We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT get married here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Cove to your Saves list
Crystal Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Appleby, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT get married here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The service itself was beautiful the priest was the best we had ever seen and incorporated all the guests. The hotel is in a beautiful location, amazing pool, delicious food, great rooms and friendly staff make this an ideal place to have a holiday but the event organisers have not got a clue what they are doing when it comes to organising a wedding - the food was late, the table plan was completely ignored, wedding favours went missing, forget the champagne - if your guests have a glass of water in their hands count them lucky, the bespoke private entertainment paid for was reshowed around the pool the next day and to top it all the event organiser ran away and sat with the page boy so he couldn't walk down the aisle with the bridesmaids!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are in great positions with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    356
    84
    55
    40
See reviews for
279
661
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent 10 days at Crystal Cove as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations. We have stayed in Barbados before (at Colony Club, one of the sister hotels) and had high expectations of many areas and lower of others. In the event Crystal Cove lived up to the high expectations and exceeded others.

The staff are superb. I had injured my back 2 days prior to our holiday and the staff picked up on this and were always quietly helpful and trying to make me comfortable, especially in the restaurants. Apart from this all the staff are so friendly whist remaining professional.

The food, often a weak point in all inclusive hotels, exceeded our experience elsewhere. OK, so not the all encompassing buffets available in some of the Med hotels but rather quality food, well presented and served from an a la carte menu.

The beach is small but the water sports are freely available and there is good snorkelling straight from the beach. The sea is also easily accessible, not always the case in Barbados.

Our room (218) was small but with a good sized bathroom, well presented (apart from noisy hot water plumbing, which needs attention) and looked after very competently.

The highlight was the way in which the staff dressed our room for our anniversary and informed Colony Club of the event so that during lunch there we were presented with a celebratory treat! Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate 4 room "cottages" on two stories - avoid the upper rooms if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 2/11/2013 to the 9/1/2013. No special event, just a week away to recharge the batteries. Our room did have a small sea view but we booked it as a garden room. The room was very clean and well decorated, room No. 103. It was close to the bar, restaurant and entertainments area but noise was not a problem as the entertainment was not all night. The bathroom was spacious and clean and we had plenty of storage and a well stocked mini bar etc.
We ventured out to Holetown on foot but otherwise spent the time enjoying the snorkelling and the beautiful clear sea. Fish can be easily seen just be standing in the water. The water sports people were very professional and not pushy. We had a couple of rough days and they ensured that people were safe.

We went out snorkelling with a lovely gentleman called Rodney who we highly recommend who has a brother called, Slick Rick (names are printed on their t-shirts and Rodney has a gold tooth). They have a glass bottom boat and took us out to find the hawksbill turtles, we found three and part of their service is to swim with you and take photographs of your snorkelling experience. They offer a very competitive service and they were recommended to us by those that had been going to this resort for many years.

The food was good in both restaurants and breakfast was plentiful, nothing missing.

There are three swimming pools but my husband was a little disappointment with regards to the size and location of them.

Otherwise we have little negative to say. We would go back to Barbados without a doubt and found it a very friendly place to stay, the hotel staff were very helpful. We would also go back to Crystal Cove.

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view room but would next time we go as the views must be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our 4th visit and booking for 2014. This place is so great everyone we speak to wants to return. Good water sports all included in the price. All the staff are really friendly and helpful, no reasonable request is too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Crystal Cove is very deceiving from the outside as it is on a fairly busy road and doesn’t look very impressive. However, once through those doors you will be impressed and the staff are second to none - they strive to make your holiday a memorable experience.

We arrived for our honeymoon and were treated to a cooling rum punch and cold flannels, which were welcomed. We were asked for our passports and a credit card and I automatically gave them my debit card as we tend not to use our credit card. First my debit card was declined, and then my Husbands (in spite of the fact that we had funds in both accounts). I was starting to get very annoyed as we had paid for an all-inclusive holiday and didn’t understand the need for a card as surely everything is paid for. My travel agent had not made me aware of the need for this and I hadn’t seen anything on Trip Advisor about it. My Husband went up to Reception and used his credit card which was accepted thankfully as by this time I was ready to burst into tears (tiredness and frustration were setting in). Apparently, they check for $500, which they don’t actually take, in case of any incidentals that you may charge to your room (i.e. bottled water or champage). During the course of our holiday we found out that this had happened to a few people (debit cards declined), and one lady used a charge card that she had been putting money on for their trips and the money was held on her account which she only found out when she was in town and tried to pay for a trip that they booked.

We were then shown to our room, room 103, and I have to admit to feeling a little disappointed. The room was small, bed was huge – in fact it was so high that I struggled to climb into bed every night (I’m 5ft 2”). The bathroom was quite large with two sinks, but the bath with overhead shower was quite old and tired, the grouting needs doing and the shower itself wasn’t great. Note: if you like to wrap your hair in a towel after your shower, the towels are most definitely not big enough! You get blue towels to use by the pool or beach, which are refreshed on a daily basis – a great idea, especially as we didn’t once manage to get a bed by the pool (they are all bagged by people leaving towels on them very early in the morning, which I really think needs to be stopped).
It was disappointing that bottled water isn’t provided in the room, and you are charged at the bar if you order bottled water. However, once you buy a bottle you can fill it up for free at the dispenser in the Cave Bar and at Drifters, which we did.

The food served in both Reflections and Drifters Bar was second to none – I honestly couldn’t fault it at all. Be sure to check the menu in Reflections every morning so that you can make an informed decision on where you want to book for dinner. A special mention to Dawna in Reflections and Stephen from Drifters – very special people. Stephen brings jelly, ice lollies and drinks round to the beach every day. You notice when he has a day off as this service is then very sporadic.

The variety of the watersports that are included in your package are brilliant and the guys are so patient in teaching you how to water-ski etc. We also went on the Jet Ski’s a couple of times, courtesy of the two lovely young lads on the beach. Do barter them down though!

We were brought a bottle of sparkling wine to our room as we were on honeymoon, but that is the only recognition we had of this. I’m not sure what I was expecting, maybe a Congratulations, maybe a bit more care over our room choice…. If you want to feel special on your honeymoon, I’m not sure that this is the place for you.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a fantastic holiday as we had never been to Barbados, and we loved Crystal Cove, but I don’t think it did enough to celebrate what was a very special time in our lives.

We are planning on another visit, but I would definitely want to book an Ocean View room next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just spent 10 nights at the crystal cove . It was one of the best holidays we've had.
The staff and service was second to none. There was an a la carte menu every night with excellent table service. The food and drink is excellent, so much so that we didn't go outside the hotel for one meal.
The facilities are excellent free water activities such as sailing, water skiing etc were included in the hotel cost. The tennis courts are good and floodlit during the evening. The swimming pool is small but all you need it for is to cool off from the sun.
The location is good. The beach is literally a step away from the hot sun terrace and there is waiter service on the beach, so you do not need to move from your lounger.
The buses are frequent and it is a 10 min bus ride into glitzy Holetown and beyond. It is 30 mins to. Bridgetown.
We enjoyed to trips one on the catamaran The Calabaza, skippered by Gina where we saw turtles. We were well looked after and met some lovely people. The whole day was relaxing and would highly recommend it. Our second trip was on a jeep safari across the island. This was also excellent and a really good day out.
We will be really sorry to leave, we already thinking about booking for next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Returned from Crystal Cove on 5th November after a week with the family, where we also got married on the quieter end of the beach.

Our wedding day was absolutely flawless, quite perfect & we wouldn't have changed a thing. All made possible by 2 outstanding ladies.

We were spoilt rotten, stunning wedding setting with champagne on the beach, the flowers were gorgeous (with partial shade), steel pan & guitar wedding music, champagne breakfast on our balcony, couples massage, hair, make up, nails, sunset dinner on the beach, catamaran cruise, exec cars taking us everywhere, and more, all very romantic & exceptional.

The wedding & events coordinators Reah & Lisa are an irreplaceable asset to Elegant. Reah was amazing at coordinating the entire day & it ran perfectly. Lisa was the lady who made things happen & was always in the background checking that everything was right. You will both be forever in our memories as you made our day quite perfect, thank you.

The hotel, facilities & surroundings are lovely & totally charming, the setting was spot on and the staff work tirelessly to keep things spotless. We deliberately chose CC as it was a smaller complex with 88 rooms so nothing is cramped, the atmosphere relaxed & the service always good. The entertainment was great.

Our rooms were lovely, well stocked, spotless & we had a beach front so sun rise & sunset quite magical. Merline our room cleaner was one of the nicest people we have ever met, thank you. The garden rooms were also very very nice.

Both restaurants were great offering a wide selection from a la carte to burgers & sandwiches & the cocktails gorgeous with many to choose from, but be careful though, Bajan measures at the bar were rather generous :)

General service was great, no gripes at all & every staff member had a genuine smile for you no matter how busy they were.

I really don't understand some of the negative reviews on here, it's the Caribbean, it's relaxed yet full of life, it's happy. The restaurants are open most of the time with room service in between. The place is pretty & spotless, the odd rare thing might need a touch up but so what, I'm there to enjoy the people, the culture & the place, not the paintwork. If you want 7 stars of soulless fake smiles with a permanent hand out for tips then you know where to go, but try smiling back.

We hired jeeps & explored the island, such good fun getting lost, wonderful to meet the locals & it was very safe. Although the hotel was a great place it was good to explore without worrying about going off complex as we have had to do in other countries.

Would we go back to Barbados? We're already looking to rebook. The most charming & genuine place we have ever been to & we have been to many luxury places.

Would we go back to Crystal Cove? Absolutely & without question.

From Rachael & Ian, and the family, thank you, take care & see you soon x

Room Tip: You will fall in love with the sunset so a sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove

Address: Appleby, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An enchanting blend of vitality and Caribbean charm."A colorful and vibrant beachfront all-inclusive property with 88 rooms offering a seductive Caribbean charm that will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Crystal Cove's warm, relaxed ambience and friendly service which includes all-inclusive accommodation as well as a Supervised Kids Club (for children aged 3-11) appeals to families and couples of all ages, many of whom return there year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Saint James
Crystal Cove Barbados/Saint James Parish
Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.