We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go inside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews

The Mews
Second Street, Holetown | Holetown, St. James, Barbados
+1 4321122
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located on trendy 2nd Street in Holetown, Barbados, The Mews has specialized in Euro-Caribbean cuisine presented with classic simplicity and style, for the last 15 years. Diners can choose from a Classic, Bistro or Tapas menu. The restaurant is situated within an enchanting traditional Barbadian 'townhouse' and offers patrons a comfortable dining environment and private dining area. After hours, the cosy downstairs bar becomes a bustling after dinner rendezvous and drinking spot. Enjoy a friendly, intimate atmosphere in this charming, lively locale. What you should know about us: Dinner is served Monday to Saturday (Sunday in the season) from 6:30pm. Live Entertainment is on Thursday and Friday nights. There is complimentary parking. Reservations are recommended.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“go inside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

You need to go inside to apprecaite this restaurant as it is really is very good and quite a surprise. We had a lovely meal there in very nice surroundings. Our only problem was that we felt rushed and in Barbados we expect to wait but our starters came before our first drinks and our main course a bit too soon after that and even though we asked to wait a while before our dessert we were asked after 5 minutes so hence it didn't feel as relaxed as other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    22
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I almost want to keep it a secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been coming to Holetown for six years but only found this hidden gem tonight, by accident.

We parked the car at the end of 2nd street, looked at Spago and then looked at the menu for this one. To be honest, the menu outside didnt really grab us but we thought "what the heck, we haven't been here before, let's try it"

And wow.

We were shown to a table and drinks orders taken and there was no problem with the fact we had not made a reservation. Before all our drinks arrived (ie not very long) our table was ready and we were led upstairs.

It's a great building that used to be a house so has lots of little nooks and crannies. Our table was out on the front so we could sit and overlook the street and see what was going on.

Bread was to die for, we could have all eaten so much more of it.

Starters were amazing and all over our main courses were devoured and the plates left clean.

Our water glasses were constantly refilled (with tap water, not as some disguise to charge us for expensive mineral water) and all the staff were very attentive, without being over bearing.

We joked and apologised for the fact that we hadn't dressed up as we had come straight from a beach bar that we had decided at the last minute not to eat in. We were told "that's fine, you are on holiday, it's not stuffy in here, you can come in shorts and deck shoes".

A great restaurant that is now up there in our favourites on the island.

We will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A GEM of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visit Barbados on a regular basis and are familiar with most of the wonderful restaurants on the Island.

This restaurant is a real gem and totally unexpected. Different in that the restaurant has a more relaxed atmosphere, less formal and more intimate (you can wear shorts and smart t-shirt). The GEM is that it does not compromise with its menu and the food is absolutely delicious. I have to say it was our best meal during our two week stay and they cared about their service. (we did Lone Star, L'Acajou, Tides…which were also lovely).

This restaurant will be added to our list of restaurants to visit when we return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good Holetown restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice cool bar downstairs, small and friendly, with dining area upstairs. Enjoyed being beside the open window in the hot evening and efficient service and good food at reasonable price. Fresh local produce and fine wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“OK , but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I guess the title of the dinner menu says it all......"THE MEWS CLASSIC DINNER MENU"
It contained nothing that wowed the diner. It was just a list of classic dishes. Now I know that constructing a menu you have to try to be "all things to all men" but at least inject a little enthusiasm into its design. There was little to be excited about. After the initial welcome, the service was to be honest, bordering on less than efficient. The place seems to be caught in between two points and doesn't know which identity to take on.....either formal or casual. One of my biggest bug-bears is if a restaurant wants to keep your wine on the other side of the restaurant, then be on the money when it comes to pouring the stuff....else leave the bottle next to the table!!!
The food was ok, but not special , and I guess that would be the best description of the whole experience during our visit.

On the plus side there was a nice ambience and a buzzy bar area downstairs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to The Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.