We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I wrote a glowing review of this apartment hotel last year, and having recently returned from Barbados I can confirm that Beach View is still a most pleasant hotel; though not hotel, we feel like we are living there and part of it. There is absolutely no pressure. When our daughter (just a couple of years out of Uni.) heard we were going, she hinted strongly how nice it would be if she could join us! what are Mums & Dads for? Two days after us she was there. She had a wonderful large room, walk-in shower and was very impressed; then started bossing me around.

I should add this was our tenth holiday in Barbados over a 20 year period, so we are no strangers, and this accommodation suits me, hassle free. The Walcott family are so helpful. The Security guards totally friendly, always "what fish you see today?" I snorkel on the small local reef every day. "So catch some for us"

Some of the guests cross the road and by fresh fish from the small market at good prices, and do their own Gordon Ramsey imitations; I keep meaning to get around to having a bash, but the excellent restaurants either side of Holetown somehow make me put it off. I do get nominated to cook breakfast though; though I don't have to, because Atticus, within Beach View, is there every day.

The Bajans themselves are a very polite, friendly and easy going people, even if there is no crossing marked, many will stop to let you cross the road. Holetown is 10 minutes away by bus, either the blue state run service or the unique Reggae yellow buses, hold tight, these are fun, and will stop if you wave them down; the fare is 2 Barbadian dollars to anywhere.

A unique invitation on Thursday nights from Mr & Mrs Walcott to visit there fabulous home, Carambola for cocktails and food is a must, totally unusual.

So there we are, for us, next time in Barbados, then Beach View it will be.

All the best

Harry & family

Room Tip: The apartments have three bedrooms, all have balcony's and face the pool and sea. Ground floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    77
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
174
328
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our first trip to Barbados. Once you have been here a while and get to know the island you realise that the location of Beach View Villas is fantastic.

We could walk to Holetown along the beach in 30 minutes, or catch a bus there which took 5 minutes. The beach was one minute from the front door and has a coral reef. You can borrow snorkeling equipment from reception (note borrow - not hire) and be swimming with the tropical fish in 2 minutes.

The pool area is great. The apartment that we had was on the ground floor, so no sea view but easy to get to the pool which suited us. Also very spacious and well furnished.

All the staff are really friendly and helpful. If you need anything Carrie and Sonya in reception can sort it out for you. Thursday night at the owners house is a nice touch and makes the stay lovely as you get to meet all the other guests. If we are fortunate enough to visit Barbados again we will definitely be staying at beach View Villas.

Mike Wilson

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Barbados but first to Beach View. We stayed at Sugar Hill last year and, whilst lovely, felt very isolated.
Beach View was exactly what we hoped for and more.
Robin, Carrie and the rest of the team are the most wonderful hosts and have created an environment that is ideal for couple and families alike.
We had Apartment 209 in the Avocado building- a 3 bed apartment with 2 of the rooms closed off as there were only 2 of us. This meant we had a spacious apartment with all mod cons and a perfect sea view. The Air Con works perfectly (it is not hard to master as a few reviewers have suggested!) and there is a huge oven & fridge freezer so you can take advantage of the fish market just over the road and the well stocked 'Super Centre' in Holetown if you want to have a stab at Bajan cookery during your stay! The Cliff, Daphnes, Cariba, Karibu and Mr Vic are all within walking distance - so you have the choice of cheap but delicious and plentiful or high end right on your doorstep. Our personal favourite is The Tides in Holetown - a must in my opinion!
We are already planning our return to Beach View and plan to stay for 2 weeks rather than 10 days next year.

Room Tip: Room 209 had a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our first trip to Beach View, but we hope it won't be our last. Following all the positive reviews on this site we booked a week there and it was just as lovely as we'd hoped. Moreover, Robin, Carrie, Atticus and all the team worked tirelessly and cheerfully to ensure our stay was so wonderful. Cocktails at Robin's beautiful house on the Thursday evening had to be a highlight. Thank you to everyone at Beach View. We hope to be back one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at Beach View in early June 2014, choosing this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews which proved to be perfectly accurate! The rooms are large and airy, clean and well maintained, with very comfortable beds and full kitchen facilities. The atmosphere around the hotel is serene, including the pool area, the Hut café, and the Sundowners Bar on the roof top (open a few evenings each week). We walked to restaurants and bars and enjoyed a fresh fish dinner with fish purchased at the fish market across the street. The location is great. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and it is easy to tell that they all have the highest respect for the owners, Robin and his family. We highly recommend Beach View!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We again have had a wonderful holiday at Beach View apartments with a fantastic view of the pool and the caribbean sea from our apartment, which was beautifully clean and provided us with everything we needed for a self-catering holiday which is hard to find on the west coast of Barbados as most of the hotels are all-inclusive.

All the staff - security guards, cleaners, gardeners, maintenance and office staff were very helpful and friendly. Carrie and the team in the office were great at arranging our car hire and trips. The barbeque given by Atticus was brilliant and got everyone together and also the cocktail party at Robin's house was a lovely evening.

I would suggest hiring a car for at least part of your holiday as the supermarket is not in walking distance (although you can use the local buses to get there) and it gives you the freedom to travel to other parts of the Island.

This hotel retains its high standards for a very reasonable price and deserves all the excellent reviews it continues to receive.

Well done yet again Beach View we hope to see you all again soon !

Room Tip: A ground floor apartment is good with children but for a spectacular view of the sunsets ask for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at beach View for the second time in Feb '14. The standard of accommodation was superb, the best yet (207). Attention to detail by Robin, Carrie and team was the usual high standard. Atticus and all the team at the Hut worked tirelessly to provide the morning breakfast and ensure we had a great time at the bar b que. Thought that the sunbeds could have been more comfortable....however, no request was too much trouble..will be returning in 2015 to celebrate our wedding anniversary!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.