We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Save Saved
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at beach view and Robin and Carrie were great hosts! We chose Barbados and Beach View for our honeymoon and this turned out to be the perfect start to our marriage.

Our room, on the third floor was perfect with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and we were so close to the beach,..... we could hear the waves on our balcony and in the bedroom! It was truly bliss! This was largely owe this to Carrie as I sent her a cheeky email stating what we had in mind and she clearly didn't not disappoint!!! Thanks again Carrie!

Great location with the beach on our doorstep and plenty of restaurants to choose from,... Personal faves were Daphne's and The Cliff both less than 5 minutes walk away.

We will definitely be back!!!!!!

Aasam & shine! Thanks again Robin and Carrie!

Ps. Your house is amazing!!!! :-)

Room Tip: Third floor in the paw paw building has awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    76
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
164
317
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton keynes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As with all the other reviews, we certainly have to agree that these are superb apartments. The apartments have everything you could wish for. You also receive a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, butter, bread, water and jamvery welcome after the long journey from England. Also the added bonus of having beach/pool towels and the ability to wash & dry clothes. Fantastic. All the staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The cleaning staff are superb. The poolside area is kept very clean and there are plenty of sun beds.
A couple of small niggles- Payne's beach does not have any sun beds or tree cover therefore it gets very hot and you are unable to stay on this lovely little beach for any length of time. Other parts of nearby beaches have sun beds but these are only available to hotel guests staying on that particular part of the beach. We had to travel to Mullins beach in order to get sun beds and umbrella cover during the hot days and we really enjoy being by the sea.
We had excellent days out going to Harrison's Cave, Mount Gay Rum Factory and the superb Bathesheba on the Atlantic side of the island - the surf is unbelievable!
A great holiday and brilliant to see all around by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Beach view in May. This is a lovely home from home accommodation. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The homes come with fully fitted kitchen, big lounge and modern bathrooms, plus the nice added bonus of a patio. Our patio led out unto the pool area. Th aere is a baby pool and an adult pool so great for families and couples. The hotel is located across the road from the beach but that did not affect our trip as we still had a lovely view from the hotel hence the name and it is literally a 2 min walk and we were right at the other end of the hotel. The hotel is also located close to Holetown and a short ride to Bridgetown. The ownners also have a cocktail evening which is worth partaking and goin along to just for the share manificance of their house and view. Its a nice social event where you also get the opportunity to meet other guests from the hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel again but prehaps place it in a different country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here in August 2013 for 8 nights. I would hate to reiterate the other reviews on here so I will keep it short. The hotel room itself was very spacious and the kitchen had quite a few appliances; blender, coffee maker, dishwasher etc. I have no qualms with the hotel except the air conditioning. I found that the temperature dropped quite a bit at night, this can be resolved of course by opening the door, but then in becomes far too hot. The issue I had was the surroundings. Holetown, Bridgetown and all the other towns were in my opinion a tad run down. It did not seem like much of a tourist area. Don't get me wrong there are some lovely shopping centres, fruit stalls and bars, but there was a buzz missing. The food in all of the restaurants we went too was under seasoned. I feel that we did not get the traditional Caribbean food that were after. Just to add do not travel during the hurricane months as it can rain quite a bit. Although it dries quickly the weather is a bit overcast.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better sea view you will have. Also try to ask for a room away form the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Don't need to repeat the majority of reviews on this hotel it's fantastic! For the odd poor review all I have to say is read the hotel details it tells you exactly what they have, no gym for example.

From start to finish all the staff couldn't be more helpful. Even the owner, Robin, invites all guests to his home for drinks and nibbles a great way to meet other guests and compare notes on the island. Robin and his wife are great hosts and I don't know of many hotels that would do this.

Location is great a 5 minute walk to one of the best beaches on the island, easy to get to Holetown for supermarket and more restaurants.

The comments on the air-con are a little strange as we found the temperature in bedrooms overnight to be very comfortable. A good idea the A/C stops if you are not in the room or open the patio door, very green, We found as our 2 weeks went on we couldn't get the main living area cool and mentioned it to reception this problem was fixed within a couple of hours!

All in all a great hotel and great people, I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Recommend Sea Grape, 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August 2013 for ten days and we were both very pleased with the spacious apartment that we were given. Lovely kitchen area and living room with great sea views. The apartment is next to quite a busy road - busy for Barbados - it is only one lane of traffic so not difficult to cross to get to the beach. The road noise can be heard by the swimming pool but not a problem. The service was very good and the standard of cleanliness.

The apartment is situated in a quiet resort although there are a few bars and restaurants within walking distance. Holetown is approx 2.5 mikes away and by day you can walk across the beach to get there. Not really suitable to walk on the road especially at night as limited lighting and not good footpaths. The bus service is excellent so you can get around the island easily.

Cariba was worth a visit on karaoke nights which is a Saturday and Thursday. Local small bar but fun atmosphere. Lexy's piano bar in Holetown is also worth a visit, pianist and singer very good. The area was quite quiet as August is one of the quietest months for tourists.

Room Tip: I think you can get a good sea view from most apartments but make sure you request this as I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Starting my review with cons and finishing with pros:

AC issue is a big problem. Not only it switches off automatically when you leave the room or just open door to bedroom (all doors have auto sensors), but the living room and kitchen stays hot for most of the time as other reviewer said, and also AC remotes are not available. Thus the bedroom becomes very cold at night and nothing to be done except opening the door to switch AC off and then it becomes super hot. Very strange system claiming to save energy, but very inconvenient.

Overall hotel area is relatively small to have the peaceful surroundings: it is located alongside the road, and though hotel says it is not main road (they are right, its not the New York city main road) but it is the island main road that goes around the whole country (see Barbados map). I would say it is a main road that connects small Barbados towns, which becomes super busy in rush hours. So be prepared that noise will wake you up at 7 am and wont fully stop till very late night (after 11 pm). Some of the hotel guests also like to do aqua aerobics in the pool which is right in front of the ocean view room early in the morning. So its either car noise, loud music from buses (barbadians tradition) or aerobics music. As we live in a quiet place we found Beach Biew hotel noise level to be higher than acceptable for the peaceful holiday.

Breakfast is poor and very limited. No fruits, cheese, sausages or salads whatsoever. Only choice is fried eggs with bacon and bagel or banana bread with jam or some other toasts. It is preferably to order only one item because there is only one lady cooking it and she does not gladly offer all menu for order. Yogurt and granola available only per request and if I did not hear other guest ordering it, I would not know about it at all.

No gym!

Beach near the hotel has no sun chairs. Generally it has no room at all to lay out as other reviewers have mentioned before.

Rooms inside are very cozy, spacious and feels like home (except for AC problem). Laundry, dishwasher and fully equpped kitchen are in good condition (some of utensils have seen better days but overall its good to use).

Staff of the hotel are friendly and mostly helpful.

To sum up our experience I want to say that although we don't regret coming here, in future I will try to find some other place to spend our vacation. Generally Barbados has not much to offer for entertaining, prices are high and service can sometimes be slow. Only few good things is calm and warm ocean on the Beach View hotel coast and beautiful sunsets occurring every couple of days in this weather (raining season).




  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.