would I stay there again- no, was I disappointed with the holiday overaull - yes. Must say the staff were more than friendly and could not do enough for you, very pleasant, why you had to book a restaurant for average food I will never know, this hotel was recommended by Virgin - must not have been to decent hotels as this was not one of them, I called into virgin shop in Liverpool and voiced my concerns as I had read on trip advisor before we went and she told me that is was too late to change to sister hotel as was told that it was far nicer she made a note of my concerns, feel like we have wasted a huge amount of money, best part of our holiday was upper class on the plane and will now stick to emirates and Dubai, or St Lucia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
To whom this may concern,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and we regret to hear about your disappointment in your stay with us at Crystal Cove.

We are sorry that we did not meet your personal preferences, and we wish you had expressed your disappointment while you were at the resort. We could have better tried to accommodate your request to switch to one of our sister properties while you were on holiday. We do appreciate your kind comments about our staff’s friendliness and the fact that they went the extra mile.

We do appreciate your feedback, as we continuously use our guests’ input to identify areas for improvement to enhance the overall guest experience.

We would be happy to welcome you at one of our sister resorts.

Sincerely,

Alexa G. - Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove

Address: Appleby, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An enchanting blend of vitality and Caribbean charm."A colorful and vibrant beachfront all-inclusive property with 88 rooms offering a seductive Caribbean charm that will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Crystal Cove's warm, relaxed ambience and friendly service which includes all-inclusive accommodation as well as a Supervised Kids Club (for children aged 3-11) appeals to families and couples of all ages, many of whom return there year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Saint James
Crystal Cove Barbados/Saint James Parish
Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.