We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Beach View to your Saves list
Beach View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Super stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently returned from a week's stay and have to recommend the Beachview. I support the majority of the reviews on this site. Robin was a good host, friendly and helpful, the cocktail party at his home was a really nice touch. The apartment, a 2 bedroom, was immaculate as was the whole complex. We came for relaxation and were not disappointed. The resort is quiet and may leave you disappointed if you want non stop action.
The location was good, several good restaurants close by and the beach just across the road. Carrie and team are happy to make reservations, book trips etc....we had a ground floor unit which we liked as you sat among the trees and bushes and had the occasional humming bird stop by.
The island itself is not cheap, but it is picture postcard beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    80
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
181
337
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A truly delightful place. great layout. brilliant service. couldn't be more pleased. the fridge was stocked with cheese fruit and a chilled bottle of wine, per our request. the transfer from the airport was waiting for us and pleasant. ground floor facing pool/sea is super.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is not a timely review, but better late than never. We could not have had a better time during our honeymoon, and staying at Beach View had everything to do with it. The staff were helpful, kind, and professional. The condos were immaculate and exremely spacious. We could not have hoped for a better pool, which was never overcrowded, and breakfast served by Atticus was fantastic - don't forget to try the granola. The location of Beach View was just fine since we were ready to walk a bit - the Cliff, Scarlet, and a few other prime establishments were within walking distance. Not being directly on the beach was not at all a problem - smooth beach and warm water was another short walk away. The only con about the trip had little to do with Beach View and just is something about Barbados - it gets pricey - particularly taking a taxi anywhere. Otherwise I'd highly recommend Beach View and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
181 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We got a deal with BA and it was actually cheaper to book a flight with three nights accommodation at Beach View than the flight alone so – no brainer – we would book and not stay. (Do look this deal up it was fantastic value but might not exist now). Then as our rental house was Saturday to Saturday and our flight went on Monday we figured we might utilise the days. Then I looked on TA and was stunned to see it was the number one preferred hotel in Barbados so decision made. We would definitely take up the option.
We were on Barbados looking at property to buy and by sheer coincidence were taken to view these apartments with a view to purchase. If you are seeking a managed holiday home with excellent utilisation and sensible yields this is really worthy of consideration. They are competitively priced and located perfectly for restaurants, the beach and feel very secure and safe. They are also very well run and maintained.
But (and I’m trying not to be up my own proverbial here) we are used to more luxurious (and expensive!) accommodation so if you are a high end traveller then Beach View is probably not for you. (In saying that however some of the facilities and thought that have gone into this place are worthy of a five star rating.) If however you are a family / young couple(s) or travelling on a budget and you want comfort, location and value then please come. Beach View offers immaculate space and is managed and cleaned to the point of perfection. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast are very welcome too.
The road didn’t bother us – it is there. What did bother us was some of the music coming from round the pool! Having to listen to Mary Poppins for aqua aerobics nearly killed me off one morning. This is a family friendly holiday location so I guess this type of thing is to be expected.
I also have a personal beef about little notes being all over a hotel space. Do I really need a slightly grubby menu, a list of taxi drivers and the pool rules stuck to the front of my fridge?
Finally it would have been good if the hut was opened till sunset – even only serving drinks. Can’t see much reason for it closing at 2pm and surely missing a profit opportunity. Just saying!

Room Tip: Upper level for view and lower level for access to pool etc. We were on the second floor so inevita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The apartments are fantastic, with gorgeous ocean views, well kitted out and spotlessly clean. Carrie, Robin, Jason and Atticus at the 'Hut' cannot do enough to help make your stay one to remember. It was like having your own concerge, helping you book and plan your trips. The location is perfect for a wide selection of restaurants, many walking distance. Would recommend a drink at the cliff at dusk and dinner at Cariba just across the road. The curry is great in Roti Den. And don't forget you only have to walk across the road to buy fresh fish. We will definitely return. Best regards to you all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were met by the owner Robin, and he showed us to our apartment number 210, we had a good view over the swimming pool and the sea beyond. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with air con in the bedroom and lounge. The apartment is cleaned everyday. They gave us a small amount of food to get by on arrival, Robin invited us to his home for cocktails one evening, this was well worth a visit.There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go round in the pool area.The reception staff were very helpful organising an evening cameraman trip with Silvermoon, this was also well worth doing. We used the local buses(what an experience they are) to go into Holetown for shopping and restaurants $2bbds per person each way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I never write reviews, but this place was so great that I wanted to take the time to do it.
The road noise other people mentioned wasn't a problem, and we were RIGHT on the road (we asked for an ocean view, and they delivered)
Like someone else said, its just the reggae buses and stuff. The view was worth the occassional bus.
The staff is TERRIFIC. The free snorkle gear was a great bonus.
The beach was absolutely perfect, I cannot rave about this hotel enough.
We will definitely come back.
We came right after getting engaged for a quiet long weekend and they honored our privacy while still tending to our needs.
One night we needed toothpaste, and the front desk was closed. The security guy answered when we dialed "0", and he literally ran to the grocery store and picked it up for us.

Regarding the area:
We went to the Cliff for dinner on our first night, and I guess you should try it if you want to have a fancy dinner with a nice view, but the food there was overpriced and not that great. Go there for a drink, not dinner.
We loved the couple of local joints a couple buildings down the road for a beer and a cheap lunch.
For dinner, ask the staff for the place that is in some guys house right across from the Cliff - we LOVED it.

Hurricane Sandy was approaching as we were leaving, one thing to note is that Barbados rarely gets hurricanes, major bonus. Came home to a disaster, but we'll recover, and will come back to the Beach View ASAP!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach View 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.