We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach View Apartments, Paynes Bay, St James Barbados FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beach View Apartments, Paynes Bay, St James Barbados FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What can we say, absolutely fantastic apartments, home from home. Spacious, well equipped, beautifully decorated, balconies and views you fall in love with. On arrival we were welcomed by Robyn and Sonia. Our luggage had been taken to our apartment. Robyn took us to the apartment and explained everything we needed to know. A helpful food welcome pack was there for us. We settled in easily. Having been to the island numerous times before, this was our first experience of self catering, usually do all inclusive. Went shopping at local supermarket Jordans and planned our days. Had a good breakfast, stocked up beach bags for the day, and travelled on local buses to many beaches around the island. Accra beach, Dover beach, Mullins bay, Carlisle bay, visited friends on south coast. Spent some time around the pool, which was lovely, cleaned every day. Nice safe pool. Had breakfast and lunch at the Hut, yummy. Went to sundowners on roof top for a few rum punches to watch the sunset and meet other guests, and visited Robyn's home for cocktails, lovely evening. Re the few comments about air con, it's simple really, doors shut air con on, doors open air con goes off. If you feel cold with air con on, open the doors and put fans on. Nice touch too, free wifi, very helpful and never any issues with this, always got on Internet. Thank you so much Robyn, Sonia, Carrie, James, Henrietta, security staff, and bigs thanks to our lady who cleaned our apartment. You all made our stay FANTASTIC. WE WILL BE BACK. :-)

Room Tip: Request higher floor and just enjoy yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    78
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
328
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped here for two weeks on our honeymoon.We where met by the owner and made very welcome the lady in reception was very helpful and friendly as was all the staff. the apartment was a great size and very clean and had all the appliances you would have in your own kitchen .We stopped on the second floor where we had a good view of the beach and the garden. there is a lovely beach across the road my tip if your going for a walk on beech head towards holetown it is lovely,if you want to travel around the buses only charge two $2.00 Barbados dollars or 1 USD per trip any where the yellow Reggie buses are great.We hired a moke for a week they are great fun even in the rain,if you want to do something different try the submarine experience from Bridgetown harbour we went to a depth of 149 ft and even saw a ship wreck great,shops don't open a Sunday well not many just a hand full.so to sum all up great apartment great location and very friendly locals. TINA & STEVE

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have great views of garden or beach.ours was room 206 great:
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at beach view and Robin and Carrie were great hosts! We chose Barbados and Beach View for our honeymoon and this turned out to be the perfect start to our marriage.

Our room, on the third floor was perfect with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and we were so close to the beach,..... we could hear the waves on our balcony and in the bedroom! It was truly bliss! This was largely owe this to Carrie as I sent her a cheeky email stating what we had in mind and she clearly didn't not disappoint!!! Thanks again Carrie!

Great location with the beach on our doorstep and plenty of restaurants to choose from,... Personal faves were Daphne's and The Cliff both less than 5 minutes walk away.

We will definitely be back!!!!!!

Aasam & shine! Thanks again Robin and Carrie!

Ps. Your house is amazing!!!! :-)

Room Tip: Third floor in the paw paw building has awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As with all the other reviews, we certainly have to agree that these are superb apartments. The apartments have everything you could wish for. You also receive a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, butter, bread, water and jamvery welcome after the long journey from England. Also the added bonus of having beach/pool towels and the ability to wash & dry clothes. Fantastic. All the staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The cleaning staff are superb. The poolside area is kept very clean and there are plenty of sun beds.
A couple of small niggles- Payne's beach does not have any sun beds or tree cover therefore it gets very hot and you are unable to stay on this lovely little beach for any length of time. Other parts of nearby beaches have sun beds but these are only available to hotel guests staying on that particular part of the beach. We had to travel to Mullins beach in order to get sun beds and umbrella cover during the hot days and we really enjoy being by the sea.
We had excellent days out going to Harrison's Cave, Mount Gay Rum Factory and the superb Bathesheba on the Atlantic side of the island - the surf is unbelievable!
A great holiday and brilliant to see all around by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Beach view in May. This is a lovely home from home accommodation. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The homes come with fully fitted kitchen, big lounge and modern bathrooms, plus the nice added bonus of a patio. Our patio led out unto the pool area. Th aere is a baby pool and an adult pool so great for families and couples. The hotel is located across the road from the beach but that did not affect our trip as we still had a lovely view from the hotel hence the name and it is literally a 2 min walk and we were right at the other end of the hotel. The hotel is also located close to Holetown and a short ride to Bridgetown. The ownners also have a cocktail evening which is worth partaking and goin along to just for the share manificance of their house and view. Its a nice social event where you also get the opportunity to meet other guests from the hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel again but prehaps place it in a different country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here in August 2013 for 8 nights. I would hate to reiterate the other reviews on here so I will keep it short. The hotel room itself was very spacious and the kitchen had quite a few appliances; blender, coffee maker, dishwasher etc. I have no qualms with the hotel except the air conditioning. I found that the temperature dropped quite a bit at night, this can be resolved of course by opening the door, but then in becomes far too hot. The issue I had was the surroundings. Holetown, Bridgetown and all the other towns were in my opinion a tad run down. It did not seem like much of a tourist area. Don't get me wrong there are some lovely shopping centres, fruit stalls and bars, but there was a buzz missing. The food in all of the restaurants we went too was under seasoned. I feel that we did not get the traditional Caribbean food that were after. Just to add do not travel during the hurricane months as it can rain quite a bit. Although it dries quickly the weather is a bit overcast.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better sea view you will have. Also try to ask for a room away form the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Don't need to repeat the majority of reviews on this hotel it's fantastic! For the odd poor review all I have to say is read the hotel details it tells you exactly what they have, no gym for example.

From start to finish all the staff couldn't be more helpful. Even the owner, Robin, invites all guests to his home for drinks and nibbles a great way to meet other guests and compare notes on the island. Robin and his wife are great hosts and I don't know of many hotels that would do this.

Location is great a 5 minute walk to one of the best beaches on the island, easy to get to Holetown for supermarket and more restaurants.

The comments on the air-con are a little strange as we found the temperature in bedrooms overnight to be very comfortable. A good idea the A/C stops if you are not in the room or open the patio door, very green, We found as our 2 weeks went on we couldn't get the main living area cool and mentioned it to reception this problem was fixed within a couple of hours!

All in all a great hotel and great people, I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Recommend Sea Grape, 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.