We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Acajou

L'Acajou
Sandy Lane Hotel | Sandy Lane, BVB24024, Barbados
(246) 444-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The stunning open-air beachfront setting of our chic fine dining restaurant is magical. The romantic L'Acajou specialises in light cuisine paired with an impressive range of Old and New World wines. Dining in Barbados under a canopy of mahogany trees with the gentle sounds of the ocean is a very special experience.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are a "foodie", and love to spend a leisurely evening feeling pampered in an elegant, posh, atmosphere, then this is the place for you. We just returned from a 5 day vacation; staying in a neighboring hotel. Yes, all of the reviews are "spot on"...the food is truly original and delicious; Kieran is a wonderful server (as are ALL of the servers, hosts, and sommelier.) This is a great special occasion place; a romantic evening where you will speak in soft, hushed tones - you won't want to belly laugh in this place! It was expensive; and although I enjoyed it, I can't say that I would go back. There were other meals and other places I enjoyed more (a bit less formal; a bit less expensive) - but I would recommend this for a special occassion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    32
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Everything you would expect from such an institution. We spent the evening there as part of our honeymoon and were royally looked after with the best table and a celebratory cake all complimentary. Our waiter Kieran Corbin deserves special praise and he would not be out of place in any restaurant in the world.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food in a highly elegant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The chicken we had for our main course was our favourite dish over our 10 night stay on the island - cooked in a different way to bring out the flavours and it was awesome. Also a extensive wine list with over 2000 wines to choose from (although the chap that served us the wine was slightly annoying with his constant story telling each time he poured)

Great setting - good view of the beach. Very elegant surroundings as you would expect from sandy lane.

Bar area and the monkey bar are also good for pre dinner drinks.

It was very quiet when we visited, so the atmosphere was somewhat lacking, but other than this, an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but you could be in London, Paris or New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

A wonderful fine dining experience, but lacking in Bajan charm. The food and service, as you would expect are excellent and the decor tasteful and elegant, but with out the gentle leaping of the ocean outside you could be in any great restaurant around the world.
Would probably return but perhaps for lunch as opposed to dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Special Night with Very Special Staff..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I would like to thank four special staff members at L'Acajou for making our experience so extraordinary. Kieren, Shawn, Jac, and Karen were wonderful! We saved L'Acajou for last after dining at the coast's best restaurants all week. We had high expectation, but were not let down one bit! Kieren, our main waiter was friendly, cheerful and had the most pleasant demeanor. He wanted to make the night special for us. He explained various dishes in detail to us, and surpassed us with a few little bites from the chef he thought we would like... Even a "Bon Voyage" dessert for our last night! The lamb entree Kieren suggested was so fabulous, my boyfriend told him to kiss the chef for him! Shawn was also friendly, knowledgeable, and we trusted him with our dinner and port wine's. He shared wonderful stories, and was truly a dynamic, charming server. Karen consistently checked in with us, and he kind nature made us feel at home. Jecoliah was so friendly, beautiful and professional. Being from NY, we told them that although we dine at amazing restaurants sometimes, we will miss their wonderful service. We hope to return to L'Acajou, and we are raving about it to our friends, and will be sure to tell them to request Kieren as their server! Thank you for an amazing dining experience!
Caitlin & Pete

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Acajou also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to L'Acajou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Acajou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.