We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Although experienced traveller to Barbados this was our first experience of an apartment hotel and what a very pleasant experience it was too. The service was exceptional, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and the ladies at the Hutt (the bkfast/lunch area) did a great job. The rooms were clean, light and very well catered. The aircon worked well and the kitchen was fully stocked. It is true it is a little close to the road but apart from the morning rush hour it was not too intrusive. The gardens were lush but the pool was a little cold for my taste but with the warm Caribbean Sea so close, who cares! We will def be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    82
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
183
346
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanty Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are just back from our 2nd visit to Beach View, and it was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and super clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept and the pools are nice. We enjoyed Atticus' barbecue and the daily lunches he served were delicious (he also serves breakfast everyday). We enjoyed an excellent meal at Cariba, a short walking distance away. Well done Robin, Carrie and crew - all your hard work allows your guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday! Definitely recommend Beach View!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We picked Beach View due to the great reviews on tripadvisor, and it didn't disappoint! Apartment large, clean and had everything we needed. Beach view apts are situated on the quieter end of Paynes Beach that is not huge but empty. The restaurants along the west coast are expensive and not much choice between top end and takeaway type places. You also need to pre book restaurants before you get there as they get booked up very quickly. Cariba was also a favorite of ours where we met Judith Chalmers!! The noise from the road we found mostly to be caused by the yellow buses which are a law unto themselves and mostly start about 8am with not much noise at night. Beware if these buses they are driven wrecklessly and have very loud reggae music... Interesting!! Robin and the staff at Beach View are very friendly and helpful. We liked the Mon night BBQ and sunsets bar organized on site plus being invited to Robins amazing house for drinks on Thurs night.
Very nice!! Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Firstly when you are looking to book this is not a Hotel as advertised by most .com sites a hotel.


This is is not a negative as we always before booking cross check these sites with TA.

This is a self catering suites condo , the suites are very spacious and light very clean and well serviced.

There are good pools with all amenities for adults and children.
The beach is across the road 50 metres and provides super options to swim and if you want other activities they can be found by walking to the right for 250m.

For families they are ideal as most locations nearby cater for more adult clientele due to the high prices on the west coast , the supermarket in Holetown will cover all your needs and if you have no car it is a 30p bus ride away buses are frequent and run all day including Sunday.

There are numerous good restaurants which you will find on TA , we thought the best value for money was Cariba 10 mins walk.

The staff on site are superb anything you you want they will sort for you car hire , trips etc.

The only slight negatives we encountered were beds a little uncomfortable but by the the time we had got into " Barbadian" mode were not a problem.

Air condition strange only works when you enter room ?

Most people have an issue with the road noise , well after 2 days if you are not on Barbadian time I would be surprised
Sleep does not become an issue , if it does try rum punch x 3


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just back from Barbados and this was our 5th trip. Previously stayed in a hotel up the road which is very good but has gone upmarket and is now very expensive as we need 2 bedrooms! So Beach View was ideal for us as we like Paynes Bay beach, the proximity to restaurants/shops etc in Holetown and our independence.
Barbados West Coast is very expensive, so £350 daily for a 2 bed apartment+ all the facilities is reasonable value.
Apartment was better than we hoped for - very clean, smart, big and the wifi was free and worked 24/7. All the staff were excellent.
We booked 'Tony (the tiger!) taxi driver' or his mate, daily and they were friendly, helpful and on time! Standard fare (single) to get to Holetown (3 kms) 25 B$ or 12US$ equiv to £8. We often walked there by beach + road and taxi'd back with our supermarket shopping. The 'hut' onsite has a good choice of breakfasts (20B$, 10 US$ or £7) or lunchtime snacks.
Across the road is a fresh fish stall - a brilliant find and excellent value (if you like fish!) Portions all filleted individually - tried Mahi mahi and swordfish - 4 portions = approx 25B$ or 12US$
Used chairs and snorkels from the office and took onto the beach just next to The House - it had sun + shade from the trees and was quiet and empty - bliss!!.
Only niggle as others have pointed out is the noise from the road. Once you're on the beach other buildings block the sound and in the apartment it's quiet but by the pool it is noisy (take an ipod!).

Room Tip: avacado or seascape blocks (middle two)
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent apartment, well equipped and just across road from the beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Well worth going to drinks at the managers house on Thursday meeting other guests. The only thing that is a nuisance is the road noise at the times. But a very enjoyable place to stay we would go back there again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Beach View for 2 weeks at the end of January. The hotel is excellent and really recommended. There are 4 separate buildings with 9 rooms in each. The 3 buildings towards the south all have open balconies facing onto the sea, but the building at the north has closed balconies (so I'd personally avoid that) - (they are rooms 101, 102, 103, 201 etc). We stayed in Avacado (the 3rd building to the south) on the 3rd floor in room 308, and had a wonderful view over the pool and the sea. Given there are some trees, if you want a good view ask for a room on the 3rd floor (there is a lift in each building).

Our "1-bed" appartment was massive, and when they say "fully-equipped" kitchen they mean it - lots of things in it (including dishwasher and blender) - albeit that (like most self-catering places) every knife in the place needs to be sharpened! There is maid-service each day, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is slightly annoying that the air-conditioning doesn't work unless all the doors are closed (and the dishwasher didn't seem to work overnight when the lights were off), but the owner explains clearly how the air-con works and it's easy to get used to.

The Hut serves very tasty breakfasts and sandwiches/salads at lunchtime. Whilst it doesn't serve any dinner, there is a tasty BBQ each Monday night. Do take up the owner's very kind offer of drinks on Thursdays at his house - his home is so beautiful and nice to chat with some of the other guests. There are also lots of excellent restaurants within a few minutes walk - The Cliff (expensive but excellent), Daphne's, Cariba, Scarlet etc. It is also worth going to Oistin's Fish Fry on Fridays.

The staff are really kind and helpful. Whilst there aren't any facilities on the beach itself, you can hire (for free) chairs (not loungers), umbrellas and snorkels from reception. They are also great at booking things (eg car hire, submarine trip, Island Safari etc).

Whilst there is a "main road" between the beach and the hotel, it's hardly a main road by London standards (1 lane of traffic each way) - if you are a light sleeper, elderly or used to living in a village it may be a bit noisy, but we didn't notice a thing whilst sleeping, and even whilst sitting on the balcony the traffic is barely noticeable.

In short, Beach View is very good value, really well located, very friendly and helpful owners and a wonderful place to stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor but avoid 301, 302 and 303.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.