We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's #1 for good reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's #1 for good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

BeachView is worth every excellent review. Carrie, Robin, and all the staff are so friendly and ready to help make your stay as stress free as possible. At reception they will assist you with what ever you need.
We were able to host our wedding reception at pool side, BeachView worked with our coordinator and made our day special for us.

I will suggest BeachView over and over to anyone who will listen. A hidden gem on the west coast.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    82
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
183
346
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Returned to Beach View in April 2013 once again superb service, welcome greetings and pristine
apartment, together with the wonderful pool, did not disappoint. Thanks to Robin, Carrie, Hazel and the team.

Room Tip: We had a great apartment on the 2nd floor, with lovely sea view In the Carambola Block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having spent 6 nights at Beach View We do not have a bad word to say about this place. Our apartment was beautiful, very well decorated, well equipped and serviced daily by the staff- who did an impeccable job.

The entire team at reception were incredibly helpful, whether it was to organise a hire car (which they arranged to be dropped and picked up from the resort), recommending sights or organising transfers.

Yes, as others have stated, the beach begins once you cross a road however a short scenic walk down the coast Eliminates all the fuss that others have mentioned. We tended to walk along the beautiful beach to sandy lane bay as the beach is beautiful and the water pebble free.

All in all this resort was excellent value, gave great service and is situated within waking distance of a beautiful beach... What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The property has beautiful condos with picture windows that overlook paynes bay. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Within walking distance is a rum bar that also serves food and a petrol staton with a mini-mart. Across the street at the fish market, "Big Daddy" took us out on a glass bottom boat, along Paynes Bay, snorkeling and swimming with the turtles. Further down the road, next to the chattel village, is a shopping center with a food market and an indoor shopping mall. Don't limit yourself to the beach across from the hotel.. Get out and explore. Find the public access and explore other beaches. Barbados is expensive. After 2 meals out, we remembered why we booked at this hotel with it's kitchen in the suite. Expect to pay $20US per person for food and drink for every dollar sign on a review. $ = $20, $$ = $40 etc. A cutter is about the size of a burger bun. As tasty as the food was, I found eating out to leave me hungry. At Oistin's fish market, I bought 12 flying fish for $6US and had cutter's and flying fish on my salad for 3 days!!! We rented a car for the week @ $450. For some reason, our bodies quickly adjusted to Bajan time. We were up by 6:30 every morning and in bed by 10:00 at night. This contradicts the fact that time moves slooooowly in Barbados. Seriously. Whenever I looked at the time, it was always about 1 1/2 hours earlier than I thought!!! We went to crane beach, Oistin's, St. Lawrence Gap, Bridgetown, Bathsheba, toured up and down the west coast to Speightstown and went to many beaches. My advice is to rent a car, market and tour in the morning and you'll still be left with plenty of time to spend the afternoon at the beach and plenty of money to spend at de rum bar, beach bar, and on souvenirs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our second time at Beachview and it was even better than we remembered - Lovely apartment, wonderful view, great location. easy living, outstanding service. The perfect holiday. We will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We returned yesterday from a ten day vacation in Barbados and stayed at Beach View throughout. It exceeded our expectations throughout. It's close to loads of stuff and just across the road from Daphne's and just up the road from the Beach House and Tides (my favorite restaurant on the island). We stayed with our one year old toddler and if you have kids the pool here, half of which is shallow for young kids was a really welcome surprise. There were a couple of minor things we needed to address when we got there, mainly because we have a toddler and the staff were very helpful - as soon as we asked it was sorted. This is the second review I've ever written on Trip Advisor - the other was for Sea Spray Water sports in Barbados who you should also use - and I'm writing because having stayed at hotels all over the world I was really, really pleased with this place. It is self-catering but you can arrange for a welcome pack of groceries for when you get in, the breakfast bar served great food and the grounds were immaculate, as was the pool.

A big thank you to Robin and his staff, we will see you next year with the rest of the family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the best apartment I have ever stayed in - spacious, exceptionally comfortable, and fitted out with everything you could possibly need. Robin and his team are there all day and nothing is too much for them. We are a couple but we travelled with a friend who has been unwell and stayed at a nearby hotel. There was no problem at all about her spending much of her time with us in our apartment and by the pool, indeed they went out of their way to be helpful to her.
We didn't really go to the beach so I can't comment on it. It is true that it is across a main road. From that point of view only, the resort location is not ideal. This resort is not intended to be for children and isn't really suitable for them.
The Hut run by Atticus is excellent. All the food is freshly cooked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.