We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just back from Barbados and this was our 5th trip. Previously stayed in a hotel up the road which is very good but has gone upmarket and is now very expensive as we need 2 bedrooms! So Beach View was ideal for us as we like Paynes Bay beach, the proximity to restaurants/shops etc in Holetown and our independence.
Barbados West Coast is very expensive, so £350 daily for a 2 bed apartment+ all the facilities is reasonable value.
Apartment was better than we hoped for - very clean, smart, big and the wifi was free and worked 24/7. All the staff were excellent.
We booked 'Tony (the tiger!) taxi driver' or his mate, daily and they were friendly, helpful and on time! Standard fare (single) to get to Holetown (3 kms) 25 B$ or 12US$ equiv to £8. We often walked there by beach + road and taxi'd back with our supermarket shopping. The 'hut' onsite has a good choice of breakfasts (20B$, 10 US$ or £7) or lunchtime snacks.
Across the road is a fresh fish stall - a brilliant find and excellent value (if you like fish!) Portions all filleted individually - tried Mahi mahi and swordfish - 4 portions = approx 25B$ or 12US$
Used chairs and snorkels from the office and took onto the beach just next to The House - it had sun + shade from the trees and was quiet and empty - bliss!!.
Only niggle as others have pointed out is the noise from the road. Once you're on the beach other buildings block the sound and in the apartment it's quiet but by the pool it is noisy (take an ipod!).

Room Tip: avacado or seascape blocks (middle two)
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    86
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
192
370
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent apartment, well equipped and just across road from the beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Well worth going to drinks at the managers house on Thursday meeting other guests. The only thing that is a nuisance is the road noise at the times. But a very enjoyable place to stay we would go back there again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Beach View for 2 weeks at the end of January. The hotel is excellent and really recommended. There are 4 separate buildings with 9 rooms in each. The 3 buildings towards the south all have open balconies facing onto the sea, but the building at the north has closed balconies (so I'd personally avoid that) - (they are rooms 101, 102, 103, 201 etc). We stayed in Avacado (the 3rd building to the south) on the 3rd floor in room 308, and had a wonderful view over the pool and the sea. Given there are some trees, if you want a good view ask for a room on the 3rd floor (there is a lift in each building).

Our "1-bed" appartment was massive, and when they say "fully-equipped" kitchen they mean it - lots of things in it (including dishwasher and blender) - albeit that (like most self-catering places) every knife in the place needs to be sharpened! There is maid-service each day, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is slightly annoying that the air-conditioning doesn't work unless all the doors are closed (and the dishwasher didn't seem to work overnight when the lights were off), but the owner explains clearly how the air-con works and it's easy to get used to.

The Hut serves very tasty breakfasts and sandwiches/salads at lunchtime. Whilst it doesn't serve any dinner, there is a tasty BBQ each Monday night. Do take up the owner's very kind offer of drinks on Thursdays at his house - his home is so beautiful and nice to chat with some of the other guests. There are also lots of excellent restaurants within a few minutes walk - The Cliff (expensive but excellent), Daphne's, Cariba, Scarlet etc. It is also worth going to Oistin's Fish Fry on Fridays.

The staff are really kind and helpful. Whilst there aren't any facilities on the beach itself, you can hire (for free) chairs (not loungers), umbrellas and snorkels from reception. They are also great at booking things (eg car hire, submarine trip, Island Safari etc).

Whilst there is a "main road" between the beach and the hotel, it's hardly a main road by London standards (1 lane of traffic each way) - if you are a light sleeper, elderly or used to living in a village it may be a bit noisy, but we didn't notice a thing whilst sleeping, and even whilst sitting on the balcony the traffic is barely noticeable.

In short, Beach View is very good value, really well located, very friendly and helpful owners and a wonderful place to stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor but avoid 301, 302 and 303.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Beach View for our honeymoon in December after getting married in Santorini. We picked a hire car up from Stoutes at Barbados airport and drove through Bridgetown along the coast to Beach View. As we arrived after reception had closed the security had our room key for us but we were quickly met by the owner who gave us a tour of our suite and showed us how everything worked. The suites are amazing. Large lounge, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom with zoned a/c. Two balconies, one outside the bedroom and a larger one leading out from the lounge. As Beach View is on the west coast side of Barbados the Caribbean sea is calmer than on the Atlantic Side and you can watch the sunset from your balcony with a rum punch! There is a rooftop bar that we went up to for cocktails and met some other guests. We had read on here prior to going about the managers cocktail party on a Thursday night at their house GO...... The hospitality we were shown was exceptional and the house is amazing. If I didn't go on holiday so much maybe I'd have a house like that! The beach is literally a two minute walk across the road and the water is crystal clear. There are plenty of places to eat nearby but I would advise hiring a car to explore the island and all it has to offer. Don't miss the opportunity to do the Atlantis Submarine trip, Mount Gay Rum factory tour, Animal flower cave and Harrison's Cave. And keep an eye out for the local wildlife, monkeys, mongoose and turtles. The beaches are fantastic and there are plenty of hidden gems to hide away and relax. We had a fantastic time at Beach View and would highly recommend staying there if you visit Barbados.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We are globetrotters and don't usually return to the same places. But here we are at Beachview, for the fourth year. We have not found another situation we like better: immaculate and well thought out accomodations across the street from reliably warm and snorkelable turquoise waters with hot sunshine, refreshing trade winds, a relative absence of mozzies and the beach lively yet uncrowded.
The hotel has a cute on site cafe with a limited, healthy menu for breakfast and lunch. Like to dine out? You can easily walk to several great restaurants for any budget. Like to cook for yourself? The best fish market on the island is across the street, on the beach, and if you get lucky, you can buy what was just delivered by the fishermen.
Want to explore the island with a rental car? Let Carrie arrange it for you. You won't find better on your own. This hotel staff is service oriented and efficient. The grounds are enchanting.
You could find hotel rooms right on the beach, true. But there, you spend the night. Here, at the Beachview, you live! You move in and let yourself get transported into relaxation by the rhythms of the sun, the crashing waves below your apartment, the visiting birds, a rooster crowing in the distance , and every evening you are serenaded by crickets, while you sit on the patio, maybe texting your kids, lazy fan overhead?

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for full sunset enjoyment. Stay downstairs if you have curious toddlers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The amazing service makes this place! Every single person we dealt with at the hotel went above and beyond to help us. The free snorkeling equipment was a great bonus. We used that everyday. Some of the best snorkeling I have ever encountered right in front of the hotel.

Definitely go to the owners cocktail party, a lovely home and lovely people.

On the beach down from the hotel there are guys with wave runners for rent, we asked them to take us to see the turtles and some other great snorkeling spots. It was the highlight of our trip. For the same price as going with a large group of people, we got to spend a couple hours touring the coast, stopping to snorkel with the turtles and amazing fish. And our wave runner drivers brought chum and got the turtles to come right to us, but it was just our family and not a large cattle boat of people like some of the tours had, so it was even more surreal. I would definitely suggest trying that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beach View is a complex of good quality self-catering apartments that also provide a daily maid service, a fully staffed reception and a snack hut providing breakfasts and lunch every day.
The staff are excellent; they will book restaurants, taxis, tours, car hire, catamaran cruises and much more. And the companies they deal are also give a top quality service. The daily maid service is also excellent, pleasant staff who always have a smile for you.
The communal swimming pools (children's and adults) are perfectly situated with views over ocean. Plenty of sun beds and parasols, towels are also provided.
In reply to some if the comments by other holiday makers, there is quite a bit of road noise, being situated right next to the main west coast road. We had a ground floor apartment which was much quieter than those on the 1st or 2nd floor ones. I must that you do get used to it; the most noise comes from the yellow 'reggae' busses with their noisy exhausts, and the occasional motor bikers who think they're at Brands Hatch!
Paynes Bay beach more or less starts from across the road from Beach View but it is not the most pleasing of beaches; there is a small fish market on the beach and it right next to the busy main road. But don't despair, a short walk along the beach and it gets much better. Outside Daphne's restaurant and between the Tamarind Hotel, you can hire sun beds from one of the locals and enjoy drinks sat on the terrace at Daphne's.
There are a few restaurants around, notably The Cliff, (very expensive), Daphne's (expensive), Scarlet and Cariba restaurants are more normally priced and offer excellent service with good food. Don't forget that you can also book in at most of the hotels for dinner, including Sandy Lane. We ate a number of times the Tamarind which just along the road from Beach View. Prices were around 50GBP including. Bottle of wine. And, of course, Holetown is a bus ride up the road with its host of restaurants and bars.
Beach is great for families and couples, Robin, the owner, and his wife, host a cocktail party each week at their house; they also have a BBQ in the complex each week and evening drinks are available in the sunset bar atop one of the buildings.
Talking of buildings, they have four blocks of apartments with nine apartments in each. You probably would not want to stay in the first block, called Paw-Paw, as this is right on the road. The other blocks, at least have some garden and the swimming polls between you and the road. And a ground floor apartment would be better than one of the higher ones.
Overall, Beach View is a great place for a self-catering holiday on the west coast of Barbados.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms experience less road noise, but restricted views over the ocean. Use the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.